• The marketability of Bolt

5 hours ago
    Usain Bolt: New Role As Leading Pitchman?
    Posted By:Darren Rovell
    Topics:Endorsements | Television | Media | Print Media | Marketing | Advertising | Sports
    Sectors:Media

After Usain Bolt shattered the 100-meter world record, even while celebrating in mid-race, Puma CMO Antonio Bertone told the Wall Street Journal that Puma was making no plans to change Bolt's profile in the company or christen him its lead pitchman.
    But something must have changed in the weeks following because in the past couple days, Bolt has been everywhere.
    Yesterday, I saw this great spot on a bus passing through New York City.
    Puma
    Puma Advertisement

And these billboards are now up in NYC and Los Angeles.

Puma
    Puma Advertisement

It's the best post-Olympics advertising of a Beijing Olympic icon we've seen yet and we think the space from the rest of the congratulatory noise that came along with all the partners immediately after the games serves Puma well.

getCSS("20182390") if (window.CNBC_SB_Puma_080925) { CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appWidth = 350; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appBG = "background-color:#FDFDFE";CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.HeaderIcon = ""; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appHeader = "Sports Biz Poll"; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.sHedStyle = "background-image:url('http://media.cnbc.com/i/CNBC/Components/Art/common/header_bkg_blue.gif');background-color:#1E5399;color:#FFF;padding:1;"; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appDeck = "" ; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appFooter = ""; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.sBodyFont = "color:#000000;" ; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.copyMargin = 8 ; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.copyBorder = "border:1px #CCD6DB solid; "; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.sDisclaimer = "Not a scientific survey." ; DisplayLV(CNBC_SB_Puma_080925); } .appCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { width:350px;background-color:#FDFDFE;font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 70%; font-weight: normal; line-height: 140%;color:#000000;} .hedCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-weight: bold;text-transform:uppercase;background-image:url('http://media.cnbc.com/i/CNBC/Components/Art/common/header_bkg_blue.gif');background-color:#1E5399;color:#FFF;padding:1; } .deckCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-weight: bold;color:#666;padding-top:10px; } .boxCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 70%; font-weight: normal; line-height: 140%;color:#000000;;border:1px #CCD6DB solid; ;font-size: 100%; } .subhedCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-size: 14px; font-weight:bold;color:#CC0000;padding-top:8px; } .headlineCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-weight:bold;padding:10px 0px 5px 0px;;}Sports Biz PollWho is the more marketable Olympian on the world stage from the Beijing Games? * 356 responsesMichael Phelps
    37% Usain Bolt
    63% Not a scientific survey.

Bolt, who we named the second most marketable Beijing Olympian, is scheduled to appear on the David Letterman Show tonight. Questions? Comments? document.write("");document.write("SportsBiz"+"@"+"cnbc.com");SportsBiz@cnbc.comdocument.write('');
    © 2008 CNBC, Inc. All Rights Reserved

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

1 hour ago
    Is Bolt More Marketable Than Phelps?
    Posted By:Darren Rovell
    Topics:Consumers | Retail Sales | Endorsements | Media | Marketing | Advertising | Sports
    Sectors:Retail | Food and Beverage | Media | Personal and Household Goods
    Companies:Kellogg Co

In our story today on Puma utilizing the "World's Fastest Man" Usain Bolt we put inwhat I thought would be a pretty pointless poll asking you who was more marketable on the world stage: Michael Phelps or Bolt.
    It was pointless because I thought it was pretty much a foregone conclusion that Phelps would win by a mile. After all, we told that Michael Phelps was already the most coveted celebrity endorser in the United States just weeks ago
    Well, as of 4 pm ET, on the day when Kellogg's cnbc_comboQuoteMove('popup_k_ID0ESG15839609');[K 56.49 0.76 (+1.36%) ]cnbc_quoteComponent_init_getData("k","WSODQ_COMPON ENT_K_ID0ESG15839609","WSODQ","true","ID0ESG158396 09","off","false"); unveils the boxes of Corn Flakes, Frosted Flakes, Rice Krispies Treats and Club crackers with Phelps plastered on them, Bolt leads Phelps by a 61 percent to 39 percent margin.

Source: Sportsbusinessdaily.com

New Kelloggs Boxes

I invite you to write in todocument.write(""); document.write("sportsbiz"+"@"+"cnbc.com");sportsbiz@cnbc.comdocument.write(''); to tell us why. By the way, for those who didn't vote last time, I'm carrying the poll over to this page to see if Bolt's lead holds up.

getCSS("20182390") if (window.CNBC_SB_Puma_080925) { CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appWidth = 350; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appBG = "background-color:#FDFDFE";CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.HeaderIcon = ""; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appHeader = "Sports Biz Poll"; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.sHedStyle = "background-image:url('http://media.cnbc.com/i/CNBC/Components/Art/common/header_bkg_blue.gif');background-color:#1E5399;color:#FFF;padding:1;"; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appDeck = "" ; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.appFooter = ""; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.sBodyFont = "color:#000000;" ; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.copyMargin = 8 ; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.copyBorder = "border:1px #CCD6DB solid; "; CNBC_SB_Puma_080925.sDisclaimer = "Not a scientific survey." ; DisplayLV(CNBC_SB_Puma_080925); } .appCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { width:350px;background-color:#FDFDFE;font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 70%; font-weight: normal; line-height: 140%;color:#000000;} .hedCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-weight: bold;text-transform:uppercase;background-image:url('http://media.cnbc.com/i/CNBC/Components/Art/common/header_bkg_blue.gif');background-color:#1E5399;color:#FFF;padding:1; } .deckCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-weight: bold;color:#666;padding-top:10px; } .boxCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 70%; font-weight: normal; line-height: 140%;color:#000000;;border:1px #CCD6DB solid; ;font-size: 100%; } .subhedCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-size: 14px; font-weight:bold;color:#CC0000;padding-top:8px; } .headlineCNBC_SB_Puma_080925 { font-weight:bold;padding:10px 0px 5px 0px;;}Sports Biz PollWho is the more marketable Olympian on the world stage from the Beijing Games? * 363 responses

Michael Phelps37%

Usain Bolt63% Not a scientific survey.

Questions? Comments? document.write("");document.write("SportsBiz"+"@"+"cnbc.com");SportsBiz@cnbc.comdocument.write('');
    © 2008 CNBC, Inc. All Rights Reserved

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Puma defenitely dropped the ball like lightning.

Please! Don't worry about it.

saw bolt on letterman....to di WORL'!!!!!

Yes them give Paris Hilton all a the time but he did well.

Letterman although not a sports fanatic asked a few good question for people like himself to understand about Bolt and the sport.

Good I have long thought this is the thing to do.

it's definitely a plus for usain yuh si how him deck out in puma from "stem to stern"?

"yuh si how him deck out in puma from "stem to stern"

yeah man. After this him need fi head to Europe then back to Asia.

At this rate he may have to take next season off fi count him money

Him gwaan good. I liked when Letterman asked him about him slowing down in the 100m, if he had pushed it he could have the WR even lower. Bolt said then it would be even harder for him Bolt to break.

The other point Bolt made was that he was just happy that he was winning and hoping he did not "crater". . . This brought some laughs as this is the word Letterman was using to describe John McCain's reason for cancelling his appearance on the show the previous day.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Him gwaan good. I liked when Letterman asked him about him slowing down in the 100m, if he had pushed it he could have the WR even lower. Bolt said then it would be even harder for him Bolt to break.

The other point Bolt made was that he was just happy that he was winning and hoping he did not "crater". . . This brought some laughs as this is the word Letterman was using to describe John McCain's reason for cancelling his appearance on the show the previous day.
                    Mi a guh watch it in a few! ...by your description, he as expected, gwaaan good!

Bolt Video on letterman .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8wfw...eature=related
                      Last edited by Sir X; September 26, 2008, 01:46 PM.