• Jamaica.-U.S. sprint challenge delayed until 2010

U.S.-Jamaica sprint challenge delayed until 2010

By Gene Cherry Gene Cherry 1 hr 31 mins ago
    SALVO, North Carolina (Reuters) – A proposed sprint showdown series between the United States and Jamaica has been delayed until 2010 because of scheduling conflicts, U.S. and Jamaican athletics officials said on Tuesday.

"We feel the stars will be aligned, literally and figuratively, next May and June for this series to really take off," USA Track & Field (USATF) chief executive Doug Logan said in a statement.

Logan proposed this month that the two countries, who boast the top sprinters in the world including Jamaican double world record holder Usain Bolt, meet in a pair of sprint-dominated, scored competitions, with one in each country, this spring.

But an already full athletics calendar prompted the countries to postpone the launch until 2010.

"We look forward to taking on our American friends in head-to-head competition in 2010," Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) president Howard Aris said in a statement.
    "We are confident that this kind of team competition, featuring the most exciting events in athletics, will prove captivating to fans around the world."

BRAGGING RIGHTS
    The series, as proposed, would feature men's and women's competitions in the 100, 200 and 400 meters, 100 hurdles (women), 110 hurdles (men), 400 hurdles, long jump and 4x100, 4x400 and sprint medley relays.

Bragging rights would be on the line for both countries, especially if they could lure top stars Bolt and U.S. world 100 and 200 meters champion Tyson Gay to the field.

Jamaica, led by the world-record 100 and 200 feats of Bolt, dominated the sprints at the 2008 Beijing Olympics a year after the U.S. produced the top sprinters at the 2007 world championships.

Managers for several Olympians who could participate in the series said in e-mails to Reuters after Logan's original proposal the idea was intriguing but came too late to work into the athletes' 2009 schedules.

They also questioned if May was too early for such a high-level competition and if sponsors would be willing to provide key financial support during these difficult times.

"We will be working with the Jamaican federation, our athletes and other stakeholders over the next 12-plus months to put together a top-tier event," Logan said.

(Editing by Ken Ferris. To query or comment on this story email sportsfeedback@thomsonreuters.com)
    Last edited by Karl; April 1, 2009, 02:00 PM.

that is a good idea... the original plan was just too soon after the olympics... americans just cannot stand to know they were so soundly trounced by a 'little' island...

mek it gwaan bun dem... if wi neva need de money we shudda shun dem... but causen seh... cho... as long as howard aris secure some money fi wi program wi can give dem a bly fi compet wid wi...

BBC said one of the meets is in Jamaica. Sports Tourism...WOW!

US and Jamaica agree sprint clash

Bolt dominated the field in the men's sprint events in Beijing

Two team sprint showdowns between a Usain Bolt-led Jamaica and the best athletes from the United States will take place in 2010. Two events - one in each country - are planned for May and June next year.
      Men and women will race in the 100m, 200m and 400m, two hurdles distances, three relays and the long jump.
      "We feel the stars will be aligned, literally and figuratively, next May and June for this to really take off," said US athletics chief Doug Logan.
      "We will be working with the Jamaican federation, our athletes and other stakeholders over the next 12-plus months to put together a top-tier event," added Logan, the chief executive of USA Track and Field.
      The Beijing Olympics last year showcased a showdown between Jamaican and US sprinters, with the former coming out on top.
      606: DEBATE
      Give your reaction to these special sprint events
      Bolt was the undoubted star, outshining Americans Shawn Crawford and Walter Dix as he stormed to a gold and world record double in the men's 100m and 200m.
      There were also gold medals for Jamaicans Shelly-Ann Fraser and Veronica Campbell-Brown in the women's 100 and 200m respectively, while Bolt helped Jamaica break the world record held by the United States in the men's 4x100m relay.
      "We look forward to taking on our American friends in head-to-head competition in 2010," said Jamaican federation president Howard Aris.
      "We are confident that this kind of team competition, featuring the most exciting events in athletics, will prove captivating to fans around the world."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

use it to buss dexter and yohan and di up and comers......

i think we can EASILY maximise the benefit in our favour. remember the russia usa showdowns in the 80's?

we soon have tract meet like test cricket.

Line up Great Britain next and then Canada, Bahamas and di Trini.

we soon have tract meet like test cricket.

Line up Great Britain next and then Canada, Bahamas and di Trini.
            Not so Great Britain, Canada? Trinidad? You want empty stands.

Cakewalk.

Jamaica, US showdown in 2010

INDIANAPOLIS (AP): Usain Bolt and the rest of Jamaica's Olympic-dominating sprint crew are ready to take on the best from the United States. In a bid to boost track and field profile in non-Olympic years, the two countries will square off...

Read More...