IOC chief: Bolt should show more respect

• IOC chief: Bolt should show more respect

Jamaica's sprint sensation Usain Bolt should show more respect to his beaten rivals says International Olympic Committee chief Jacques Rogge.
    Jamaican Usain Bolt is the first man to break the world marks in both sprints at an Olympic Games.

Bolt has electrified the Beijing Games by winning the 100 and 200 meters in world record times, but it is his showboating style that has irritated the IOC president.
    "I have no problem with him doing a show," Rogge told the Associated Press after Bolt's latest triumph in the 200 on Wednesday night.
    "But I think he should show more respect for his competitors and shake hands, give a tap on the shoulder to the other ones immediately after the finish and not make gestures like the one he made in the 100 meters."
    Rogge was referring to Bolt's antics in Saturday's 100 final, as he eased up in the final meters, glanced around with arms outstretched and pounded his chest before crossing the line in a world record of 9.69 seconds.
    "I understand the joy," Rogge said.
    Soundoff: Do you think Bolt should show more respect?
    "He might have interpreted that in another way, but the way it was perceived was 'catch me if you can.' You don't do that. But he'll learn. He's still a young man."
    Bolt, who celebrated his 22nd birthday on Thursday, completed his double with another runaway victory in the 200, breaking Michael Johnson's 12-year-old record of 19.32 seconds by two hundredths of a second.
    After his victory, he appeared to make no effort to acknowledge his fellow competitors and embarked on an extravagant victory lap in which he swayed to reggae music and lapped up the crowd's attention.
    "He still has to mature," Rogge added.
    "I would love him to show more respect for his competitors. That's not the way we perceive being a champion. But he will learn in time. He should shake hands with his competitors and not ignore them. He'll learn that sooner or later. But (he's) a great athlete, of course."
    Rogge did indeed heap praise on Bolt, who is the first man since Carl Lewis to complete the 100-200 double at an Olympics and the only man to break world records in both.

"Bolt is in another dimension in sprints," said the Belgian.
    "Bolt must be considered now the same way like Jesse Owens should have been in the 1930s. Bolt has a bigger edge than Owens on his rivals. Of course, Owens had the long jump too, so you can't compare people. If he maintains that in the future, Bolt will be someone that probably leaves a mark like Jesse Owens."
    U.S. sprinter Owens famously dominated the 1936 Berlin Olympics as he won golds in the 100-200, the sprint relay and the long jump.
    Rogge's remarks sparked an immediate debate but U.S. sprinter Shawn Crawford, who crossed the line fourth in the 200 but was upgraded to the silver medal after the disqualifications of Wallace Spearmon and Churandy Martina, said he saw nothing wrong in Bolt's showboating celebrations.
    "I guess there's mixed feelings among athletes," he told Associated Press
    "To me, I don't feel like he's being disrespectful. If this guy has worked his tail off, every day, on his knees throwing up like I was in practice, he deserves to dance."

Is dis ******** fi real? The youth was overjoyed with his victory .. suh whats the fuss?

My response to the article on ESPN's forum:

How about calling out the lack of sportsmanship showed by the USOC after the 100M Womens final or the 200M Mens final? Are frivalous appeals to deny medals to worthy opponents showing good sportsmanship? Jamaica will not by bullied by those trying to belittle our achievments. We waited a long time for the playing field to be levelled and now that it is we will celebrate our achievements any way we see fit.

The natives need to know their place.

He is a fool! That never happens!!! VC did not shake hands with anyone after she won. That rarely if ever happens. It's the loser who offers congrats to the winner.

Mek him move and gwey! Him shoulda glad dat Usain a rescue di damn T&F and Olympics itself!!!

They will come out in their numbers...we really must know our place...the 3 omen shoulda a do a dutty wine.

Didn't he, Spearmon and Martin take a victory lap together, take photo's together and Spearmon even carried bolt around the track for a bit? Why is it that because we are a "Third World" country they think they can treat us any old way?

It is typical of the winner to be congratulated by the other contestants, and Bolt did not refuse to shake hands which the article may imply. Last but not least, he is set for a financial windfall and such baseless criticism could subvert that.
                Of Course the pith of Rogge criticism is one should behave in a responsible way, go figure.

Blessed

The IOC chief should show more respect to the Man of the Beijing Games!

Wrenk and outtaordah!

Fi real!!!!

Didn't he, Spearmon and Martin take a victory lap together, take photo's together and Spearmon even carried bolt around the track for a bit? Why is it that because we are a "Third World" country they think they can treat us any old way?
                      You hit the nail on the head.
                      However the 100M is what all the fuss is about. All I can say is the other runners would ahve had to wait until he finished his victory lap. I think having won by such a great margin...and....still flying at speed...it is nonsense to expect him to turn around and await those still on the way in.

The arms spread was no big thing! The slapping himself in the chest before the tape is no big thing. The man was happy to be where he was! ...This was a first time...unique...once in a life time thing!

A lot of noise about - nothing!

BEIJING — Jacques Rogge is so bought, so compromised, the president of the IOC doesn’t have the courage to criticize China for telling a decade of lies to land itself these Olympic Games.

All the promises made to get these Games — on Tibet, Darfur, pollution, worker safety, freedom of expression, dissident rights — turned out to be phony, perhaps as phony as the Chinese gymnasts’ birth certificates Rogge was way too scared to investigate.

One of the most powerful men in sports turned the world away from his complicity. Instead, he has flexed his muscles by unloading on a powerless sprinter from a small island nation.

Rogge’s ripping of Usain Bolt’s supposed showboating in two of the most electrifying gold-medal performances of these Games has to be one of the most ill-timed and gutless acts in the modern history of the Olympics.

“That’s not the way we perceive being a champion,” Rogge said of the Jamaican sprinter. “I have no problem with him doing a show. I think he should show more respect for his competitors and shake hands, give a tap on the shoulder to the other ones immediately after the finish and not make gestures like the one he made in the 100 meters.”
                        ADVERTISEMENT

Oh, this is richer than those bribes and kickbacks the IOC got caught taking.

All the powerful nations — including the United States — have carte blanche at the Games. They can pout and preen, cheat, throw bean balls, file wild complaints, break promises that got them a host bid, whatever they want. They can take turns slapping Rogge and his cronies around like rag dolls as long as the dinner with a good wine list gets paid.

A single individual sprinter? That’s who Rogge deems it necessary to attack, to issue a worldwide condemnation?

“I understand the joy,” Rogge said. “He might have interpreted that in another way, but the way it was perceived was ‘catch me if you can.’ You don’t do that. But he’ll learn. He’s still a young man.”

Perceived by whom? Old fat cats making billions of Olympic dollars on the backs of athletes like Bolt for a century now? They get to define this? They get to lecture about learning?

Bolt is everything the Olympics are supposed to be about. He isn’t the product of some rich country, some elaborate training program that churns out gold medals by any means necessary.

He’s a breath of fresh air, a guy who came out of nowhere to enrapture the world with his athletic performance and colorful personality. This is no dead-eye product of some massive machine.

He was himself, and the world loved him for it.

On his own force of will, Bolt has become the break-out star of these Games. He saved the post-Michael Phelps Olympics. It wasn’t so much his world-record times, but the flair, the fun.

No one at the track had a problem with this guy; they understood he is everything the sport needs to recover from an era of extreme doping. The Lightning Bolt made people care about track again, something that seemed impossible two weeks ago.

“I don’t feel like he’s being disrespectful,” American Shawn Crawford told the Associated Press. “He deserves to dance.”

Apparently, Rogge would prefer 12-year-old gymnasts too frightened to crack a smile.

It got better when, in the same press conference, he pretended to forget all the lies China told him to get this bid, all the troubles, all the challenges, and praised the host nation. Yes, these have been an exceptionally well-run Games from a tactical standpoint, and the Chinese people have displayed otherworldly kindness.

None of which denies the promises broken, the innocent jailed, the freedoms denied — the kind of issues someone with Jacques Rogge’s standing should be talking about.

He has no spine for that. Not for China. Not for any big country. He had to criticize someone, he had to make headlines, he had to show he was a tough guy. So who better than someone from somewhere that can’t ever touch him back?

Yes, Usain Bolt is the problem of the Olympics. He’s the embarrassment. He’s the one who needs to learn.

Sure, Jacques, sure.

Za, a who write it?
                          Nice angle Iyah.

Blessed