• Stanford is a DRUGGIST! or Implicated as a Dealer

ECB 'naive' over Stanford affair

Stanford has invested millions into cricket in the Caribbean

An Antiguan lawyer has questioned the rigour of the checks the England and Wales Cricket Board carried out on Texan billionaire Sir Allen Stanford.
    Stanford has been accused of a $8bn (£5.6bn) investment fraud in the US.
    Lawyer John Fuller, a former associate of Stanford, said the businessman's links to South and Central America should have set alarm bells ringing.
    "You wouldn't have to dig far to raise concerns," Fuller told BBC 5 Live as the ECB refused to comment on Stanford.
    "There's been a bit of naivety," added Fuller, who worked closely with Stanford during his time as owner of the airline Caribbean Star, which stopped flying in 2007, and has known the billionaire for 10 years.
    According to Fuller, there have been concerns in Antigua for the past five years over American Stanford's business affairs.
    "His bank were offering interest rates which were much higher than anyone else," said Fuller.
    "He did not have any apparent income, at least here in Antigua, other than a small amount of money from two restaurants he has and a health spa.
    "He was spending a lot of money on land, private jets and cricket. But the income was not visible."
    In June the ECB struck a deal with Stanford to play five $20m matches, with plans in place for new 20-20 tournaments in England as well.
    MIHIR BOSE BLOG

It is easy to see how Stanford could have charmed Clarke. I myself, during a brief interview, found the Texan charming

The ECB and its chairman Giles Clarke has received support from at least 11 of the 18 counties and earlier on Thursday Glamorgan chairman Paul Russell defended the checks carried out by domestic cricket's governing body. The ECB, in tandem with the West Indies Cricket Board, has suspended negotiations with Stanford as a result of the charges. Stanford has not been seen since Tuesday, when the Securities and Exchange Commission filed a civil case in court. No criminal charges have yet been made.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

that talk has been around for almost 10 years i first heard it about years ago.

Well dem caan find im in the USA & Antigua , look inna Mex.Coming from his lawyer for the past howmuch years im dun.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

FBI found him in Virginia today.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So what about the lawyer himself wasn't he naive too? Every puss dawg and rat is now coming out of the woodwork bout they knew it all along. Knew sh!t unnuh was a smile up inna him face and kiss him feet like everybody else.

Cleaning money for druggist. Is there a bank that has not done that?

So what about the lawyer himself wasn't he naive too? Every puss dawg and rat is now coming out of the woodwork bout they knew it all along. Knew sh!t unnuh was a smile up inna him face and kiss him feet like everybody else.
              No obvious income...in Antigua?
              I thought it was asummed 'everywhere' that he made his money elsewhere?

No obvious income...in Antigua?
                I thought it was asummed 'everywhere' that he made his money elsewhere?
                Yeah that part was pretty silly. He owned investment banks isn't that obvious source of income? And another thing has anyone been denied access to their investments? I have not heard of any yet they say fraud.

the fraud part is simply misrepresentation of historical returns and the investment class of the CD assets.

Then the press takes that and creates the rest of the storm and all of a sudden he is going to be the biggest villain the world has ever seen.