T&T looks to replicate Ja's Beijing success in 2012

• T&T looks to replicate Ja's Beijing success in 2012

Prime Minister Patrick Manning has sent a warning to Jamaica that Trinidadian athletes will be out to replicate their success at the next Olympics in London.

Manning made the comment to fans who had gathered at the Piarco International Airport yesterday to welcome home the country's sprinters who performed outstandingly at the Olympic Games in Beijing.

Jamaican athletes dominated the Games, winning six gold medals to become the toast of the Caribbean, but Manning said T&T would prepare for similar success in 2012.

"Their efforts have placed this country on the world map. I am saying today that the government will continue to assist athletes in this country with their training and preparation so that they can achieve their best and make this country proud," Manning said.

"I must warn Jamaica that they have to look out because our boys will be coming after their medals at the next Olympics. T&T is on the warpath, let them know."

T&T collected two silver medals in Beijing when Richard Thompson followed home Jamaican Usain Bolt in the 100 metres and the sprint relay team copped second in the 4x100 metres event.

The relay team comprised Marc Burns, Keston Bledman, Aaron Armstrong and Emmanuel Callender, who all arrived with Thompson yesterday. Manning and Sports Minister Gary Hunt were on hand to welcome home the athletes.

The sixth member of the team Darrel Brown did not make the trip home as he was having tendon surgery done in Miami.

Thompson paid tribute to the greats of the past who, he said, had made the present possible.

"As Bob Marley's song goes, 'In the future, you can't forget the past'. I would like to pay tribute to Hasely Crawford, Edwin Skinner, Edwin Roberts, Wendell Mottley, Ato Boldon and of course, MacDonald Bailey," Thompson said.

T&T collected two silver medals in Beijing when Richard Thompson followed home Jamaican Usain Bolt in the 100 metres and the sprint relay team copped second in the 4x100 metres event.

When you give success to dumb people, they become dumber...

dem a gwa'an suh ova 2 deggeh deggeh medal? granted is silver....an den to top it off dem a quote bob? dem couldn't quote sparrow or machel montano ... oh one more thing where marc burns train and who with?

Did Patrick Manning pay close attention while watching the men's 4x100-meter relay? Did he see the huge gap between the Jamaican and Trinidadian teams? Does he realize that inside that gap would have been teams from the USA and from Britain?

Why does Prime Minister Manning feel that Jamaica will be Trinidad's only headache in 2012?

Trinidad has so far won one Olympic Games gold medal, and that was Hasley Crawford way back in 1976. Suddenly, because of Richard Thompson's outstanding performance in 2008, Manning now feels that Trinidad will be so good that he can afford to send a warning to Jamaica?

Talk about a good prime minister providing comedic relief! Nevertheless, Manning made that comment (warning) in good spirits, and any rivalry will most likely be a friendly one. (By the way, I doubt if there will suddenly be great track and field innovations/surprises in soccer-mad Trinidad.)

And if things went according to plan, Asafa and Tyson would have separated Bolt and Thompson.

Soccer-mad T&T?!?! Or soca-mad? Not even dat, cause is dancehall dem love!

Ahh well!

This is so stupid and shows their mentality. Jamaica's success is years in the making we just didnt go 1-2-2 out of the blue....we sent 3 athletes and 2 athletes and had to settle for lower medals years ago before the acheivement in Beijing.

There were few TnT athletes that made even the B standard for a number of these races. Why not just bigup your athletes and stop trying act like you're anywhere near having the success of Jamaica.

Shhh! Why yuh throwing water on dem parade?!

They look up to Jamaica because they are at the bottom of the Caribbean. Das all.

Shhh! Why yuh throwing water on dem parade?!

They look up to Jamaica because they are at the bottom of the Caribbean. Das all.
                Nope the "warning" part I didnt really take too kindly. Hell no we nah give up these titles.

T&T - Followers not leaders - Memba France 98?

Memba after France 98 T*T senr a delegation to Jamaica to study and replicate our success. Now dem want to do the same.

Well dem need to ask Francis to train them team. We could do with the foreign exchange.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                  Prime Minister Patrick Manning has sent a warning to Jamaica that Trinidadian athletes will be out to replicate their success at the next Olympics in London.

Manning made the comment to fans who had gathered at the Piarco International Airport yesterday to welcome home the country's sprinters who performed outstandingly at the Olympic Games in Beijing.

Jamaican athletes dominated the Games, winning six gold medals to become the toast of the Caribbean, but Manning said T&T would prepare for similar success in 2012.

"Their efforts have placed this country on the world map. I am saying today that the government will continue to assist athletes in this country with their training and preparation so that they can achieve their best and make this country proud," Manning said.

"I must warn Jamaica that they have to look out because our boys will be coming after their medals at the next Olympics. T&T is on the warpath, let them know."

The relay team comprised Marc Burns, Keston Bledman, Aaron Armstrong and Emmanuel Callender, who all arrived with Thompson yesterday. Manning and Sports Minister Gary Hunt were on hand to welcome home the athletes.

The sixth member of the team Darrel Brown did not make the trip home as he was having tendon surgery done in Miami.

Thompson paid tribute to the greats of the past who, he said, had made the present possible.

"As Bob Marley's song goes, 'In the future, you can't forget the past'. I would like to pay tribute to Hasely Crawford, Edwin Skinner, Edwin Roberts, Wendell Mottley, Ato Boldon and of course, MacDonald Bailey," Thompson said.

Dem can warn all dem want. I hope dem nuh warned by Venezuela about di land dem sitting on.

You are the only one making any sense. The TT PM is a POLITICIAN and will jump on anyone's back to take the pressure of the current problems of inflation and crime. Unnu tink the man really serious? But, they will spend the money if it means political expediency....or another term in office...distract the masses...all politics.

So, yuh tink anybody did tek him serious? Challenge Jamaica in T&F??!!

Come on, now!

Olny the US and the former USSR can test Jamaica in T&F!!

So, yuh tink anybody did tek him serious? Challenge Jamaica in T&F??!!

Come on, now!
                          We Don't worry about T&T.

So, yuh tink anybody did tek him serious? Challenge Jamaica in T&F??!! Come on, now!
                            Thank you, Mosiah! In fact, I suspect that many track and field fans in other Caribbean territories must have laughed at Patrick Manning's embarrassingly silly comments!

And if things went according to plan, Asafa and Tyson would have separated Bolt and Thompson. Soccer-mad T&T?!?! Or soca-mad? Not even dat, cause is dancehall dem love!
                            Well said, and I agree with you all the way in your statements above! And I have to add by saying this: Outside of carnival time, dancehall is actually the most played music in Trinidad record stores, clubs, etc.! This is a fact that many Trinidadians realize and will reluctantly admit!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                              Did Patrick Manning pay close attention while watching the men's 4x100-meter relay? Did he see the huge gap between the Jamaican and Trinidadian teams? Does he realize that inside that gap would have been teams from the USA and from Britain?

Why does Prime Minister Manning feel that Jamaica will be Trinidad's only headache in 2012?

Trinidad has so far won one Olympic Games gold medal, and that was Hasley Crawford way back in 1976. Suddenly, because of Richard Thompson's outstanding performance in 2008, Manning now feels that Trinidad will be so good that he can afford to send a warning to Jamaica?

Talk about a good prime minister providing comedic relief! Nevertheless, Manning made that comment (warning) in good spirits, and any rivalry will most likely be a friendly one. (By the way, I doubt if there will suddenly be great track and field innovations/surprises in soccer-mad Trinidad.)

Would not be the first country to look at us and copy...and then make waves. We just need to press on.