London 1948 - where it all started

• London 1948 - where it all started

Dr. Cynthia Thompson has been again thrust into the spotlight following the recent win by Shelly-Ann Fraser in the 100m. She was our first finalist in the Olympic event and briefly held the Olympic record! Indeed, she set the pace for Usain, as well.

As the Olympics return to London in 2012, it would be quite a moment to witness her return to where it all began.

Kathleen Russell also made the long jump final.

Check this link for the 1948 results. Fanny Blankers-Koen was the star then. T&F fans the world over should be familiar with this athlete. She was perhaps another "freak of nature", and could have competed successfully in a wide range of sports, from the sprints to the throws.

I looked hard, but didn't see countries like T&T there. Indeed, Jamaica stands out from the rest of the countries present, and we have not looked back since!

http://www.sporting-heroes.net/athle...ics/1948_w.asp
    Last edited by Mosiah; August 20, 2008, 08:37 AM.

Dr. Cynthia Thompson has been again thrust into the spotlight following the recent win by Shelly-Ann Fraser in the 100m. She was our first finalist in the Olympic event and briefly held the Olympic record! Indeed, she set the pace for Usain, as well.

As the Olympics return to London in 2012, it would be quite a moment to witness her return to where it all began.

Kathleen Russell also made the long jump final.

Check this link for the 1948 results. Fanny Blankers-Koen was the star then. T&F fans the world over should be familiar with this athlete. She was perhaps another "freak of nature", and could have competed successfully in a wide range of sports, from the sprints to the throws.

I looked hard, but didn't see countries like T&T there. Indeed, Jamaica stands out from the rest of the countries present, and we have not looked back since!

http://www.sporting-heroes.net/athle...ics/1948_w.asp

Yuh nyah hee-sup pan di Trini dem?

Dr. Cynthia Thompson a sweet lady. Had her practise in the inner city.

Blankers may have been the star, but here husband was national coach.

Fanny was beaten repeatedly at home by another athlete and her husband spread propaganda on that athlete, claiming that she was a man and she was banned from going to the Olys. It was subsequently proven to be untrue after tests were done, but way too late for the Games.

Dutch colleague at work gave me that story. He was an avid cricketer that played against the Windies greats in a friendly match.

I am familiar with the story and have done some research. Pictures of the banned athlete are downright scary. I only remember the last name - Dillema.

I understand that at the time, the test "showed" she was a man, as her testosterone was too high, but today's science would have ruled her a woman.

Nothing can take away from Fanny's achievements. I believe Dillema started to challenge after 1948.