• Two Jamaican hurdlers implicated in steroid ring

By Luis Fernando Llosa and L. Jon Wertheim, SI.com

Two members of the 2008 Jamaican Olympic track team received shipments of performance-enhancing drugs through an Internet distribution network, according to documents obtained by SI.

The documents state that between June 2006 and February 2007, two shipments of Somatropin (Human Growth Hormone, HGH) and one shipment of Triest (Estrogen) were sent to Delloreen London, at a Texas address that traces to the athlete Delloreen Ennis-London; the birth date on the document matches the athlete's as well, though the document lists the person's gender as male. Ennis-London, 33, is a Jamaican hurdler who won the silver medal in the 100-meter hurdles at the 2005 World Championships. In Beijing, she finished fifth in the event, but came within .01 of taking bronze. Though the information only pertains to receipt and not actual use of performance-enhancers, both drugs are banned for Olympic athletes.

The documents also indicate that in November 2006, a shipment of Testosterone, Testosterone Aqueous, and Oxandrolone (an oral steroid) were sent to Adrian Findlay, an alternate on the Jamaican Olympic team in the 400-meter hurdles. The drugs were sent to a North Carolina address that traces to Findlay; the birth date on the document matches the athlete's as well. Findlay, 25, was also a member of the Jamaican team that placed second in the 4x400 meter relays at the 2008 World Indoor Championships. Findlay attended St. Augustine's College in Raleigh, N.C.

Multiple attempts to reach Ennis-London through a variety of contacts, family members and organizations was unsuccessful. According to Ennis-London's husband, Lincoln London, his wife is racing in Switzerland and is unreachable until mid-September.

Reached Tuesday in North Carolina, Findlay forcefully denied the allegations. "I've been running stable all my life," he said. "Trust me I don't use steroids. I guarantee you it wasn't mine and I didn't order it. I have a theory how this was sent."

The prescriptions written in the name of Delloreen London were reportedly obtained through the Anti-Aging Group, a network of clinics that advertise HGH and testosterone treatments on its Web site. According to the document reviewed by SI.com, the prescribing physician was Victor Shabanah. On his Web site, Shabanah advertises himself as a "hormone therapist."

Reached through the Anti-Aging Group in Miami, Dr. Shabanah asserted, "Make an appointment if you want to see me," before abruptly ending the call.

Findlay's prescription was reportedly obtained through the South Beach Rejuvenation clinic, a Florida facility through which Major League baseball outfielder Jay Gibbons, who was suspended by Major League baseball last December for violating the league's drug policy, received banned performance-enhancing drugs. According to the document, the prescribing physician was Daniel J. Hauser of Hollywood, Fla. Hauser did not return calls seeking his comment left at a home number and through South Beach Rejuvenation.

This is not good....not good at all.

Seems like there is a witchchunt going on.

I am not in the business of declaring anyones innocence or guilt but this really has the makings of somebody being sent to find a story on Jamaican athletes and drugs.

As I said before Bolt and the others betta be careful who hangs around him. You don't have to be guilty for your name to be destroyed in this world of instant news.

Seems like there is a witchchunt going on.

I am not in the business of declaring anyones innocence or guilt but this really has the makings of somebody being sent to find a story on Jamaican athletes and drugs.

As I said before Bolt and the others betta be careful who hangs around him. You don't have to be guilty for your name to be destroyed in this world of instant news.
        It would have been naive to not have expected witch-hunts! The USA is hurting!

Drug cheats - from whatever country - should be banned for life! Of course they have to be proven guilty.

Mi sey that a few weeks ago as well. Nothing less than a lifetime ban, if they are proven to be guilty.

Who ships these kinds of drugs through the mail? I'm not a doctor but are these over the counter drugs? or does one require a prescription to receive them?

My spidey senses tingle when I read this. Hopefully my bias doesn't make me naive... but, can anyone answer these questions?

At the same time it only takes a SUGGESTION of wrong-doing to malign a person.

It is very suspicious and fishy.

Were the drugs received by the intended receiver? Who received them, who signed for them?

If they were received, were they ever sent back to the source?

Come on now Mo. Let's not be hypocrites for if this was an American we would be lambasting them on the board. It's obvious she got caught up in the baseball player investigation. I am leaving this one alone as it doesn't look good.

it doesn't look good yes....but you know, all the years apartheid was in south africa and the whites treated the blacks like crap.......suddenly they are the first ones turn around and ready to point fingers and bawl discrimination if someone calls them up on the history of that nasty regime...where ame i going?

yes it doesn't look good but i for one am in favour of showing some support. the ameicans protect their own and wi cuss them for it and they continue to protect their own....are ours children of a lesser god? we will always be at a disadvantge.

everyone loves a winner .....mi see it on this board day in day out.

i went to a reggae boyz match at the office one time (against CR i believe) and from the game start di yute beside mi a cuss the boyz...from the coach to the players to ..... well just about everyone and everything jamaican...and then in mid cussing sentence jamaica score....him jump up "GOAL to B_UMBOCLA_T!!!" and start to high five.....was that you BT?

my point is she may well have used it, i dunno but until i find out and even AFTER i find out irrespective of the outcome and if she is banned for life, mi not in favour of just dashing her away and ridiculing her, although that is the easy way.

sorry.

Oh, I'm not getting defensive over them one bit, but think how easy it would be to frame an athlete. We have not heard whether these athletes sent back these unwanted goods, so they do indeed have some questions to answer.

Good talk!

Mixed reactions to SI's report

Mixed reactions to SI's report linking J'can Olympians to steroid ring

Jamaican Delloreen Ennis-London reacts after winning the women's 100m hurdles race at the Athletissima athletics meeting in the Stade Olympique in Lausanne, Switzerland, yesterday. (Photo: AP)

A news report on SportsIllustrated.com linking Jamaican Olympians Delloreen Ennis-London and Adrian Findlay to performance-enhancing drugs has received mixed reactions by readers of the website.

The article, co-written by Luis Fernando Llosa and L Jon Wertheim, stated that SI obtained documents stating that between June 2006 and February 2007, two shipments of Somatropin (Human Growth Hormore, HGH) and one shipment of Triest (Estrogen) were sent to Delloreen London at a Texas address, while in November 2006 a shipment of Testosterone, Testosterone Aqueous, and Oxandrolone were sent to Adrian Findlay.

The article added that Findlay had denied the allegations, intimating that he had been set up, but Ennis-London was unreachable.

The Observer contacted Llosa at his base yesterday and he said he had spoken with Lincoln London, the athlete's coach and husband.

"He said that in June 2006 she had ordered the substances from a doctor on the Internet for vaginal haemorrhaging she was experiencing, but that when the package arrived she didn't open," Llosa said. He added that another package later arrived but the athlete's husband said they had not opened that one either.

Meanwhile, SI.com's readers were last night sceptical about the report.

"None of these people won medals... Keep digging SI," said one comment.

"Why is it that only America should win in anything. Why can't another country take home the Gold, Silver, and Bronze medals. America is not the only country with talented athletes. I do believe that had the American athletes won, this article would not have been written!" stated another.

Some readers were more ready to believe: "Bolt + Jamaica + HGH = Beijing Gold" one reader said, adding: "I said this looking @ Bolt's previous times. Tyson Gay was smoking him at the Worlds and then he shows up a year later in China knocking 1-2 seconds off his time? Hmmmm real hard to figure out. I never bought it, please.....".

Meanwhile, Llosa, who has a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from the University of Toronto in Canada, is an investigative reporter for Sports Illustrated and told the Observer that he had been involved in a two-year investigation of the use of steroids in sport, especially baseball and said former heavyweight boxing champion Evander Holyfield had also been part of his investigations.

"I can't say that Findlay was not set up by somebody, but I do know that a lot of other athletes have ordered HGH and performance-enhancing drugs through these networks," he said when the Observer queried why any athlete would order banned substances on the Internet, which would leave them vulnerable to exposure.

"The only reason I have the information is because I've been working for two years on the investigation about Internet doctors and pharmacies that sign prescriptions without seeing patient... these two are not the first," he added.

Meanwhile, efforts to contact Delloreen Ennis-London last evening were unsuccessful. The athlete won the women's 100m hurdles at the Super Grand Prix in Lausanne, Switzerland, and was due to head to Belgium for Friday's Golden League meeting in Bruxelles.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                              Some readers were more ready to believe: "Bolt + Jamaica + HGH = Beijing Gold" one reader said, adding: "I said this looking @ Bolt's previous times. Tyson Gay was smoking him at the Worlds and then he shows up a year later in China knocking 1-2 seconds off his time? Hmmmm real hard to figure out. I never bought it, please.....".
                              1-2 seconds? I guess anyone can just write anything he/she feels.

Yes, our athletes' rise has been meteoric. Mek dem gwaan look. At least they have stuck around for all the testing out there. Flo-Jo retired braps!