• Forget The Windies, Here's The bigger Story

Posted by: Gamma's Proxy

Campion top C'Bar for 'A' League crown

Andrew Hancel
    Friday, February 20, 2009

Campion College won their first major title in 20 years after beating Calabar on first innings to lift the First Global Trophy in the 'A' League final of the ISSA/Grace Shield at Melbourne Oval yesterday.
    Resuming on 123 for three on the final day replying to Calabar's 194 all out, Campion collapsed to 196 all out but managed a slender but significant first-innings lead of two runs.

Calvin Hunter (left), brand manager for First Global Bank, Liguanea Branch, applauds the victorious Campion College cricket team after presenting them the First Global Bank Trophy for defeating Calabar in the final of the ISSA/Grace Shield 'A' League at Melbourne Oval yesterday. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

Calabar, needing to win outright, went for quick runs and were eventually bowled out for 116, setting Campion a victory target of 115.
    With a draw being enough to secure their first trophy since 1989, Campion strolled to 84 for three before the umpires pulled stumps due to bad light 10 minutes ahead of the official time.

Victorious Campion coach, Leon Campbell, showed little signs of emotion at the end as he now shifts his attention to the semi-final round of the Grace Shield Premiership contest where tougher teams are awaiting them.
    "We're very confident that we can stand our ground in the next round," he said. "Our chances are as good as anybody and we are going there to do our best."

Scores: Calabar 194 & 116; Campion 196 & 84-3.
    Earlier, Campion's first-day hero, Brandon King (54), and his partner, Jon Hemmings (24), failed to add to their overnight score as Calabar's bowlers found their range quickly.

Low-order batsman Brent Marston (22) and Jason Leigh (16) staged somewhat of a fightback, but after both were dismissed, Calabar were back in contention as Campion were hanging by a thread at 186 for nine.
    Pacer Sanjay Bailey (3-32), Rolando McKenzie (2-23) and Junior Ennis (2-25) bowled well in the first session, but Campion breathed a sigh of relief after getting past Calabar's landmark target.

Batting a second time, Campion's Karl Todd (5-34) ripped through Calabar's middle-order after fastbowler Bradd Gillings (2-35) took the first two wickets, while King (2-15) grabbed two wickets late on.

Richard Gustavos, Calabar's first-innings topscorer, again led the batting with 28, while No 9 batman McKenzie was next best with 16.

Todd, opening the innings, made a solid 36 before Bailey trapped him lbw. Bailey returned later to bowl King, but Gillings (15no) and captain Deron Dixon Jr, yet to score, negotiated well before bad light intervened.

Losing captain Lewin Williams admitted that "it hurts" to lose in his third consecutive final, but his boys had achieved their objective of reaching the championship game.
    Last edited by Karl; February 20, 2009, 04:38 PM.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

cho man....every now and then we win one of these titles just to prove a point....

Damn! What has the world come to?
      Campion?

CONGRATS to Campion!
      ...and her supporters!
      ..especially the long suffering gamma!

Can you guess which Schoolboy Team has scoring record in Sunlight Cup competition ?

Low scoring record?

Try high scoring..

Let me guess... Campion?

"Scoring"? are we talking cricket? otherwise, St. Andrews...

If it is cricket, my very wild guess is KC.

Campion scored over 400 in a Final..

One innings?

I think Vere and Steths scored over 300 in an innings.
                      If I am not mistaken that Vere team have Herbert "Dago" Gordon as wicket-keeper batsman?! (I think?!)

Any Vere man deh bout to confirm or set the record straight?

Nuh muss one innings ?

What record yuh want to set straight ?

400+ runs is needed to sit at this table...

Win most, lose a few, I will take it.
                          BTW the picture of the Campion team look more like a Calabar team to me than a Campion team, look like say things change?!

No Stoni, a bay brown people yuh see dere.

Apparantly you have not seen a Campion team for quite some time now..

You probably still think Campion is a private school..