• The beautiful arrogance of Usain Bolt

By Scoop Jackson
    Page 2
    (Archive | Contact)

Updated: August 22, 2008, 1:25 PM ET

You hate him, don't you? But you're in love at the same time.
    Of all the stars at these Olympics, Usain Bolt has impressed you the most. Sure, Michael Phelps will come away as the owner of these Games, but it is the vainglorious one from Jamaica who should be ascending a godlike podium with the label "all-time Olympic champion."

[+] Enlarge

AP Photo/Thomas Kienzle
    Save this photograph and tape it to your wall.

But that will never happen because, even after not believing what he did, you still don't like him. There's no humility, no decorum, no sense of proper behavior on display when he runs and after he wins. His ego is to the third power. Makes Deion Sanders seem humble, doesn't he?
    Also makes Deion seem slow.
    He won by two-tenths of a second in the 100 meters -- when he slowed up to showboat -- and by nearly half a second in the 200, in races that are usually decided by hundredths of a second. The rumored and unofficially clocked but highly believable estimate is that he reached a speed of 33 miles per hour. The fact is his 6-foot-5 frame allows him to take three or four fewer strides than most runners in the 100 and up to nine fewer strides in the 200. The fact is he just turned 22. None of that helps you like him, does it?
    The way he stood on that podium twice, the 200 gold medal resting on his chest, the 100 medal already tucked away. The look on his face. How he knew. How he saw this moment before any of us did. How, without saying a single word, he let us know that he knew it was going to be like this and thus justified him looking so vain and believing this Olympics is all about him.

Complete Olympics coverage

Forde: A star is born

Cyphers: IOC should leave Bolt be

The Olympics blog

The way he takes victory laps around the track draped with that green, black and yellow flag in those gold Pumas while others stand around like vultures who missed out on the last bite of the lion's carcass, bent over, hands on knees, panting, breathing hard, trying to survive the short distance they just ran at speeds inconceivable to normal man. Usain Bolt stands above them and barely exhales. Heart rate probably still at 70 bpm, he's cool as the coils in a Sub-Zero, relaxed as if he just finished listening to Esperanza Spalding on his iPod, confident as the Chinese government.

He wipes sweat from his brow when there is no sweat to wipe. He points. He postures. He poses. He pounds his chest before the 100 finishes. He jumps back and kisses himself. The only thing left for him to do is turn around and finish a race backward, saying, "I want to see what the other runners look like looking at me." And that would really tick you off.
    He's so unnecessary, isn't he? And after watching Lolo Jones and Sanya Richards go down in tears, it makes you hate Usain even more. Make you wish something devastatingly dramatic like that would happen to him. Bring his too-fast ass back to reality. You overlook that what he's done is just take what Carl Lewis did in '84 and take it out of perspective because Carl never made it look this easy. You overlook that the Bolt phenomenon is nothing but Michael Johnson's arrogance and dominance with a personality.
    The way he won the 100 and 200 left nothing to be desired but everything to be admired. As hard as Bolt is to appreciate, the comment -- "I was in awe" -- from Tyson Gay, the person who was supposed to be his major competition in these Games, has to be honored.
    The 9.69. The 19.30. The fact that he set both world records with ease, the first man ever to break the world marks in both sprints at an Olympics -- something neither Lewis nor Jesse Owens achieved. The fact that he made Johnson (who apparently said publicly that he did not think Bolt would break his 12-year-old 19.32 record time in the 200) eat his words, then swallow them with pride. The fact that he's possibly taken one of America's most cherished sports away from us for the foreseeable future. The fact that he's done this with no mercy or respect for those who have run before him or alongside him bothers the hell out of you doesn't it?

But what bothers you most is that there's nothing that can be done about it. Not now. It's too late. He's arrived. Here to stay.
    There's an AP photo by Thomas Kienzle that actually captures Bolt moving in what looks like natural speed. It's lightning in a bottle. Check the photo at the top of this page. Print it. Put it on your wall until 2012. It may help reduce the hate. It may make you look back and say to yourself, "I really should have loved Usain Bolt when I had the chance." Because if you -- and the rest of the world -- keep hating on him, you're only going to make him stronger.
    Which means faster. Which is something none of you are going to be able to deal with, are you?
    Scoop Jackson is a columnist for ESPN.com.

• Tgrass819 (2 days ago)

Scoop, you hit it on the head my brother. I hate bolt, but my god what a wonderful athlete. Poetry in motion. A speeding bullet. Speed cannot be taught, and I am saying right now in Jamaica, there are hundreds of children lining up to be the next Usain Bolt. The United states dominance in track and field is over . The new King has arrived and he is taking no prisoners. Usain Bolt is a bad mother... hush your mouth!
      Pendergrassm22

AND the haters:
    (comments lower down)
    http://voices.washingtonpost.com/pla..._usain_bo.html

Yow Exile! Whappen Boss? It looks like Bolt have you beating pan in August.

It seems like some of these people confuse America with the world. Phelps may sell more in America. I say may because in my mind the target audience for Bolt and shoes, as well as speed related ads, is greater than that for Phelps. However, there can be no argument that Bolt will sell more across the planet.

My white American boss, a former WR hurdler from 1967, and a current part time high school track coach, comes into the office every day and does the Usain Bolt pose, shooting the bow and arrow and wiping the non-existent sweat from his brow. I, therefore, know Usain is going to sell in phenomenal ways here in America.

Don't beat pan. It just goes to show how BIG Bolt is. Everyone lining up to take pot shots..and of course they are being PAID to do this. IT's BIG MONEY!!!!! The Phelps group must be really worried!!!!

"And that Jamaican accent is always fun to hear."- Washington Post

Meanwhile, Jamaicans at home are complaining about his American twang.

heh heh I love this(mawga man time now, you know how long we a wait?)

You think a yessiday dem a laugh and talk but how mi foot dem look like a bird legs. Only the ladies dem did appreciate mi long foot dem but now mi can walk round pon the beach with pride and tell dem say mi used to run track(dem no have fi know say a primary school)

HOw you mean Bolt a your time my lord and you deserver it

How you mean Bolt you supposed to enjoy your moment in the sun

How you mean Bolt you EARNED IT the old fashioned way by working for it

So how some guy a carry belly? Dem better hurry up and find a planned parenthood and lef offa the man back

Right now mi kinda vex how we never complete the relay sweep in the 4*100 fi shut dem up

You know how long dem a call we chokers? A FI WI TIME NOW!!!

Every dog have its day

The events over the past few days have been phenomenal. It has moved
              many in different ways.

Jamaica's own 'Bumpy Head Gal' - Joan Andrea Hutchinson was so moved she
              wrote this poem:

Usain Bolt And Mi

Usain mi dawlin, mi just want yuh fi know dat sake a yuh, mi marriage
              almost mash up di odder day, because a piece of jealousy teck my
              husband.

Well wah never happen in a year happen in a day
              Mi kyaan believe mi eyes
              Ever since Usain Bolt win di Olympics 100 metres
              Fi mi husband start exercise

Yuh tink a lickle talk mi a talk to him
              Bout how him belly a get big
              Mi tired fi tell him how him a get waggaty
              An start to fayva pig

Mi spend mi money sign him up a gym
              Steam vegetable gi him every day
              Him suck him teet an say 'Man must have guts'
              And galang him merry way

But when Usain Bolt win di Olympic 100 metre gold
              An mi start fi scream
              'Usain Bolt mi love yuh, mi love yuh, mi love yuh
              Yuh fulfill mi wildest dream'

Mi run up an dung inna di living room like mi mad
              All liddung pon di floor
              Mi say 'Usain, a long time no man no excite mi so
              Mi ago love yuh more and more'

Right now mi have picture of Usain Bolt pon every wall
              And one beside mi bed
              One pon mi t-shirt, two inna mi purse
              And a Usain Bolt inna mi head

Usain Bolt full mi up wid so much pride
              Mi doan even waan fi eat
              And when mi talk bout how him body look good
              Mi husband say mi sound like mi a cheat

Him mout long up and say mi have young bway nature
              An a long time mi love mawga man
              When mi tell him say Usain Bolt just meck mi feel good
              Him say mi a behave like more dan fan

Him bex like bullfrog di odda morning
              How mi gi him di breakfast cold
              Sake a mi a watch di rerun a Usain a gi dem donkey length
              Fi win di 100 metre gold

Dem show di race again when mi a cook di Satiday soup
              Mi gi out 'What a mawga man can run'
              Mi dis hear 'it come een like say sake a dis mawga man
              Mi an mi Satiday soup a get bun'

Well Usain mi dawlin, dem say who bex lose
              So mi say later fi him
              But one ting mi know all of a sudden him start eat healty
              And find himself a gym

And between mi an yuh Usain, him proud a yuh big time
              But mi dear, nuh watch no face
              Yuh name write pon mi heart dat Satiday when yuh get di gold
              Inna di Olympics 100 metre race

Apologies if already posted.

Scoop Jackson always writes different but interesting articles. Have always enjoyed reading his columns even if I don't agree with his point of view.

Apologies if already posted.
                    Muh worry yuhself on this. Yours make it 3 times already. I am expecting more in the days to come.

btw - Nice poem, by Joan Andrea Hutchinson!
                    Wi large!