I am worried about Powell in the 4 x 1 m

Because of the zone passing, the 1 and last legs are potentially the longest. The 3rd is the shortest.

Bolt must ONLY start or anchor!

He can run curve, so the start is a good option, however, it is difficult to pass to short Frater (who cant run the Bend).

Bolt will have the least chance to practise, so he should only be slotted at the ends.

I say Asafa to Frater to nesta to Bolt.

Taking a chance on Asafa's groin, he can blast the turn and power thru the zone that will be set at 110-115m, Frater can then run 100m, Nesta 90m, and then Bolt anchors and nyam anything.

The fear of Tyson on leg 3 is now greatly reduced.

Now me confused! Me never hear that the first leg could be the longest before!

Explain this article on teh US relay team for me then.

John Smith is a former Olympian for the US

http://www.registerguard.com/csp/cms...42&sid=7&fid=2

The assumption is that Gay will be the anchor for the men, and Trials 100 women’s winner Muna Lee for the women, but Smith argues that in the short relay, the second and third legs might be the most important. Those are the two runners who both take a handoff and make one, and the second leg is considered the longest, going down the backstretch and leading into that third leg that is almost entirely around a curve.

“It’s always a crapshoot (choosing the order),” Smith said. “I’m perfect in hindsight, but I know you can make all the right decisions, drop the stick and it’s all set up for second-guessing.”

Bolt must not handle the stick twice!!!

Bolt loves to switch hands with the baton!

Tighten...last year he choked and redeemed the team

Got baton 5th or 6th and ran the fastest leg in history.

Asafa is a relay monster, een the yankee dem acknowledge that.

People go back go watch Osaka relay last year!

Asafa is physically ready. Choke in the flat event

Last year him do the same thing and run WR 2 weeks later.

See why you must not choke and mek people tek liberty with yu safa???

Unno figget who Asafa is...Choker yes, but the 2nd fastest sprinter of all time, statistically one of the greatest and owner or the fastest relay leg in history...beat all Carl Lewis!

Bolt must ONLY start or anchor!

He can run curve, so the start is a good option, however, it is difficult to pass to short Frater (who cant run the Bend).

Bolt will have the least chance to practise, so he should only be slotted at the ends.

I say Asafa to Frater to nesta to Bolt.

Taking a chance on Asafa's groin, he can blast the turn and power thru the zone that will be set at 110-115m, Frater can then run 100m, Nesta 90m, and then Bolt anchors and nyam anything.

The fear of Tyson on leg 3 is now greatly reduced.
                Well having him start lowest risk of poor change...and having him mess up handling the baton. So I can see where you are going with that....and all things considered...all the runners being capable of running under 10.00 seconds...I could not complain.

...having Bolt on the last leg...taking it home suggests if he messes up the baton change he could recover and run down anyone...and that only having to receive the baton and not having the additional task of 'passing off' lowers risk of foul-up. So that is also good choice...again could not complain.

...but if the aim is a dual one - GOLD and FASTEST possible with control of risks...then I'll go with Bolt on the 2nd leg and Asafa on the last leg!
                Can we think of 37.00 seconds or thereabouts? That would be be GOLD and WORLD RECORD!...and what a RECORD that would be?
                Last edited by Karl; August 18, 2008, 12:10 PM.

Too late now. not much practisce time. we haffi rely on the MVP practice from their club training an slot in Bolt.

The aim is gold now...not enuff practice to be aiming for WR. If it comes, it comes, but ah gold wi want!

bolt handing over to asafa....my preferred chronology

Too much variability there.

In a perfect world yes, but not enuff practice.

Anyway, that is what Mills seh the order will be.

Karl, unbelievable that you make such a big deal about the "nonsense CROSS BODY pass" yet want him to run the 2nd leg! That's what you will get if he runs the 2nd leg!!!

Why is it that the two fastest runners should run the straight? Lots of athletes run straights, but running a curve is only done well by specialists, so it stands to reason that if you have a great curve runner...

"Why do stuff that increases probability of not achieving the aims?" - EXACTLY! The aim is to get the baton around the quickest and the safest. Passing it across your body and across the body of the receiver makes no sense!

Too late now. not much practisce time. we haffi rely on the MVP practice from their club training an slot in Bolt.

The aim is gold now...not enuff practice to be aiming for WR. If it comes, it comes, but ah gold wi want!

OK!

That would make more sense, but passing across the body by giving him the 2nd leg or passing to a short Frater is asking for trouble!

Giving him the 2nd leg is suicide!

why not any more practice than with anyone else?

plus bolt will be able to deal with any unforeseen lagging....

Exactly! He prefers it in his right hand, so give it to him in his right and let him hand it off from his right. Only the 1st and 3rd legs allow for that.