I am worried about Powell in the 4 x 1 m

• I am worried about Powell in the 4 x 1 m

Just about everyone on the forum saying that Powell problem is that he can just cannot deal with the big races. If that is true then we cannot trust him to anchor the 4 x 100m. We have to view him as the worst of the four runners. My athletic coach friend told me sometime ago the the worst runner should run the 2nd leg. Looks like that where we need to put Mr stage freight Powell.

crap

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Once the pressure is off of him alone as it would be in the 4x100 he will outrun anybody.

Having said that, I've heard the opposite said about the second leg...the best runner should run it as the baton is in that runner's hands the longest.

The second leg is indeed the longest and for a while I saw a lot of teams put thier fastest runner on the second leg.

But it really depends on the resources you are working with and how much time you had to practice. For example, do you have a great curve runner like Quarrie, well maybe he should run the 3rd leg; do you have an explosive starter, then they should run the first leg; does your fastest runner need to rest the initial rounds after running the flat races, , then play safe and keep them on the anchor in the finals so they don't upset the flow too much . Also have the members of the team run together in a certain order often (Santa Monica club with Carl Lewis, Burrell, etc) , then keep them in that order where possible.

So what would be your order?

I would probably have Bolt leg 3 and Asafa anchor. 1 and 2 up for grabs.

I feel like I would want Bolt to anchor, mainly because he will be rested for the prelim rounds and will be easiest to slot in at the end and also because I feel he can and will run down anything in front of him in case we have a bad pass.

On Willis T&F site though they are saying he reports from the camp are that it will be XXX-Frater-Bolt-Powell. I am sure they would have good reasons for doing it that way so I won't second-guess.

Nesta to Frater to Bolt to Asafa.

= Gold

go to the front of the class!

bolt should run the 200 curve...i.e. the third leg and powell should anchor...i am comfortable with frater on leg 2

Carter will give a good start, Frater will surprise everyone on the second leg and once him hand it to Bolt the race done.

True. Asafa can tighten all him want!

Imagine we deh yah a worry bout Asafa after Willi give the forum a pre Olympic guarantee seh Asafa ready and racing to instruction.

Man ... Asafa friad a the finishing tape. Mek him run an earlier leg, therefore if him panic, Bolt will simply run down who fi get run down.

Maybe we need fi start put one half naked woman a di finish line inna Asafa lane.