I think it is something he needs to do. All of a sudden these sites start turn up with Bolt T-Shirts, taking advantage of the man's name.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Right now Bolt, Asafa, VCB, Shelly-Ann Fraser and our other athletes need to hire a reputable sport management team/company to help increase their marketability. They should be thinking about endoresements major and minor to increase their residual income. These are the days when track & field athletes can earn big money without even winning a major medal. I heard on the news this morning that Phelps will be appearing on Kellogs cornflakes boxes. I hope our athletes approach this in a professional way and not let the money train pass them by. Bolt is poised to become a multi-millionaire. Let's hope he doesn't squander his money.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Let's not get carried away, people. Firstly, why do we believe they do not have "reputable sport management" people in their teams? Not because we don't see their faces on your Wheaties means that isn't the case.
Has Wheaties or Kelloggs ever placed a non-yank on their box? Just asking, maybe they have. How many times have they placed T&F athletes on their box? America comes alive for the Olympics every 4 years. Between that...? The media has propelled Phelps, a yank, into the spotlight over all other athletes, and if it wasn't him they would have found some other American.
Now that doesn't mean that Bolt's manager shouldn't try and get him out there, but I just can't see it happenning big right now. It never happened for Flo-Jo, Carl Lewis, Maurice Green, Justin Gatlin, did it? T&F is still a third-level sport in America.
I will agree that Bolt is a little different, and the name is awesome! But I will be very surprised, but not disappointed, if he becomes a household name in America.
Of course, in Jamaica, that's a lot different. The money might not be as great, but who really needs a billion dollars worth of endorsement a la Tiger? But we look up to our athletes here year-round and I'm sure for many of them, that's enuff. With the money they get from the few local sponsors, appearance fees around the world and sponsors like Puma and Nike, they and their families are not in need.
Let's not get carried away, people. Firstly, why do we believe they do not have "reputable sport management" people in their teams? Not because we don't see their faces on your Wheaties means that isn't the case.
Has Wheaties or Kelloggs ever placed a non-yank on their box? Just asking, maybe they have. How many times have they placed T&F athletes on their box? America comes alive for the Olympics every 4 years. Between that...? The media has propelled Phelps, a yank, into the spotlight over all other athletes, and if it wasn't him they would have found some other American.
Now that doesn't mean that Bolt's manager shouldn't try and get him out there, but I just can't see it happenning big right now. It never happened for Flo-Jo, Carl Lewis, Maurice Green, Justin Gatlin, did it? T&F is still a third-level sport in America.
I will agree that Bolt is a little different, and the name is awesome! But I will be very surprised, but not disappointed, if he becomes a household name in America.
Of course, in Jamaica, that's a lot different. The money might not be as great, but who really needs a billion dollars worth of endorsement a la Tiger? But we look up to our athletes here year-round and I'm sure for many of them, that's enuff. With the money they get from the few local sponsors, appearance fees around the world and sponsors like Puma and Nike, they and their families are not in need.
How much is enough? I just hope he can maximise his image and don't let Nike and a few other companies make all the money and give him a pitance.
Believe it or not Bolt right now is hot comodity. Not only will he be making money but selling Jamaica. We need that positive image out their for all the youths out there in Jamaica sake.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Agree with that. The size of the market and thier love for things Jamaican makes it a good place to focus on.
I hear what Assasin is saying and I think they should give the US a shot but it is HARD for a non-American particularly in a non-American sport.
A good example of this is Akeen the Dream. Even when he was the star of the NBA champions the endorsements he got were minimal compared to the US stars.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I am not bend on America, I am more thinking a worldwide strategy, to maximize.
Asia can be big, how many chinese is there again?
Africa is also another good ground.
My point is I hope they don't just sit and let it die in a few weeks. Capture the market and media while it is hot.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
yeah I think it would and especially Japan all he had to do is appear at two reggae festivals.
The point is though even though the US is a hard sell I think there is potential and shoudn't be written off. There is too much media and movie camera in this country looking for something to do.
Sorry NBC hog the olympics so.
Wouldnt be hard in niche markets with heavy West Indian population , New York , D.C & Florida , Toronto, London etc
I am sure Bolt etc is being being approcahed by marketing companies even if he has his own already set up, its a part of the bizniz.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.