I DON'T WANT ASAFA DANCING - Athlete's parents not pleased

what if you don't want your days to be longer? then it wouldn't be a punishment!

anyway, what yuh think the penalty is for having "false gods"? somehow mi think it is so unspeakable dem neva mention it....

what if you don't want your days to be longer? then it wouldn't be a punishment!

anyway, what yuh think the penalty is for having "false gods"? somehow mi think it is so unspeakable dem neva mention it....
      Well I guess there are those who dont want their days to be longer but the punishment would still be a consequence. One could say that all the other commandment carry an unspeakable punishment since the only one that specifically lists a punishment/reward is the one to dealing with parents.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Honour they father and mother so that your days will be long upon the land. How yu want de man to cus bc to his parents. Would you do that?
        There a lot of things that I do that my Mom wouldn't want me to do and would tell me....hey, he just has to let go for they wont.
        Mek har embarass me and her self in front of the entire nation and yuh will find out

Bricky -

Mek har embarass me and her self in front of the entire nation and yuh will find out
          find out what - whose days will be shorter

I do not think your comment is fair. His mother's desire has nothing to do with his so called mental block. She raised her son in a Christian way and she believes that dancing to non-christian like songs and in ways which are known to conjure non-christian values, are not consistent with a christian life style. We may not agree with her, but I certainly respect her view. His personal fears or lack of confidence is something all togehter different, and could actually be helped by taking them to the Lord and leaving them at His feet, as is the Christian way. We, plural, may not agree with that, but that actually helps many Christians.

Though I may disagree with her, I do not hink that she is intruding directly into her adult son's life. I think she is being genuine and non-hypocritical when she mentions that she will intercede spiritually. I would respect more clerics if they were as honest and genuine as this.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
              find out what
              Where her new residence will be for one. Is like she figget who pay fi whe she a live

Is not di odda day Asafa start dance like dat. His parents were really in the dark as to what their son was doing. Nuh mind sharp him de a Passa every Thursday mawnin!

Family ting! Mek dem sort it out. At some point, he might say to himself dat him a big man and can do what him like. Or no!

His parents are public figures, who try to get the public, especially their congregation, to "not conform" to many secular activities that can be deemed to be inconsistent with a "christian walk." I applaud them for being non-hypocritical for publicly saying what they wish for and pray for regarding their son's behavior, especially since they are preaching that to others.

How is this slave mentality? These folks preach this, and it is biblical. Should they be like other pastors who look the other way when they or their families do it, but continue to preach it to the public? We may not agree with it but we should respect their honesty and lack of hypocrisy.

I hope that does not happen. If it should happen, though, I hope she loves them both and prays that it does not happen again. I am not trying to be a prude, but that is the Christian way. That would be a breath of fresh air.

Madamme X, I appeal to you to understand that the words of Asafa's mother are not the words of a religious fanatic. She is a public figure who is preaching to the public to behave in "christian-like" ways. It is totally consistent and non-hypocritical for her to say what she said if she wants to be heard and respected by her congregation. She is not saying she is going to force Asafa to do anything. She is expressing her disappointment with his behavior being inconsistent with christian values which she tried to impart to him in his formative years. She is also saying she will pray for him. This is so different from a lot clerics who look past their homes and condemn and direct the lives of others.

It is not to make her look good. It is what the Bilble calls her to do. Please do not take me for a zealot.

I am not a religious zealot, nor am pretending to be "holier than thou." I a just trying to get everyone to see another perspective. I believe straight talk and lack of hypocrisy are things that are sorely missing from the lives of many religious figures, especially in Jamaica. She is saying if the doctrine is good enough for public consumption, her family should not be exempt.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                              It is not to make her look good. It is what the Bilble calls her to do. Please do not take me for a zealot.
                              Wonder if di bible tell har fi let off piece on gthe Rev too

Thank you boss...which school you go a again? Just checking. I my column today I argued that Asafa must chose this day who he serves..he cant on one hand talk bout Christianity and then jump pon stage and a do Gully creepa.

From a Christian perspective who is he serving with all this gallivanting on stage?