• I DON'T WANT ASAFA DANCING - Athlete's parents not pleased

I DON'T WANT ASAFA DANCING - Athlete's parents not pleased

Asafa Powell hugs his mom, Cislyn. - Winston Sill
    While thousands of fans worldwide cannot get enough of Asafa Powell's recent displays of the local 'Nuh Linga' and 'Gully Creepa' dance moves, his two biggest fans, his parents, are not pleased at all.

Recent indulgence
    The Reverend William Powell and his wife, Cislyn, said they are "not happy" about their son's recent indulgence in dancehall moves and are praying, literally, that he stops doing them.
    "I just don't like the dancing. Everything else makes me happy, is the dancing I don't love," said Cislyn Powell, Asafa's mother. "It makes me sad because I have a congregation that I have to preach to, and I don't enjoy seeing him out there like that."

http://www.jamaica-star.com/thestar/...ews/news1.html

now we see where the mental block has it's genesis!!!

Asafa needs to have a word with his parents and throw in 2 bloodcleet while he's at it. Big horse staring man have him parents a question him lifestyle inna newspaper. Christians, yuh gotta love laughing at them

Mi cyaan get over dis part:

The Church of God pastor told The Star that they wanted their beloved son to stay true to the standards he grew up with and not stray from them. "We just want him to be the same Asafa that we know. He started out with Christ, and we want him to stay with Him," the Reverend Powell said.
        Ummm Rev. yuh ever seen the women that go to European Grand Prix events? Little Asafa has prolly run through bout 2 dozen of them so let's not be naive here bout don't stray

slave mentality......daz why Bolt whip his backside everytime...he, Ussian ain't afraid or forced ta downgrade who he is & where he come from.....dem Christians mek me sick
          “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

Next ting them gonna say, he shouldn't RUN

on a Sunday

That's why I stay clear of religious fanatics, (that's what those 2 pastors are) & politicians

surprised dem nuh seh nutten bout di tights!

Mi cyaan get over dis part:

Ummm Rev. yuh ever seen the women that go to European Grand Prix events? Little Asafa has prolly run through bout 2 dozen of them so let's not be naive here bout don't stray
                What the hell would Pastor Mama do, if a girl shows up on har doorstep and say I'm his baby momma

Honour they father and mother so that your days will be long upon the land. How yu want de man to cus bc to his parents. Would you do that?
                  There a lot of things that I do that my Mom wouldn't want me to do and would tell me....hey, he just has to let go for they wont.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                    Honour they father and mother so that your days will be long upon the land. How yu want de man to cus bc to his parents. Would you do that?
                    There a lot of things that I do that my Mom wouldn't want me to do and would tell me....hey, he just has to let go for they wont.
                    Would your mother use a national newspaper as the means to get the message across?

Your question should be: "Should a national newspaper use a mother as means to get their message across or to SELL papers"?

they can ask the question, she doesnt have to answer. I take your point about respect for parents though. Incidently, a religous guy recently tried to convince me that the honour your parents commandment was probably the most important one. Care to guess why?

the religious guy was your dad? my guess...

Not to sell newspapers !!! to make her look good in front of her CONGREGATION !!..This is all about them and the status !!

the religious guy was your dad? my guess...
                              LOL no but that would have made sense. Apparantly the honour your parents commandment is the only one that is accompanied by a consequence ie 'so that you days may be longer'. his point was that this made it unique. The Bible experts on the board would have to confirm that. But I cant remember any other commandment having a consequence/reward.