Bwoy Tyson Gay is a big,big man!

• Bwoy Tyson Gay is a big,big man!

When asked if he wasn't 100% after the injury he said "no excuses, just wasn't my day".

He refused to rain on anyones parade.

He joins my very short list of American T&F athletes I respect to the bone, Edwin Moses and Evelyn Ashford are two others.

He did later say the injury was to blame.

Well it obviously was. But to not say that when asked on the spot says a lot about the man.

A fit Gay would have almost certainly come second and run low 9.80s.

When asked if he wasn't 100% after the injury he said "no excuses, just wasn't my day".

He joins my very short list of American T&F athletes I respect to the bone, Edwin Moses and Evelyn Ashford are two others.
        true ... I applauded him when i heard it.

Almost certainly? He would have come second for sure, and he might have forced Bolt to go even faster!

Sorry that never happened. That would have forced the Trini to 3rd place.

The Trini did well though, got an opportunity and took it with both hands. The way him was jumping you would think is him win!

Big man, indeed!

He did well. My daughter tells me he's been to my house before with friends a # of times...I have to start to look closer at visitors....here in TT, you will think he got the gold....ah well.