• CAC Champ says inspired by Bolt!

CAC champ says inspired by Bolt

Friday, October 03, 2008
    Falmouth-born Douglas Rodgers has attributed the exploits of parishioner Usain Bolt at the Olympic Games in Beijing last summer as his inspiration for winning the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Super Heavyweight Bodybuilding title in Nassau, Bahamas, last weekend.

Complete Story ...

CAC champ says inspired by Bolt

Friday, October 03, 2008
    Falmouth-born Douglas Rodgers has attributed the exploits of parishioner Usain Bolt at the Olympic Games in Beijing last summer as his inspiration for winning the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Super Heavyweight Bodybuilding title in Nassau, Bahamas, last weekend.
    It's a pity the entire damn team was not as inspired by Bolt as Douglas Rodgers was!! I'm friggin' tired of seeing a small country like the Bahamas dominate us in the CAC bodybuilding Championships, as has been happening year after year! To tell you the truth, Karl, when I first saw this story in the Observer, I cursed!

As for our boxers, that is another story! When last has a Jamaican boxer won anything of value in the CAC region? There are some here that won't like what I'm about to say, but I'll say it anyway: Outside of track (not field) and netball, and to a much lesser extent soccer and cricket, sports in Jamaica sucks at this time!

Maybe it's a reflection of the mammoth socio-economic and political problems that we face, but our failures in sports in teh 21st century are real!! For a country that boasts the largest English-speaking population in the Caribbean, we should have been accomplishing much greater things in most or at least a few of the following:

(a) Bodybuilding
    (b) Basketball
    (c) Boxing
    (d) Field Events (throws and jumps)
    (e) Golf
    (f) Rugby
    (g) Swimming
    (h) Tennis (lawn)

Historian are you losing your mind my friend, who the hell cares about bodybuilding, it is a nice thing when someone does well but in the big pic it is insignificant. I agree on boxing but our boxing infrastructure mash up just like how world boxing mash up as well. Boxing used to be my number spectator sport, no fight could miss me, now it is all just a joke, i couldn't tell the last time I actually seriously watched a boxing match, maybe it was that ridiculous pillow punch fest between Hagler and Leonard, that was a long time ago. Boy amn I gald I never have to see Sugar Fay fight ever again.

You can throw way all the rest for me, keep Track and Field, Football and cricket those are the only ones that matter anyway, biggest bang for the buck, I just wish that we would develop ball taking our strengths as the main pillars od development, focusing on speed, strength, physical style with individual skills playing on and off the ball team oriented ball, we just don't seem to understand our strengths when it come to ball playing, so we keep underachieving. As far as Golf is concerned once Tiger done with golf it will be 50 years before anyone else comes along to make it interesting we will all be gone by then. Dont fret yuself too much on some of those other sports on your list, they are all truly smalltime and only a tiny raction of the earths population ever get to play them.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
        Historian are you losing your mind my friend, who the hell cares about bodybuilding, it is a nice thing when someone does well but in the big pic it is insignificant. I agree on boxing but our boxing infrastructure mash up just like how world boxing mash up as well. Boxing used to be my number spectator sport, no fight could miss me, now it is all just a joke, i couldn't tell the last time I actually seriously watched a boxing match, maybe it was that ridiculous pillow punch fest between Hagler and Leonard, that was a long time ago. Boy amn I gald I never have to see Sugar Fay fight ever again.

You can throw way all the rest for me, keep Track and Field, Football and cricket those are the only ones that matter anyway, biggest bang for the buck, I just wish that we would develop ball taking our strengths as the main pillars od development, focusing on speed, strength, physical style with individual skills playing on and off the ball team oriented ball, we just don't seem to understand our strengths when it come to ball playing, so we keep underachieving. As far as Golf is concerned once Tiger done with golf it will be 50 years before anyone else comes along to make it interesting we will all be gone by then. Dont fret yuself too much on some of those other sports on your list, they are all truly smalltime and only a tiny raction of the earths population ever get to play them.
        You are, of course, entitled to your preferences, Stoni, and I respect that.

Remember, though, that Cuba is the Caribbean's foremost sports power simply because it takes sports (not merely athletics, cricket and soccer) very seriously! In fact, we should be eternally grateful to the Cubans for providing us with that invaluable gift, the GC Foster College!

And while I don't often post on sporting matters here on this forum, I am very much aware of sporting developments in the wider Caribbean! It is with this knowledge that I can say that, placed beside Cuba (large population) and one or two small-population nations, Jamaica does not take sports seriously!! Trust me on this one!

my understanding is that bodybuilders FEAST on steroids and other performance enhancing substances this from a body building bredrin in boca raton ...