• Champs leaves Great Britain's Olympian Jackson speechless

Champs leaves Great Britain's Olympian Jackson speechless

PAUL A REID, Observer writer reidp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, April 06, 2009
    Former Olympic and World Champion hurdler Colin Jackson has deep roots in Jamaica and at Kingston College where his brother ran in the purple and white uniform.

Yet, it was only this past weekend that the man hailed as one of Great Britain's greatest ever track stars got the chance to witness the phenomenon that Boys' and Girls' Champs is and it is a memory he will not forget anytime soon.
    JACKSON... this is the kind of atmosphere you want to compete in. (Photo: Paul Reid)
    Trying to shout over the almost super sonic din that characterised Saturday's final day at the packed National Stadium, the 42-year-old Jackson, who was a top competitor for nearly 20 years, said he had never expected anything like this.
    "For every single athlete that has ever competed anywhere in the world, this is the kind of atmosphere you want to compete in," he gushed. "You can feel the passion from the crowd, all the support you would want is right here in the stands."

Jackson has won medals at every senior level meet, silver at the 1988 Olympics in Seoul, South Korea behind the American Roger Kingdom, two golds and silver and a bronze at the IAAF World Championships, four European Championships gold medals, two golds and two silvers at the Commonwealth Games, a World Indoor gold as well as a silver medal as the lead off runner on the Great Britain 4x100m relay at the 1993 World Championships in Stuttgart, Germany.
    Jackson, who was here working for sports brand Puma and sported a purple and white Puma t-shirt, joked that "I ended up supporting KC (winners Kingston College) by default today" and described Champs as "a real special occasion".
    He was not the only present or former athlete on hand on the final day as Trinidad and Tobago legends Hasley Crawford and Ato Bolden were in the crowd as well as 1996 Olympic 100m champion, a former Knox College runner Donovan Powell, a regular at Champs was also in attendance.
    Jackson told the Observer that "Champs is nothing that I expected it to be", adding that he had always heard stories from his family members as to what to expect.
    "They always say it is not quite the same (as in England), you never quite understand what they meant until you come and see it in the flesh," said Jackson.
    His desire to see Champs first-hand was also fuelled after the success of the Jamaican team at the Olympic Games in Beijing where they won an unprecedented 11 track and field medals. "I made certain to come this year and see where the athletes started their careers. and I am very impressed," he ended.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Foreign journalists bowled over by Champs

KAYON RAYNOR, Senior Observer staff reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, April 06, 2009
    'Extra special' was the overwhelming response of the majority of the 40 international journalists who covered last week's 99th staging of the ISSA GraceKennedy Boys' and Girls' Championships at the National Stadium in Kingston.
    Public relations manager of the IAAF, Laura Arcolio (centre), and journalists Mattias Schneider of Stern Magazine (left), Leon Mann of the BBC (second left), Connie Aitcheson of Sports Illustrated (second right) and Jen-Denis Coquard of L'equipe (right) covered the 99th ISSA/GraceKennedy Boys' and Girls' Championships last weekend. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    The consensus was that the local high school championships explained why local athletes such as Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt, Veronica Campbell, Melaine Walker and Shelly-Ann Fraser do so well internationally.
    Leon Mann of the BBC says the atmosphere which prevailed at the National Stadium compares favourably to any international sporting event.
    "It's certainly something special in terms of the number of people attending and in terms of the organisation of an event and the unique atmosphere. I was at the World Cup in Germany and the Euro finals in Portugal and the Olympics in Beijing and I have to say that the atmosphere here even goes a bit further than that," Mann said.
    "This really goes to show that what you're doing here in Jamaica is quite special and kind of answers the cynics who said 'Jamaica's success is all about drugs'. Well actually, if people come here and see the development, see what's going on, see how important athletics is to these young people, then it kind of addresses that issue directly," Mann added.
    Jen-Denis Coquard of L'equipe in France, who is among a group of 20 journalists in Jamaica for the IAAF's Day in the Programme on Usain Bolt, said: "I'm very impressed to see all these people at a young (age group) competition and the level of performances. We can just imagine about the future of Jamaican athletics when we see all these impressive performances."
    Connie Aitcheson, a Jamaican-born journalist with Sports Illustrated, who was observing the ISSA-organised championships for the first time, agreed with Coquard.
    "I'm impressed with the participants and the fans and the history that they know. I knew that I would see passion, but I didn't think I would see passion with knowledge, that's what I'm impressed about," Aitcheson reasoned.
    Public relations manager of track and field's world governing body, the IAAF, Laura Arcolio, said 'Champs' could rival many international meets.
    "The finals of the 100 metres... were amazing. I can't believe how quick they get their feet on the ground and I'm also impressed with the reaction of the crowd and I love the way every supporter (wears) their colours and that's what we need over Europe - the ability to relate to a team, which is so strongly felt here in Jamaica," Arcolio stated.
    Mattias Schneider with the Stern Magazine out of Germany said he had never experienced such an atmosphere in all his travels.
    "From the standpoint of atmosphere, this is by far the best that I've seen because it's the whole crowd that is getting into it. I never experienced something like this, especially in track and field," said Schneider, who covered the Beijing Olympics last year.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This one's the greatest - KC coach

Published: Monday | April 6, 2009

Anthony Foster, Gleaner Writer

Kingston college athletes celebrate their 31st victory after the 99th staging of the Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association/GraceKennedy Boys and Girls' Athletic Championships at the National Stadium on Saturday. - photos by Anthony Minott/Freelance Photographer

Holmwood Technical athletes celebrate their seventh straight victory in the girls' section after the 99th staging of the Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association/GraceKennedy Boys and Girls' Athletic Championships at the National Stadium on Saturday.
      Kingston College's (KC) head coach, Michael Russell, believes his boys lifted themselves to a beyond expectations, while Maurice Wilson, the main man in charge at Holmwood, said his task was not to allow his girls to get too complacent.
      Holmwood, with 400.5 points, had a huge win over second-place Edwin Allen, which scored 203 points, Vere (194.5), Manchester (154.5) and St Jago and Wolmer's 127 each) to top the girls standings.
      Wilson said it was a good Championships, but all that was required was to put pressure on the girls to keep them focused.
      "They were getting complacent ... and I made it clear to them that the Championships is not over until the final day, you must have respect for your opponents," he said.
      1.5 points win
      On the boys' side, KC, with 223.5 points, won by a whisker over Calabar High, which ended on 222. JC (154), Wolmer's (144) and St Jago (122.5) rounded off the top five.
      "We had a number of persons who were injured but as the saying (Latin version) Fortis Cadere Cedere Non Potest - the school's motto - the boys definitely lived by the motto today. The Brave May Fall But Never Yield," he said, repeating the school's motto in english.
      KC entered the final day on 109 points to Calabar, who were third on 79, but as the finals unfolded, Calabar made big inroads into the lead.
      It was down to the 4x400m relay where Calabar needed to finish ahead of KC by three places and it was on the cards until when Ramone McKenzie's injury took a toll with him leading on the final . He was relagated to third and KC closed strongly to finish fifth, which ensured the 1.5 points margin.
      However, according to Russell, this may not have been the case if it weren't for "a number of disappointments".
      "We lost out in the 400m Class One because we had good representations there, Rolando Berch and Akino Ming, they got injured, so we were not able to capitalise in that area," he added.
      Outstanding performances

Bellefield High School's Kemoy Campbell reacts after smashing the Class-One boys' 1,500 metres record at the Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association/GraceKennedy Boys and Girls' Athletic Championships at the National Stadium on Friday. Campbell won the 1,500m in 3:48.43, becoming the first schoolboy to run sub-3:50 at Champs. He returned on Saturday to smash the 5,000m record in 14:33.43.
      But, he believes what made the difference for KC were some outstanding performances.
      "Stefan Fennell in the hurdles (Class-Two 110m champion), Jonathan Reid in Class-One high jump (winner at 2.05m), an overall team effort, all round," he said. "You have some one point (finishes), Keiron Stewart, could not finish his 200m but jogged through and gave us a point ... Matthew Simms, who did the high jump and got half a point and at the end we won by 1.5 points."
      He also praised the heptathlete, Hansle Parchment, who he said never competed before Champs this season "...and he came through and won the event.
      "We won Champs from there," he said.
      "This victory is the greatest one ever because it was down to the line."
      Holmwood's coach Wilson also singled out two impressive performances.
      He said Osheen and the girls' 4x400 quartet of Keno Heavens, Petra Fanty, Janieve Russell and Chris-Ann Gordon stood out.
      Erskine won the 100m and 80m hurdles, but according to Wilson, the latter event was special.
      "I think it was a splendid performance," he said.
      "The 4x400m, we haven't won any all season and again I think this was a tremendous performance," he said.
      Wilson said he told Anneisha McLaughlin, a member of the Holmwood team that has set the previous record, that "... we were going to break her record from 2003 and it did happen.
      "So I think those two performances stood out in my mind," continued Wilson, who said they exceeded expectations as "we expected to win by 150 points".
      Former Olympians Raymond Stewart (seated at left) and Beverly McDonald (right), along with coach Fitz Coleman (second right) and track official Carol Cuffley hold their awards in recognition of their contribution to the Inter-secondary Schools Sports Association/GraceKennedy Boys and Girls' Athletic Championships at the National Stadium on Friday. - photos by Ian Allen/Staff Photographer
      Last edited by Sir X; April 6, 2009, 08:56 AM.

Now the world knows , The Olympics happens every year for us in Champs.

Respect to Fortis !

I hope with this added attention that nobody decides to come and "fix" Champs.

Now the world knows , The Olympics happens every year for us in Champs.

Respect to Fortis !
            x... yuh couldn't have said it better... respect...

btw, i think this was the greatest champs ever in terms of excitement and competition... it was rivetting... had me watching and listening every moment...

Asafa's brother went to Jago, not Knox!

My dear cousin who transfered well actually cried his way while attending Ardenne in 1st form to be transferred to his beloved KC flew down to attend this years Champs , he texted & called every sec until the final victory.After watching it live and seeing the Cbar man pull up he attributed KC victory not to luck but moreso fate or destiny.

My dislike of KC is down to my envious respect that they keep winning .

Yuh dun know its Penns next.From what I am hearing it was the best ever.But I think next year will be even better Cbar naah tek it suh.

The joke was Ardenne was a girl school to him (Co-ed ) but girls school and he transferred to a Boys School .How we card each other up to this day ...lolol in the most homophobic of ways.

Yuh transfer fe deh mongst man ..hehe

The only fix that is needed would be to ISSA. Their astonishing lack of vision has meant that schools have to be scraping the bottom of their piggy banks to send athletes to Champs, and the ones that feel it most are the rural schools.

Champs is big enuff to be on ESPN, maybe even live, but we can't see that far ahead of us.

Another thing that ISSA could fix is something as simple as tickets. ISSA keeps the large part of the ticket and gives you back the stub. It is nonsensical in many ways. Firstly, why do they need to keep the larger portion that would make collection and counting more difficult? Second, it is a hell of a lot easier to duplicate the simpler stub section rather than the fancy larger section. And third, for those interested in things such as the collection of old tickets, they would be deprived of that opportunity.

We here at the RBSC have had requests from people around the world who are willing to pay for old match tickets. Indeed, at yesterday's Flow Champions Cup match, my ticket was an old ticket for the last World Cup match against Mexico where we qualified for France 1998. Of course, the gate attendants took and tore the entire thing! Do we have any idea how valuable (invaluable?) such a ticket may become 40 years from now, especially if we never make it back to the World Cup in that time.

We need to get with it. ISSA could start us off.

They need to rotate Champs between Kingston and Mobay.

Great idea! That's the kind of thinking that our administrators could never come up with.

However!, the facilities at Independence Park cannot be matched anywhere else in the country. Right beside the National Staidum is the warm up stadium, Stadium East, complete with lights. And accommodation in Mobay is probably more expensive than in Kingston. And, as bad as traffic is around Independence Park during Champs, it would be 5 times as bad in the Catherine Hall area!

And of course, we have no idea when they'll be done with the Catherine Hall Stadium. I must report that they have started installing the yellow, green and offwhite seats in the grand stand area, and half the roof panels have been installed.

I would bet money on it that any revenue from Sports tourism would fill whatever cost .Lodging could be found for the schools that participate in the country schools.

All it would take is a start , but ISSA would have to step up.It can be done and should be done.

i wouldn't support that, considering the history of the event and the supporting infrastructure that a meet of this scope requires - mosiah stated a few...

champs have grown and the organizers need to grow with it... tix should be souvenir items... dont rip the tix, scan them so people who pay for them can keep them, especially foreigners...

market champs to foreigners across the globe... they will vacation around it... use the quotes of the iaaf observers and the past track stars who witnessed the event to spread the word...

arrange the stadium seating of schools by seeding... kc, calabar, st jago, holmwood, etc., get the premier sections of the stadium...

sell the rights of champs to international broadcast media...

with the revenues, issa SHOULD be doing more to offset the cost that the schools incur to send their athletes, especially the rural schools... a fund should be established for that particular purpose...

adidas, pumas, nike should be making financial contributions towards sponsoring the event... if they are currently contributing, the requirement should be more next year...

champs is the biggest track meet in the world outside the olympics... the world just don't know about it... a competent marketing visionary could make the world know about it and want to attend...

Brilliant ideas boss.