• Phelps v. Bolt

Michael Phelps vs. Usain Bolt

Posted Sunday, August 24, 2008 4:50 AM ET
    As the first week of the Olympics came to a close, Michael Phelps was picking up his eighth gold medal, posing for magazine covers and collecting sponsorship bonuses. He seemed certain at the time to be the story of the Games.
    Usain Bolt was just getting started. His wasn't a household name like Phelps', but with the obvious headline puns and his soon-to-be signature lightning bolt poses, it didn't take long for the U.S. viewing audience to take to him.
    Both were perfect in Beijing. Phelps went eight-for-eight, winning every event he entered and breaking Mark Spitz's record for the most gold medals in a single Olympics. Bolt went three-for-three, setting a new world record in every event: the 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay.
    So who's your pick for the best performance of the Games? Is it Phelps for the incredible number of medals? Is it Bolt for his enjoyable antics on the track? Or is the whole argument apples-and-oranges?

So who's your pick for the best performance of the Games? Is it Phelps for the incredible number of medals? Is it Bolt for his enjoyable antics on the track?
    So, I would like to know if Bolt's performances were not incredible? The writer seems to suggest that only his antics on the track were enjoyable.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

If not Bolt ... then who?

The writer is American?

Incredible the TV commercial that some of the US athletes are getting.

Phelps mother is even in on some of it.

She is in a Johnson&Johnsons commercial.

Hope Bolt lands one with AT&T or one of those billion$ company. I am sure something BIG is going to happen for him.

BTW: I hope he gets a 'twanging" coach.

Why is appearing in American commercials important? It AIN'T!

A better market would be Jamaica.......

Asia ... Europe?

Boltband

A major United Kingdom-based cable company has approached Bolt to be the face of its super fast broadband service.

Virgin Media, which is set to launch a new 50 megabyte broadband product it claims will be more than twice as fast as its rivals, is considering calling the product "Boltband".

Head of Virgin Media's marketing operation Ashley Stockwell said the company approached Bolt to become the face of its new high-speed web service.

A starve yuh waaan di man starve?

it took you some time, but i was always hopeful.

Thanks, Lazie! Why didn't at&t make an offer? Verizon? T-Mobile? HL, you have a bizniz in the USA. Why didn't you step forward with an offer? Bay chat!

I wonder what Digicel thinks about this offer?

genius: I said AT$T or other billion$ companies.......

I am sure UPS would be a part of that mix.

HL said:
                          Hope Bolt lands one with AT&T or one of those billion$ company.
                          I know what you said, fool! But hope can't buy yam! A Euro company has beaten at&t and your billion dollar companies to it. What do you have to say about that?

When phelps can pull crowds in london to watch him swim let me know.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Good!

So there is a signed contract.

yes?