Stupendous achievement!!!

• Stupendous achievement!!!

We have just witnessed an achievement we will not see again in our life time, a man running in less than his 10th competitive 100 meter at the top level of the sport wins the Olympic medal in the biggest Olympic games ever held, breaking the world record, shutting down at 80, thumping his chest, destroying all comers by a overwhelming margin for a sprint is absolutely astounding, I would have to say the most extraordinary athletic performance I have seen in my lifetime and I have been watching since mid 70''.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    We have just witnessed an achievement we will not see again in our life time, a man running in less than his 10th competitive 100 meter at the top level of the sport wins the Olympic medal in the biggest Olympic games ever held, breaking the world record, shutting down at 80, thumping his chest, destroying all comers by a overwhelming margin for a sprint is absolutely astounding, I would have to say the most extraordinary athletic performance I have seen in my lifetime and I have been watching since mid 70''.
    Was most electrifying for me...
    ...Ben's next!

Don't forget the one Michael Phelps.

I will never forget BJ's run, even with the riods and all, , especially because a certain Carl lewis was in the race, just to see his blank/shocked face after was all the satisfaction I needed. At the time that was the greatest, but the roids and the fact that he ran wire to wire shows how great this run really is.

Heh heh. Believe me we who have to endure NBC won't, cant!

I will never forget BJ's run, even with the riods and all, , especially because a certain Carl lewis was in the race, just to see his blank/shocked face after was all the satisfaction I needed. At the time that was the greatest, but the roids and the fact that he ran wire to wire shows how great this run really is.
            Agreed!
            ...but I was thinking only of the adrenaline rush I got from both!

Michael who??

Cannot downplay his achievement too much but, a few key points, the swimming talent pool is very limited it only touches middle to upper middle in most countries and rarely below that, the fact that one person can win so many Gold's has always minimized swinmming as a sport for me there is insufficient specialization across the sport enabling one person to dominate too many events, there is no way one man could win five golds in T&F in one Olympics especially now it is not possible, Owens and lewis won four golds that is probably the best you will ever see in T&F, the specialization of the athletes, the clear separation between the events, the wide swath of humanity that T&F touches ensures this. Swinmming truly is a secondary sport in my mind to the true roots of the Olympics in Greece in 500 BC, it is about T&F.

No yuh right the adrenalin rush from BJ was ridiculous, the only thing that was greater for me was running from the Harmon Barracks man dem coming to crush the UWI protesters at Heroes Circle back in the day, yeah I was faster than Bolt that day!!

Try convincing NBC!

Yeah there you go, propoganda to justify coverage.

the most extraordinary athletic performance I have seen in my lifetime and I have been watching since mid 70''.

king son, mi still a shake mi head... mi wuz stunned in disbelief at what mi wuz witnessing...

yes, the most extraordinary athletic performance I have seen in my lifetime

It's right up there with Flo-Jo's runs.

what?!?

Hold on there now, you can't do that, FloJo was an ordinary second place performer to Merlene for years then all of a sudden bam she was as fast as a Trini man (just joking).

Bolt has shown this level of competitive superiority from the get go so hold off on that we have nothing to suggest anything in that direction.

great observation... however, this is even more stupendous (stonigut)... this is scary... the manner in which it was executed, you've got to admit is stunning...

Yeah no doubt, but if is one time I will have faith in a man it have to be now. To me this is truly the culmination of what I have always expected, yes a little grand, but for all the Everod Samuels out there 20.6 at 18 YO back in the 70's that never get a true chance to fulfill them destiny this is the harvest we have been waiting for, if is not suh then I will be crushed and very surprised.