I am SOOOOO happy for Asafa! More than
Same here. It's his first major gold medal. The first time he'll be at the top of the podium at a major event. The first time he'll see tour flag and hear our anthem played in his honour.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Jangle View PostSame here. It's his first major gold medal. The first time he'll be at the top of the podium at a major event. The first time he'll see tour flag and hear our anthem played in his honour.
Don't get carried away?
He won a Commonwealth Games Gold medal for the 100M! When he received his medal our flag flew and our anthem was played!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl we free now!!! Yuh can sit at the front of the bus now!!!! The colonies have gotten their independence now. To hell with them!!! Black people a work inna banks now!!!! As me tell Mosiah de odder day, man stop walk round and light lamp pon post a night time. Jamaica have electricity now!!!Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Islandman View Postanyone else, tell you the truth.
Asafa deserves this day in the sun, as he, to a great extent, started it all (I hope that I am forgiven for ignoring the trail-blazing work of McKenley, Wint, Quarrie and others in this bold statement).
Originally posted by Historian View PostIslandman, I totally agree with you!! When it really sunk in this morning that we had won that most important of the important relay gold medals and smashed the world record in the process, the first thought that came to my mind was one of thankfulness that Asafa had at last gotten a well-deserved Olympic gold medal.
Asafa deserves this day in the sun, as he, to a great extent, started it all (I hope that I am forgiven for ignoring the trail-blazing work of McKenley, Wint, Quarrie and others in this bold statement).
Originally posted by Rudi View PostYou forgive the girls yet?
It's just that I know that those four ladies were fully capable of running way beyond the 41.73 seconds that we ran to win that gold medal in Athens in 2004! In fact, I honestly expected them to break that overly long East German relay world record!
Originally posted by Historian View PostRudi, it's not a matter of having to forgive. You have no idea how much I genuinely love Shelly-Ann, Sherone, Kerron and Veronica! Each time I see those ladies on my television screen, I thank God that I am a Jamaican, as they make me feel very, very proud!! Both as athletes and as women! If, like me, you record track and field events, check your videotapes/DVD and see who have been some of the most beautiful young women inside Beijing's Bird's Nest stadium during the past two weeks!!
It's just that I know that those four ladies were fully capable of running way beyond the 41.73 seconds that we ran to win that gold medal in Athens in 2004! In fact, I honestly expected them to break that overly long East German relay world record!
I would say that Asafa is the trailblazer for this golden era of Jamaican sprinting. Also he is the man who made Jamaican athletes believe that they could stay home and train and still become the best in the world. That is an enviable legacy right there even without the WRs and the medals.
But I would have to agree that to say he "started it all" is discrediting the greats of Olympics past.
But Historian has had a very emotional day, so cut him some slack!"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass