Asafa Powell has our top 100m male sprinter for the past 5 years. Even though he has failed on several occasions to produce a gold medal at a major meet, he put our flag and the country into the spotlight by breaking the record and holding it for almost 3 years. He WILL go down into the annals of track & fields history as the biggest choker on the big stage, but as Jamaicans, we still need to give our son our love and support. He has never embarrassed us with drugs and has always carried himself with dignity. He is still a young man with many more years left to try to redeem himself. So let us as Jamaicans open our arms and our hearts and embrace our son Asafa and let him know that even though we are disappointed, we still love him.
Everybody loves a winner
This topic is closed.
Everybody loves a winner
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015Tags: None
Agree with that.
As disapointed as we are, we need to try and avoid the "piling on" on Asafa when he is down.
He has made us proud many times in the past and will probably do so in the future too."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
He is safe, he has faith in God
Originally posted by Me View PostMi just hope Asafa don't do something extreme because him come across as one of those types.
The Powell versus Bolt competition is not done. The powers that be Financially speaking it is better for Bolt if Powell beat his record or beat Bolt in another race because it set up another big payday race. This Powell versus Bolt hype can be a gold mine.
It is a good thing that Bolt decided to play around and not run below his set goal of 9.69. Powell can do 9.69, what I expect Powell to do is to respond with the only thing he knows best, equal or break the 9.69 record.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
If not Asafa, then who? In my mind, Asafa is easily the second best sprinter out there, as long as an important medal is not on the line.
Maybe Bolt will have to start racing horses and greyhounds. I believe Jesse Owens, who was treated worse in his own country by his own president then Hitler could ever have treated him (check the facts!), had to race horses in order to eke out a living. He beat some a few times! In Bolt's case, it's not that he won't be making money, but there might not be anyone even remotely close to him to merit a big matchup.
Save Seabiscuit!