• GlenMills says some songs encourage young people to be lazy

GlenMills says some songs encourage young people to be lazy
    LUKE DOUGLAS, Observer writer editorial@jamaicaobserver.com
    Saturday, October 04, 2008

Head coach of Jamaica's successful Olympic track and field team, Glen Mills, has called upon the nation to fight against the lyrics of some popular music, which he says encourages laziness in young people.
    "We have to fight the lyrics because most of it (the music) does not encourage the qualities which our young people need to develop," at a Rotary Club function on Thursday.
    Mills, coach of Olympic triple gold medallist and world record-holder Usain Bolt, said the youths have to overcome tremendous peer pressure in striving to achieve their goals, and some of the music his athletes listen to does not help in this regard.
    "Sometimes at training they will be singing songs that encourage them to be lazy," said Mills, who along with Bolt, were special guests at the function.
    Speaking on the subject of leadership, the celebrated coach said he focused not on being popular, but on standing up for what is right, no matter the cost.
    He said while there were many temptations in his sport, especially with young people who want to get ahead and be champions overnight, success required discipline and hard work.
    "Those who have been successful, as Usain will tell you, are prepared to go the extra mile above and beyond what is given to you," Mills said.
    He commended the Rotarians for offering their service in the development of young people, as he said there were many who were yearning for an opportunity to develop their skills and achieve their goals.
    The occasion was the launch of the Flow/Rotary National Leadership Initiative at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.
    Guest speaker, Governor General Professor Sir Kenneth Hall urged Jamaicans to do more to assist the youth in the areas of education, parenting and employment.
    As part of the initiative, each of 23 Rotary clubs in Jamaica will select a leader from its district between the ages of 17 and 30 for the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA). Some 500 young people, including the awardees, will be invited to participate in a RYLA seminar in which successful professionals will teach them the importance of ethics, communication skills and community service.
    The initiative also includes programmes in which youth attend weekly luncheons to meet with Rotarians, the promotion of EarlyAct clubs for five to 13-year-olds, and assistance with community leadership and projects.
    Communications company Flow presented $2.5 million towards the initiative.
    The Rotary Club has a membership of 1.2 million members worldwide and has been active in Jamaica since 1959.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This is commonsense logic (to phrase it rather crudely), but I guess that coming now from Glen Mills, some people may at last begin to listen! Or is even this desperate hope of mine too unrealistic?

The question is, has our extremely irresponsible music industry (in many cases) done so much damage that it is already too late for us as a people?

Watchitt historian.

Mosiah might trace you offf

You are saying that he is right but I am really interested to know which songs Mr. Mills may speaking of. Can you mention any?

A joke Glen Mills a mek because lazy people cyaan buss dem dance deh!

Me too. Which songs exactly, Glen? Maybe HL and Historian can name a few songs that encourage this laziness.

"tek it easy, take your time, no need to worry"
              that is one

Most a di song them(dancehall) nowadays have a BPM of 120 which is very fast and it should encourage exercising.

If he is talking about the lyrics encouraging ganga, the all night long dancehall culture then that is a different thing.

Mills Has a Point!

Me too. Which songs exactly, Glen? Maybe HL and Historian can name a few songs that encourage this laziness.
                Initially, I was not thinking of the rhythm (beat), and I am still sure that Glen Mills was not referring to reggae and dancehall's driving rhythms!

What I focused on in making my post yesterday was the following quote: "We have to fight the lyrics because most of it (the music) does not encourage the qualities which our young people need to develop." If you notice, the words "the music" has been placed in brackets, which means that Mills did not use those two words in that sentence. Rather, the words "the music" were placed there by the reporter in an attempt to assist the readers.

Mills would be really, really silly, in the context of our volatile Jamaican society, to start naming specific songs! "Laziness," in the context in which he used it, is most likely meant to be interpreted as "not encouraging growth or creativity among our young people." This is so obvious that naming specific songs is hardly necessary, as even as I type I can think of recordings with inane lyrics that make one less inclined to think and act in a creative manner!

I still fully agree with Glen Mills' statement.

Utter nonsense! So because he's a successful track coach, it makes him an expert on our music? Name the songs! How can people even listen to this nonsense and repeat it? How many people have been 'made lazy' by any particular song?

Which pop tunes actually encourage industry? Which culture?

I would love to know. Which culture has pop tunes that encourage hard work, industry, decency, responsibility, etc.? So we should ban our songs while the rest of the world craves them?!?!

Which pop tunes actually encourage industry? Which culture?
                        Interesting point, Mosiah.

Maybe I/we should wait and see if, hopefully, Glen Mills clarifies his remark. Hopefully, some local journalist will be quick-minded enough to do a follow-up story on this interesting comment by Coach Mills.

"Work" by Barrington Levy and Jigsy King come to mind.

"Row Fisherman row" and some farm based songs but they are few and far between.

Reggae: "Every posse must work" - Barrington Levy.

"Nuh Linga"...and Bolt did not, in Beijing! LoL