Looks like our 100m wins are starting to get

• Looks like our 100m wins are starting to get

a lot of NBC press. Just saw it mentioned on the Today show. I expect a lot more as the 200m rounds start.

I hope we are ready for the post-Olympics attention, positive and negative. We are going to get a lot of it.

Tell Bolt fe careful who buy him a drink a Quad from now on! Don't trust no shadow after dark, some powerful people vex bad!

I heard a discussion on ESPN radio a few hours ago. The clown claimed that it was due to genetics, and was quoting research from a Jamaican & a Scottish professor. He was discounting the hard work & training of the athletes for their success, and was wondering why a "tiny island that had no resources" could be dominating the track.

There is a genetic study going on now with Edinburgh Univ and UWI...that is what this is about.

I was in contact with one of the PHD students involved about another matter.

There was an article in the Jamaican papers on the study about a month ago.

We had a heated debate on the forum after that as we always do when it comes to genetics and sports.

Yeah, mi did memba those conversations. I usually leave dem to Mr. Jawge for his insightful and thoughtful commentary.

I would argue till I die about (("tiny island that had no resources" )).Prep , Primary , Boys & girls Champs are all the resources you need.

A lot of our youths come straight out of High School and Buss at the olympics , I remember Ray stewart from C.Down came 3 rd in his 1st olympics against a juiced up USA ..Carl Lewis etc.

Merlene etc .Any american who has been to champs or penn relays must be laughing at there ignorance.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

We need to remind them that our champs is equivalent to the Super Bowl , WC and the Olympics itself , a lot of blood sweat and tears have been literrally shed at these games.

I am glad to have been a participant at Prep champs , bubbling last and to have witnessed Boys & Girls Champs.To bring a fraction of that vibe to Penn relays should tell the idiots something and to the Reebok Stadium in New York must have awaken somebody.

And it is run every year , I can just imagine it next year , Prep , Primary , B&G , Penns aaaah saaah heaven.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Wha dem fi study is if the Hurricane have nothing fi do wid it cause no African from the homeland nuh make the finals, all a the finalist them come from the gulf coast and the caribbean with the execption of the British and that if she nuh born somewhere else.

I wonder about this genetics theory though. If our sprinting abilities have its roots in genetics coming from East Africa, why is it that we do not see the current crop of East Africans dominating the track as we do? Moreover, take Brazil which has the largest set of people of African descent outside of Africa, why is it that they are not showing this tendency in sprints? Is it that their Africans did not come from the East?

I read the study, it left some questions unanswered for me.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I wonder about this genetics theory though. If our sprinting abilities have its roots in genetics coming from East Africa, why is it that we do not see the current crop of East Africans dominating the track as we do? Moreover, take Brazil which has the largest set of people of African descent outside of Africa, why is it that they are not showing this tendency in sprints? Is it that their Africans did not come from the East?

I read the study, it left some questions unanswered for me.
                    You do mean WEST Africa.

Anyway, look at who is starring for Britain and other countries in Europe and maybe Canada - Nigerians, Gambians, Ghanaians. Nigeria itself has had some good showings in the games.

I maintain tradition plays a great part in our success. If the youngster in the Ivory Coast dreams of being the next Drogba and not the next Asafa...

East Africa? Where you get that our roots are in East Africa?

Anyway, I think we exhaust this topic already, maybe another 6 months or so I will have the energy to tackle it again.

Lawd mek we talk Olympics nuh, lef this for a next time.

true.

not sure if i ever want to touch it again!

I meant West Africa. I am recalling what I read from an article.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

When was the last time that we saw a sprinter from West Africs (apart from Fredricks) really making an impact in the sprints at the world level?
                              Here are the countries I consider West Africa: Namabia, Angola, Congo, Gabon, Cameroon, Benin, Togo, Ivory Coast, Serria Leon, Guinea, Senegal, Mauratania, plus the western part of South Africa. If the theory were true, we would see much more sprinters coming out of these countries.