Well it says alot about Boys champs , than Moore.He was a phenom in prep school when i went to Ardenne prep he was the talk of the school , not sure if he attended when i was there but he was the Talk of Ardenne Prep.
Glen Mills
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Historian View PostI fully agree with you on what you posted above, Me.
Boys and Girls Champs, which is the focus of the junior track and field program and the place where coaches make their names, has been the biggest single factor influencing poor decision making by coaches!
I'm sure we've all noticed the relatively few junior stars whose success has translated to the senior levels! Certainly people like Veronica Campbell, Kerron Stewart, Sherone Simpson and Usain Bolt are among the small minority of teen stars who have become adult track stars!
Conversely, some of our greatest track and field success stories (Asafa Powell, Deon Hemmings, Roxbert Martin, etc.) were never child/teen stars on the Boys and Girls Champs circuit!
...then after getting involved as 'coach' at Mico College in the late 70s and having had stints as 'official' at a few track meets...and moving in the 'sports' world through to the '90s I found nothing had changed as most Champs 'stars' just gave up after high school as they looked to other areas for improvement in personal life.
If I am to guess today the situation in JA would be not too far different. Just think on it; where would the support come from as the athlete continued training? Where outside of those attending at the established athletic track clubs, would living expenses flow?
Aside:
Let's assume somewhere around *80 track athletes leave the secondary high schools each year with top tier talent...my feeling is the number would be higher...where would they turn to that they could continue to train and live in a comfortable manner?
*Top 8 persons in all events for boys and girls - 100M, 200M, 400M, 800M, 1500M...and some field events athletes and say some who ended up 'running out' in tough earlier rounds.
...and say after 4 years the numbers peaked at (4 x 80) 320 and then grew more slowly over the years...when we look right across the country. 320 athletes training full time in some MVP/High Performance Track Club type manner. (in Parish capitals and a few other areas???)
Surely there currently are no support structures that could absorb those numbers of athletes and or can currently make it worthwhile for those numbers of athletes to continue on after 'school'?
I would suggest that VC, Stewart, etc. are among the few who found the support structures and were determined to carry on. No sah, the avenues available to our horde of T&F talent is miniscule...and that means many have and many more shall 'slip away'."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Mi never mention Campion, I mention Glen Mills and Karl mention Camperdown.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
mi know...wha wrang wid "he went to campion AND was coached by glen mills"? eh?!! ah bet a jus' .... ooooo....wha....chay....i jus'chue mi guh good school enuh!!!
I dont rate Theon.
A top coach told me over the weekend that he could run much fatser, but he and his people wont listen!
1:51 for 800m is rucksish! Burgess and Kenroy Levy, etc used to run 1:47 years ago!
Kenyand have 18 year olds running 1:45!
Originally posted by Gamma View Postmi know...wha wrang wid "he went to campion AND was coached by glen mills"? eh?!! ah bet a jus' .... ooooo....wha....chay....i jus'chue mi guh good school enuh!!!
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...581#post125581
I'll say it again - Kevin Moore went to Camperdown? I cannot remember that! ...and as far as I know Glen was not coaching any runners outside of C'down during Kevin Moore's 'time'!
Glen was coach at C'down & his good friend Vinton Powell (Coach of Huie -400M runner - among others at StGC) was coach at StGC. We used to take 'elbow exercises' at a club near Regal Theatre - was the area called Union Square? - where a crescent from Half-Way-Tree Road had its bow (if you get what I mean. Anyone here remembers that place? - That was long, long ago!) - and I just cannot remember any talk of any Kevin Moore!Last edited by Karl; September 1, 2008, 09:33 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."