• Fennell: Gov't must set up fund to assist athletes

Fennell: Gov't must set up fund to assist athletes

Thursday, October 02, 2008

PRESIDENT of the Jamaica Olympic Association (JOA), Michael Fennell, is calling on the Government to establish a fund to assist the nation's athletes to train and prepare for global sporting events.

Complete Story ...

i suppose government is not in the pro-active business.....wi seem to have built a culture of bandwaggonism......

i remember when jodi-ann maxwell was looking for sponsorship to go to scripps-howard spelling bee....NADA....when on the dint of her and glen archer's hard work she won.....everybody come outta di woodwork...the pm all pick har up an tek har to lunch inna him volvo limo....

and after all of this, i am not optimistic about this or any other government following through in any meaningful way.....people who chat fart about givernment should not invest in sports because so many other areas need help....look how bolt is able to contribute to ja in a meaningful way.....?

give us vision lest we perish? given what is happening did we get that vision?

and now for something completely different....

...people who chat fart about givernment should not invest in sports because so many other areas need help....look how bolt is able to contribute to ja in a meaningful way.....?
      I don't mind govt. investing in sport, but US$1M/year for a coach with no sort of guarantee that our local coaches are in training or that some sort of a plan is being put in place is nonsense!

I also observe these politicians tripping over themselves to welcome Bolt and the rest. And we cuss the people for bum-rushing the athlete when the politicians are doing just that. Why is the Leader of the Opposition at the airport? The Minister of Transportation? Etc?