Respect to Lance and Hubert!

• Respect to Lance and Hubert!

Lancelot Whittaker and Hubert Lawrence, the Caribbean Media Corporation’s (CMC) two live commentators for the track and field segment of the Beijing Olympics, deserve special commendation!

While major media houses such as NBC, BBC and Canada’s CBC all provided their live broadcasts from within the Bird’s Nest stadium, our CMC guys made their live broadcasts from a trailer outside the stadium!! So, while live commentators like NBC’s Tom Hammond and Ato Boldon, CBC’s Scott Russell and the BBC’s Michael Johnson all made their comments from state-of-the-art centers overlooking the track, our Caribbean guys had to depend on their small monitor and the video feed they received!

Listening to Hubert and Lance’s excellent commentary, one would never know the simple facilities from which they provided their live broadcast.

By the way, the blocking of NBC in Jamaica wasn’t a smart move, and I’m surprised nobody mentioned this before now. Regardless of the faults we find with NBC, in terms of quality of images (latest digital technology), comprehensiveness (NBC had 80 video cameras in Beijing), and commentary (Tom Hammond, Ato Boldon and Lewis Johnson brought a high level of excitement to their commentaries), this station (NBC) was, in my opinion, very good. Of course, this is not to lessen the value of CBC in any way, as CBC, without question, was very sensitive to Jamaicans, as can be seen from the numerous mini-documentaries these Canadians provided on Jamaican athletes, and the accurate comments they made.

My favourite CBC quote was when Scott Russell stated that, as of now, he would be changing his diet and eating nothing but Jamaican patties (LOL).

We still got some NBC coverage, but just enuff so that we didn't vomit.

CMC was simply brilliant! No commentator from any media house can stand in the same studio with Lance and Hubert.

We still got some NBC coverage, but just enuff so that we didn't vomit. CMC was simply brilliant! No commentator from any media house can stand in the same studio with Lance and Hubert.
      Thank you for explaining about the NBC coverage.

I share your high opinion of Lance and Hubert, which is why I started this thread with an emphasis on the simple facilities from which they worked. The big media houses had everything they needed (elaborate preview monitors and other fancy stuff) while Lance and Hubert provided excellent commentary and pre and post-event analysis from a simple trailer, with little in front of them aside from microphones, a lap-top computer, a television monitor, and stats sheets.

They both deserve the highest commendation for their accuracy and their overall professionalism! The entire Caribbean has to feel good about the balanced coverage of the athletes of the region.

Further, NBC cannot be forgiven for showing premier events like the 100m final, a Saturday morning event, in prime time, half a day later, and not live. Insane!

And don't worry, I think we still got the benefit of NCB's 80 cameras, but we didn't have to listen to yankee crap while viewing the games.

Oh, did you know the closing ceremony is taking place right now, as we speak, LIVE!?

No commentator from any media house can stand in the same studio with Lance and Hubert.
          an appropriate comment (opinion ) mosiah... however, the gentlemen from bbc, in my opinion were better... that said, i thoroughly enjoyed lance and hubert... they made track & field exciting and enjoyable...

hats off to lance and hubert...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
            an appropriate comment (opinion ) mosiah... however, the gentlemen from bbc, in my opinion were better... that said, i thoroughly enjoyed lance and hubert... they made track & field exciting and enjoyable...

hats off to lance and hubert...
            The Canadians (CBC) were very good also, and highly professional. They were more "Jamaica-friendly" than any of the other media houses, with the exception, of course, of CMC. References were made often to Jamaica's past, including repeated referecne to the fact that Canada benefitted from Jamaican-born athletes.

CBC provided a couple of short clips that they had put together featuring athletes like Veronica and Usain. My favourite of these CBC clips was one done on a solid reggae soundtrack with images of all our victorious athletes in action. Thankfully, i had the presence of mind to press "record" when that video clip, unexpectedly, started to play.

Speaking of the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC), I particularly liked Grace Jackson's morning analysis of the events, and I cried with her when our 4x100-meter girls messed up.

CMC a di Boss! Nuttin funnier than when the Buttu-ism kick inna one a dem after Powell crossed the finish line inna di 4x1. WUL RECAAAARD!!!

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                CMC a di Boss!
                Not their swimming events live commentator, though! That guy who was calling the live action in the pool is a clown and an embarrassment to CMC's high standards!! What did he think that was, a primary school swimming meet?

I turned my television volume way down everytime I heard him!

mostly agree with you historian. i'm especially impressed with lance and hubert especially given the limitations.

re:NBC bigger does not equal better. true they had state of the art etc. but their progamming decisions were questionable IMHO. I expect them to be 'mericacentric to a degree......but it reminded me very much of the propoganda machine associated with the former soviet union.

Why must you refer to our first language and the man's exhuberance as "BUTTU-ISM" though?

yuh si di subtle socialisation?!!! a dat mi a fight......daily!

Ummm, because him did a try suppress it and most people around the Caribbean cannot understand our Buttus. Remember, CMC coverage wasn't for JA only.