so if she did not have a congregation it would be ok.. wha she a adventist?
I DON'T WANT ASAFA DANCING - Athlete's parents not pleased
is it a sin to dance.. sometime religion is too much about control. Its it the dance or the music.. cause if him get inna spirit and gully creep to papa san or Cherly Franklin mommy would not say anything... let the man dance we have other things to worry about...
Originally posted by Westman View PostSiccko, he is also human and cannot be expected to be perfect. It is just that since he is one of the most visible christians in the society, some may confuse his human imperfection with intentional hypocrisy, which I think would be unfair. I think his mother is well aware of that.
I think Asafa is a leader and not a follower, Just my thought. He seems to want to fit in and seem cool. His personality is quite unlike Usain's. He may enjoy the dancing but I think he is doing it more to fit in. He could also be quite a genuine christian who happens to get caught up in what he thinks is benign secular celebration. His mother being more spiritual is probably concerned that he might not be aware that starting out with minor secular traditions could lead a weak christian on a path toward more serious secular traditions and away from a christian walk.
Again, I am not being pious or righteous. This is just how I try to see it objectively. I am not arguing against persons, but against ideas or positions.
...and when has dancing become a an activity that defines whether or not one is a christian? ...or puts one on a path leading away from christianity?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
One day Christians ?? If Mother so spiritual and full of christianity why not reprimand/castigate in private. Isn't that what Jesus would do.
Another thing, I recall seeing a pic of Asafa and a young lady (lady was looking pretty in a revealing dress), never heard any utterances from Mother then.
Cho!“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
Originally posted by Rudi View PostWell I guess there are those who dont want their days to be longer but the punishment would still be a consequence. One could say that all the other commandment carry an unspeakable punishment since the only one that specifically lists a punishment/reward is the one to dealing with parents."We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.
Originally posted by Westman View PostI do not think your comment is fair. His mother's desire has nothing to do with his so called mental block. She raised her son in a Christian way and she believes that dancing to non-christian like songs and in ways which are known to conjure non-christian values, are not consistent with a christian life style. We may not agree with her, but I certainly respect her view. His personal fears or lack of confidence is something all togehter different, and could actually be helped by taking them to the Lord and leaving them at His feet, as is the Christian way. We, plural, may not agree with that, but that actually helps many Christians.
Though I may disagree with her, I do not hink that she is intruding directly into her adult son's life. I think she is being genuine and non-hypocritical when she mentions that she will intercede spiritually. I would respect more clerics if they were as honest and genuine as this."We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.
while I appreciate what unnu say, what if your parents are drug dealer, crack head, or robbers. do you honor them too?
That is the reality plenty kids face nowadays.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.