With the likes of Darren Bravo, Kieran Powell and Adrian Barath coming through the ranks? These youngsters look very impressive.
Is West Indies cricket Really In Trouble?
We have a chance to become at least respectable...but there remains the lingering legacy of the Lara influenced era...I had enough arguments on here about that; it's only in his latter playing days he realized the (negative) impact he was having and had some success in changing his ways.Peter R
If those players were in Ja them wouldnt even smell de bench... We have players in ja who topped U19 batting and bowling avg in the same tournament those players played in.
Keiron Powell is the only one i like of dem three, Barath may be one for the future, but he is an opener and there is a whole lot a dem inna de WI.Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
Mitty
Originally posted by Mitty View PostIf those players were in Ja them wouldnt even smell de bench... We have players in ja who topped U19 batting and bowling avg in the same tournament those players played in.
Keiron Powell is the only one i like of dem three, Barath may be one for the future, but he is an opener and there is a whole lot a dem inna de WI.
All three played in the last U19 WC. Larry Gomes of T&T was the manager and chose to play Bharath instead of the leading run scorer (a Jayute) in our local tournament. I doubt if Bharath reached double figures in any of the matches. Bravo was so-so, he may have gotten a half century in one of the matches. Powell was definitely the star, scoring several half centuries and I think a century. WI did not come out of their group finishing last.Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
Mitty
Originally posted by Mitty View PostAll three played in the last U19 WC. Larry Gomes of T&T was the manager and chose to play Bharath instead of the leading run scorer (a Jayute) in our local tournament. I doubt if Bharath reached double figures in any of the matches. Bravo was so-so, he may have gotten a half century in one of the matches. Powell was definitely the star, scoring several half centuries and I think a century. WI did not come out of their group finishing last.
He is definitely one for the future ..right now he is a little too inconsistent but he is young and has time on his side. The next Trini yute Simmons mek 2 hundred and big!
The problem is: when it counts the youths have not been performing! Just watch...play either of these two and they will not rise to the occasion. Hopefully, if they get a game, I am wrong.Peter R