I am worried about Powell in the 4 x 1 m

I am now worried about him too but for a different reason.
    Congrats to the World's greatest,Mr.Bolt.

Blessed

That would scare him

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
      Maybe we need fi start put one half naked woman a di finish line inna Asafa lane.
      Powel parents are both 'The Rev' and this is not one of pasron 'bad pickney'

I wonder if he sleeps well the night before a big race? Some people have that proble. I recalled Ornadi Lowe saying he had that problem!

The second leg is indeed the longest and for a while I saw a lot of teams put thier fastest runner on the second leg.

But it really depends on the resources you are working with and how much time you had to practice. For example, do you have a great curve runner like Quarrie, well maybe he should run the 3rd leg; do you have an explosive starter, then they should run the first leg; does your fastest runner need to rest the initial rounds after running the flat races, , then play safe and keep them on the anchor in the finals so they don't upset the flow too much . Also have the members of the team run together in a certain order often (Santa Monica club with Carl Lewis, Burrell, etc) , then keep them in that order where possible.
        You can shorten the 2nd leg.
        Have the runner on that leg take the baton at the very end of the "hand-off zone' and deliver it at the very beginning of his/her 'hand-off zone'! ... making the distance in which the baton is carried by that 2nd leg runner just about a 100M and a whisper!

Originally posted by Me View Post
          Carter will give a good start, Frater will surprise everyone on the second leg and once him hand it to Bolt the race done.
          The tall Bolt on the 3rd leg? ...running that turn? - Just asking!

Good point.

Takes some practice to have it down to that level of precision though.

He is usually first of the turn in his races.

You can shorten/lengthen any leg. Let Bolt run the longest of all the legs!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                  Just about everyone on the forum saying that Powell problem is that he can just cannot deal with the big races. If that is true then we cannot trust him to anchor the 4 x 100m. We have to view him as the worst of the four runners. My athletic coach friend told me sometime ago the the worst runner should run the 2nd leg. Looks like that where we need to put Mr stage freight Powell.
                  Men: 4 x 100M
                  Fret not yourself. He shall run a blinding leg.
                  btw - The team should remain the same as that which lost at the last World Champs. Bolt on the 2nd leg. Asafa finishing!
                  The stick gets around with good changes = WR

NB: Both Jamaica and Asafa needs Asafa on the final leg.
                  1. It will do nothing to hold back a execution of race at maximum potential.
                  2. An Asafa, healed...would be good for Jamaica then i.e. in that race...and for future Jamaica representation.
                  3. An Asafa healed...is good for Asafa.

You can shorten/lengthen any leg. Let Bolt run the longest of all the legs!
                    Agree - ...and 2nd leg for Bolt!

Better if Bolt runs the curve. He tends to carry the baton in his right hand, so it's best if the hand off is made to his right hand and not his left. That way he will not change it over, an act that could also cause mishandling of the baton. Also, he is still not a classic curve runner, but may be our best.

For those important reasons, Bolt runs the third leg!

Well, yes but the first and the last legs can only be shortened/lenghtened at one end, so they are not all equal.

200 curve should be run by bolt....

ok, i get yuh!

Nesta to Frater to Bolt to Asafa.

For all his good curve run in his 200M races...we are PLAYING WITH FIRE if we put Bolt on that 3rd leg.

1. The big man takes up a lot of space. On the 3rd leg struggling with the balancing (the lean and preventing a drifting if most effort is put into the running fastest...and not sharing same with effort into the balance/positioning) and blasting at full tilt.

Get my drift - How much of his effort to maximize speed are we willing to give up to ensure he remains on the side of the track he must be to effect a 'good change'?

2. Going down the 2nd leg straight our fastest man will ensure the baton goes through that what we should make longest leg, its fastest.

3. It is most safe for any athlete to just fire away on that leg...'sitting' in correct position to receive and then to deliver the baton. Is there anyone of us here who has not observed that Bolt was our lousiest 'baton changer' at our last major meet.

Fact: He took the baton in one hand - transfered it to the other...and incredibly on delivery passed it across his body to the out going runner.

Fact: He got going too late!

Fact: He had to slow MIGHTILY to effect his nonsense "CROSS BODY pass"!

4. If is to get the baton through the lanes/legs fastest - having transitions of the baton that are smoothest and each of our runners going at their fastest over the assigned distances...positioning our runners such that the very fastest aggregate times and thus 'end-time' can be achieved/fastest 4 x 100M relay time is realised...Why do stuff that increases probability of not achieving the aims?

My call for our best line-up - has Bolt on the 2nd leg. Sure it would look great seeing Bolt run down and pass runners on the final leg...but what about leading from the 2nd leg and never being headed?

Aside: Our two tallest runners - Bolt and Asafa get 'the straights'! ...that only makes sense!

Same thing happened last year and he ran the fastest realy leg ever recorded!

Asafa runs free in the relay and on the circuit....no time to overthink it and get anxious!

That said, Asafa or bolt on anchor and we nyam anything. I perefer Bolt to anchor for Logistics sake.

MVP man dem can gwaan practice now and let Bigga Anchor in the heats. In the Final, just drop in Bolt on the anchor...minimize the stick work for Bolt!!"!!