Marion Jones released from prison - Can she complete soon?

• Marion Jones released from prison - Can she complete soon?

Disgraced sprinter Jones released from prison

setActiveStyleSheet( CNN_FONT_COOKIE ? CNN_FONT_COOKIE : null );
    document.cnnAdInterstitial = ( document.cnnAdInterstitial == undefined ? "ist" : "" ); document.cnnAdTile = (document.cnnAdTile||0) + 1; document.cnnAdRandom = document.cnnAdRandom || Math.ceil(1+1E12*Math.random()); cnnad_createAd( "more", "spt=;", 300, 250 );
    adsonar_placementId=1292995;adsonar_pid=770769;ads onar_ps=-1;adsonar_zw=300;adsonar_zh=175;cnnad_createSL();

SAN ANTONIO (AP) -- Disgraced sprinter Marion Jones was released Friday from federal prison after completing most of her six-month sentence for lying about her steroid use.
    Jones left a halfway house in San Antonio around 8 a.m., said LaTanya Robinson, a community corrections manager for the federal Bureau of Prisons. Jones, who has a house in Austin, will remain on probation.
    Jones' attorney did not immediately respond to a call or e-mail from The Associated Press requesting comment.
    The sprinter admitted last October that she used a design Area Laboratory Co-Operative, the lab that became the center of a steroids scandal that touched numerous professional athletes, including baseball star Barry Bonds.
    Her admission of drug use in 2007 came after years of denials.
    In 2004, she sued the founder of BALCO for defamation after he said she used steroids. The lawsuit was settled the following year, long before she told the truth in a federal courtroom.
    Jones gave back the three gold medals and two bronze medals she won at the 2000 Olympics in Sydney before the International Olympic Committee officially wiped her name from the record books in December.
    Copyright 2008 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Who will pay her? Before she went to prison for perjury, European meet directors were generally making it clear that they wanted absolutely nothing to do with her! And that was before anyone knew for certain that she had used performance-enhancing drugs!

Trust me, Marion Jones will remain persona non grata on the European circuit! Likewise, no self-respecting American sports or other company will be likely to spend even a single cent in endorsement on a cheat and a liar!

I am genuinely sorry for her, as there is no question in my mind that Marion would still have been an outstanding athlete without the drugs! Now, she has no money (one report a year ago stated that her bank savings was a mere $2,000), two young children to raise and a husband who is a retired track athlete. Hopefully, Obadele Thompson had invested whatever little money he had made from his unremarkable career in track and field.

Hopefully she can get a job. If not in USA then Barbados.

I feel sorry for her even though she once dissed up. She did try to be nice to us the last time I saw her in New York (Grand Prix 2007?)

Originally posted by Time View Post
          I feel sorry for her even though she once dissed up. She did try to be nice to us the last time I saw her in New York (Grand Prix 2007?)
          I agree with you, Time.

Marion Jones remains one of my favorite athletes, and for a number of reasons. One such reason is her vibrant, seemingly humble personality. She always has a smile and a kind word, even when she fails.

I could give several examples of her warm, sportsman-like personality, but one will suffice here. The example I'm giving here is her thoughtfulness after she anchored the USA women’s 4x100-meter to a bronze medal at the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games. While the Bahamas’ anchor runner Debbie Ferguson was celebrating her country’s success and barely acknowledged Merlene Ottey’s congratulations (I still haven't forgiven Debbie Ferguson for this), Marion, despite the shock defeat of her team, came across and warmly congratulated Merlene on her performance.

I will also remember Marion running a victory lap with two flags: that of her native USA and of her mother’s native Belize (I think this was either at the 2001 or 2003 IAAF World Championships).

Like Haile Gbreselassie, Tyson Gay, Allyson Felix, Cathy Freeman, Shelly-Ann Fraser, and others, Marion Jones has the type of personality that is very easy to like and admire.

I have a house in the country in an island to the south ; she is more than welcome to come live with meh.

West Indian? Doesn't surprise me that a Trini would call himself that.

I guess when you are on the fringe, cotching on the end, you will want to belong.

Well not because she is pushed she shouldn't be able to hold a job. People use steriod everyday and hold a regular job.

I liked...no, I LOVED this girl so much that a few years ago i had her picture on my cubicle wall for a long time (when i was with corporate america).

Her fall from grace is so sad.

Still, those among us without reproach--let him be the first to open his BIG mouth.

I wonder if Merlene Ottey who was cheated at the Sydney Olympics feels sorry for her.

OK...enough sentiment and mushiness! Marion broke my heart with her cheating. She CHEATED medals and still has times on all-time list. Personally, I find every convicted or self-confessed drug cheat should have ALL their medals, times ERASED from track memory.
                      Yes, I USED to love her NOT ANYMORE!!!!
                      Best she could do is go and speak to to schools about cheating in sports and her 6-month imprisonment.

Is this the same person you were talking about in that Billy Paul song?

Rhatid bwoy you ketch him

"We have a good thing going on, we both know it is wrong, but it is much too strong"

you think a him did a supply the stuff?

heh heh! Remember, Ben Johnson did get fi him tings from a St. Kitts man. Can't trust dem small island people!

Have your day in the sun Mr. M. Rain soon fall on yu parade. Breaking into song:
                              "Me and Mrs. Jo-ones, we've got a thing goin-on....."