Christian can't Gully Creep?

I am no Bible expert but I heard a sermon about this recently and here is the crux of the matter, there is nothing required of the parents either including the absentee father or the abusive mother...the onus is on the child to honour the parents

you really let me down...bad

the hypocracy in Jamaica knows no bounds. Please explain how a nation of so many Christians can be the murder capital of the freaking globe. Maybe just maybe if people were more concerned with Christian actions instead of tangential crap like dances etc. jamaica would be better off. America is the den of the devil but the average american contributes more to charity than any jamaican of whatever economic stripe. Big freaking joke.

Imagine seh she carrying on about the man dancing to songs that don't even have gun lyrics, lewd lyrics or anything attached to it. I hope her heart can take it when him start gun salute some Movado tune.

Every person is there own person. Do you thing Asafa.

Dem need fi check out Shelly Thunda's radikal shows. If dem tink is Gully Creepah one dem haffi worry bout...!

I agree! But I never cared too much for fundamentalist Christians.

Hope you not calling me a hypocrite because I don't believe we are a Christian society. I don't believe the majority of those who live here have any relationship with God. Yes we all know He exist, well most of us as there is a church here that worships the devil and they are allowed full freedom to do what they want, but however I have never believed we are a 'Christian country' in the context that many believe it to be.

Respectfully, Rudi, could it be that the pastor believes that the dancing is not tangential but just the top of a slippery slope from which he could descend swiftly from the values she tried to impart to him?

I am neither pious nor righteous. I just happen to respect the honesty and consistency of this woman. She is totally biblical in her pronouncements. Your other comments about Ja having so many christians yet having so much crime actually proves my point. So many christians are inconsistent and hypocritical. I think it was Gamma who. a long time ago, posted something here which made it clear that there is difference between secular christianity, judaism; and actual christians, jews and moslems. This woman, without forcing her son, his being consistent and is pledging to pray. She realizes he is now too old to be made to conform. But, as the bible says, she is giving the issue to God. Now, she can go into the pulpit and suggest to people that they and their families should act Godly without appearing to be a hypocrite

Respek.

Siccko, he is also human and cannot be expected to be perfect. It is just that since he is one of the most visible christians in the society, some may confuse his human imperfection with intentional hypocrisy, which I think would be unfair. I think his mother is well aware of that.

I think Asafa is a leader and not a follower, Just my thought. He seems to want to fit in and seem cool. His personality is quite unlike Usain's. He may enjoy the dancing but I think he is doing it more to fit in. He could also be quite a genuine christian who happens to get caught up in what he thinks is benign secular celebration. His mother being more spiritual is probably concerned that he might not be aware that starting out with minor secular traditions could lead a weak christian on a path toward more serious secular traditions and away from a christian walk.

Again, I am not being pious or righteous. This is just how I try to see it objectively. I am not arguing against persons, but against ideas or positions.

I am disappointed in you. I see no fundamentalism in her position. I see genuine, non-hypocritical thoughts of a pastor. I see no attempt to force him, to discipline him, to deride him, to condemn him or to ostracize him. Total honesty and Biblical.

I my column today I argued that Asafa must chose this day who he serves..he cant on one hand talk bout Christianity and then jump pon stage and a do Gully creepa.

From a Christian perspective who is he serving with all this gallivanting on stage?
                          What the...? Is the Gully Creepa some kinda hedonistic ritual?

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                            Respectfully, Rudi, could it be that the pastor believes that the dancing is not tangential but just the top of a slippery slope from which he could descend swiftly from the values she tried to impart to him?

I am neither pious nor righteous. I just happen to respect the honesty and consistency of this woman. She is totally biblical in her pronouncements. Your other comments about Ja having so many christians yet having so much crime actually proves my point. So many christians are inconsistent and hypocritical. I think it was Gamma who. a long time ago, posted something here which made it clear that there is difference between secular christianity, judaism; and actual christians, jews and moslems. This woman, without forcing her son, his being consistent and is pledging to pray. She realizes he is now too old to be made to conform. But, as the bible says, she is giving the issue to God. Now, she can go into the pulpit and suggest to people that they and their families should act Godly without appearing to be a hypocrite

Respek.
                            I would have agreed with everything you said had she not chosen to deal with this in the paper. she also chose to criticize his coach in the paper. It sounds to me that aprat from her beliefs she relishes the attention.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                              She also chose to criticize his coach in the paper.
                              I am sure they will find something Holy and Godly in those actions too

You wrote a paradox that he is a leader and he might just want to fit in..not so, leaders dont fit in to what Society expects them to do they lead whether it is popular or not.

Stop apologising four your opinions boss...thats not how we were taught on the hill beside the sea...talk you talk and who nuh like it jump inna sea...now Mosiah that was not for you- LOL