Yes sah, mi proud to be a West Indian!!

• Yes sah, mi proud to be a West Indian!!

I never thought that I could top the ecstacy of last week' drubbing of England, but bwoy I just have fi say that the way the man them bat, them show a lot of fight, it was truly inspiring.

I had faith in the team based on the history of the past two series, I expected at least a strong fight and hoped for a draw, and actually we got both.

I said it last week Windies cricket is back, the era of personal responsibility is back, the days of the overly talented and weak work ethic of the Lara era gone, I am ready to call it, today was the true test, last week was great and in a way a bit of luck with hard work, this one was guts all the way, yes some luck too but more guts than anything, this was about fighting back just to hold yuh ground, this is what character is all about. I feel personally validated by this draw, yes sah mi definitely feel like mi can big up mi chest again when it come to cricket, I cyan wait to go to the office tomorrow and buck up some Indian and Bhangladeshi guys that a run up them mouthsay the West Indies goose was definitely cooked, yes I can smile and walk boasy once again.

Yeah, this one feel real good!!

The feeling is shared...but my advice is enjoy it while it lasts...and hopefully it will last a long time! We do have some way to go before we can really start to beat our chest, but not rolling over and letting England have its way with us was beautiful to see. Congrats to the batting of the tail-enders, Taylor, Powell, Benn, Edwards who all spent valuable time at the crease.

What is significant is that Strauss took his men to a lead of 503 before he declared....while it could be argued in hindsight that they didn't need such a big lead, it also demonstrates the growing respect that they have for the Windies batting capability.

Well it has really been a long time for me truly so I will enjoy it, over the years I hacve looked in many a time and gone right back out as I will not waste my time when even the effort is not there. I can see the effort now it is very clear. When you look at the number of balls faced by every man on the side in the 2nd innings that tell the whole story, no body made a duck and man like Ramdin made 21 off 76 balls now that is keeping you head down, Powell made 22 off 55 balls, that is a lot of concentration under pressure that is no ordinary feat, so yes I see something different than what has passed for cricket for the last 20 years.

and i saw and heard powell pleading his case....they seem to have a mentality of not wanting to lose.

you can extend the citizenship to your brethren Mo ?

Yes it does look like a turning point but I will be a bit more cautious and not call it yet. I need to see them display this kind of fight in an extended overseas tour.

Again, its not all about winning or losing, if they had lost in the final hour yesterday I would feel bad but would not have any less praise for the players. It is about playing like you want to win and are determined not to lose.

I have always been a big Lara fan (as a batsman) but it sure does look like his was the era of the prima donna. I don't blame him totally for that but it is clear that his influence was a big part of the problem.

Yes it does look like a turning point but I will be a bit more cautious and not call it yet.
              England torched our bowling attack. Mi nuh see what di whole heap a cheering is about

the same bowling attack which skittled them out for 51? england had a VERY GOOD first innings but got pegged back in the second by some very good bowling to restrict the run rate that helped to delay the declaration.

strauss made 2 vital mistakes...not enforcing the follow on and thereafter batting too long...450 was a challenging enough target. strauss displayed a lack of faith in his bowling in my opinion and it turns out that it was justified, the couldn't knock over the tail to win the match.

suh gweh wid yuh abject negativity it wasn't all doom and gloom. the match was england's to win and they were denied THAT is what the cheering is about. windies maintains their 1-o series lead!!

the same bowling attack which skittled them out for 51? england had a VERY GOOD first innings but got pegged back in the second by some very good bowling to restrict the run rate that helped to delay the declaration.

strauss made 2 vital mistakes...not enforcing the follow on and thereafter batting too long...450 was a challenging enough target. strauss displayed a lack of faith in his bowling in my opinion and it turns out that it was justified, the couldn't knock over the tail to win the match.

suh gweh wid yuh abject negativity it wasn't all doom and gloom. the match was england's to win and they were denied THAT is what the cheering is about. windies maintains their 1-o series lead!!
                  Gwaan cheer for failure den if yuh want. Bowling smaddy out fi 51 den tun round and get blasted fi nearly 600 runs just goes to show you that the 51 was a fluke and our bowling is atrocious. Why was the match England's to win? Not because of our batting because of our pitiful bowling. So we inna di same predicament we were in before. No bowling

don't cheer den and 'low mi!

BTW couldn't the same be said of england's batting? 500 and then 212 for 8....and then couldn't bowl out windies to win the match? how about that on the other side?

they are up 1-0...i will cheer that failure. were you potty trained at gun point or sup'm?

Gwaan cheer for failure den if yuh want. Bowling smaddy out fi 51 den tun round and get blasted fi nearly 600 runs just goes to show you that the 51 was a fluke and our bowling is atrocious. Why was the match England's to win? Not because of our batting because of our pitiful bowling. So we inna di same predicament we were in before. No bowling
                      If we look at the Clive LLoyd/Viv Richards era it was as you suggest, in the majority of cases no score we made was too low. The bowlers overwhelmed the opposing batsmen.

...but the then teams also showed a penchant for never giving in. The players then fought to the last man. What we are all saying is Gayle...these current players showed in this match that same stiff backbone...that refusal to fold attitude the those LLoyd/Richards teams showed.

Yup, boss...we could very well be seeing Gayle's men launch a resugence in West Indies cricket.

Still proud? Our bowling attack is atrocious

Still proud, the bowling have a long way to go, it is the determination in the batting is where we have seen the change.

don't forget the dropped catches.....strauss on 48 and peterson later on. how is that the bowlers fault?

The strip not giving any aid.