Aliens Stumped by Champs
Hold on deh, which Champs were you going to, I went every champs from 1976 to 1983, except the one where Cbar and KC (82 I think) were banned, the latter of course deserved it BTW, the Saturday night after 1981 champs was pure madness, I was lucky not getting hurt that night.
Especially at that Champs the fever ran as high as anything I have ever seen in my life, I used to be able to predict how much points Cbar would have event by event for every class. the rivalry with KC in those days was at a whole nother level, I remember some "ringe war" and some serious cheerings we used to bruk out from side to side. I watched on Saturday and wondered where was the "KC dema sap, sour sap cheers etc" I heard some drums but couldn't really make out any rhythm. Anyay great memories, funny thing doah, I had on my running watch on Saturday and just before the 4*400 start my heart beat just kicked up, I had to check it and typically mine rests at about low to mid 60"s, it went well past 100 just sitting there for the 4*400 of course, I was really disappointed but I cdould see something happened to Mackenzie in the run and he really gutted it out to make it in 3rd.
KC really step up to this champs we were too laid back and leave it too late, a win in the 4*400 would have been a story of legendary proportions but it was not to be. That was truly my first champs since 83, that is 26 years to @@##$$%#$, just cyan believe that.
I was there for 1979 and 1981. Cant recall if I went to 1980.
Yeah, I was was Tanka who was a long time pal and he threw discuss for Bar, and was involved with the skirmish that followed the kicking due to the tangle up of the 2 runners.. We all were lucky to come back to Spain Town in one piece on the famed bus "Big Red".
Champs seems more like Penn now, dominated by the alumni, rather than the schoolers. Back then the cheering was more outrageous, however now the cheering is partly due to salivating over the future porospects of the youngsters. Nowadays, despite the rivalry, NO-ONE wants to see the stars get hurt. An injury to the likes of a Ramone, or Kieron makes uss wince!
Hell, I am in an email circle with some KC guys and they revel in the win, but grumble about the injuries and how future Jamaica track stars may have been mishandled! Honestly, many alumni prefer to lose Champs than to endanger the young jewels coming up!
One last thing, KC man dem seh although they dont like it, they can take a champs loss to JC or whomever, but NEVER to Rabalac. What a respect they are showing for you guys.
I was there about 78 to 1983.
Did any of you go to the one that was kept at Sabina Park?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Willi View PostWhen last you go Champs?
My first was 1979 and the last was about 1991 or so.
My last as athlete 1964...spectator...1990!!!
During that time never missed a Champs.
Sabina - National Stadium (athlete & spectator)
Have not been back since 1990. Have to do Champs again at least one more time before taking leave from Shady Pines!
Aside: Acted as official in 1967 & 1968 while at student in the Phy. Ed. Dept at Mico Teachers College (Freddie Green was head of the Phy. Ed Dept. at Mico and an official of the JAAA)."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
that about 76-77.
Never get to see the great lady. Dem time St.Mary's high did a say something with Doreen Small as well.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by MdmeX View PostR U sure they'll allow you leave of absence from Shady Pines The H E X C I T E M E N T might be too much for you"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Jackie Pusey, yeah I remember her, who I did like was a girl name Gottschalk from Vere probably won the 1 and 2 in 1976 or 1977 if I remember she had a tie head style, cyan remember her first name I am thinking Riva or something like that.
That is because we hurt them really bad a couple of times, 1976 was a shocker, they never thought they could ever lose, and then 77 and 78 really was just like total disbelief and 1981 we just tek it way, but the temperature get too hot, it is out of that cauldron that the rivalry really emerge, I am sure it existed prior to the 14 streak but that was a whole nother era..
But hold on, I know Tanker from out Spain side, but I never remember him throwing no discuss ever, maybe some discussion in the hallway, Willi mi neva know sey Georges man coulda come from Spain!! Sorry man I couldn't resist.