Since my knee is injured

• Since my knee is injured

and I can't run, I have taken up a new pasttime, dragon boat racing.

Twenty-two persons in the boat, including a helmsman and a drummer. Our team is new and just formed to enter the chinese arrival regatta on October 12 at Chaguaramas, Trinidad.

The sport was introduced two years ago in T&T when the first celebration to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the arrival of the first chinese in T&T took place. The sport has been growing every year, and a colleague of mine who is very involved roped me in and so we've come up with a team that has been practising for the last three weeks for the Oct 12 race.

It requires a lot of team work, core body strength, technique and timing. ( I like to think my technique and timing are excellent as I'm not a big person). My teammates range in age from about 24 to 58. There are about 24 of us registered, only 8 males... our competition requires a minimum of 8 females so we have that covered except we lack some muscle power in the middle of the boat. Anyway, it's too late to take on recruits now for the 12th but I'm hoping to keep the team together after the race... but with this bunch I don't know. My team mate in front of me this morning was so out of time with the guy in front of her she kept hitting my paddle...oh well.

I'll keep you posted on the results. I found this site with some pics from the initial regatta in 2006, which I actually attended as a spectator.
    http://www.triniview.com/gallery/mai...2_itemId=93559

Man will try ANYTHING fi meet woman eh? Bout knee no good....nutten no wrong wid him...anyhow I will hear bout yu!

So it nuh require nuh use of the leg?

ye ... but not di knee!

Brethren mi check out the link, and the teams look like amateurs.
          Mek sure yuh knee and back in working condition, next ting we hear say dem haffi administer CPR pon yuh. BTW, see mi dragon boat team in the attachment.
          Last edited by Hortical; April 22, 2009, 07:22 PM.

You're correct about the amateurs... we all are but hoping to have some fun.

Exile there are about four on the team worthwhile getting to know better ...I'll see what I can do for you.

Too close to home brethren.