MVP Problem with Powell

• MVP Problem with Powell

Francis said publicly Powell can run faster and can do 9.69 but he was having a hard time getting Powell to train two days in a row. Now I can see why Powel did not have what is takes to run consecutive days on the big stage.

Looking back at this race it was clear that that Bolt was unbeatable but Powell could have done 9.69. If he did 9.69 then Bolt would have still beaten him by doing about 9.59.

I think Powell can do 9.69 but not if it's for an important medal.

Composure...mental...psychological problems?
      Yup!

I think you're right! When the pressure is off he is very good!
      If he recovers...mentally, look for a dymanite relay leg! ...good changes and JA put down a WR time!

Didn't he run 2 9.70s back to back once in some meet nobody saw?

His big race performances have absolutely NOTHING to do with his physical preparation. 100% mental.

Yep, Asafa beat the Trini guy easy in the semis so I thought we definitely have 1st and 2nd. Asafa mussi tired or jet lag or 2 much blood come outta him system.
          Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
          Mitty

If he had jogged this race as he did in the semis, his time would have given him a bronze medal.

mosiah, i am with you on this... asafa has convinced me... he is not a rounds runner... he has proven that... either that or he needs a new coach...

disagree! it has nothing to do with rounds. the man ran two 9.7s an hour apart some time ago. it has to do with big occasions. he can't handle it. if the Olys was a one-off race, no heats, i still think he would fail, once an important medal is waiting at the finish line.

Thats what people seem to be missing.

We really underestimating the mental thing in a race so short that it allows no room for mistakes (unless you are the Bolt from another planet)

All di money MVP mekking dem need to send him to that place TIGER use to go as a yute:

When Tiger was 13, Earl asked him if he'd like to work with Dr. Jay Brunza, a psychologist friend of a friend. Tiger was eager.
                    Brunza coached him on techniques for relaxation, visualization and focusing, "with hypnotic elements." Brunza shies from talking about hypnotism for fear it suggests county-fair quackery, but in effect he taught Tiger to self-induce entry into what athletes call "the zone," where they transcend mechanics to attain peak performance under pressure, as the dogma goes.
                    "It's all mental discipline," Brunza says, "and Tiger worked hard to master it at an early age and absorb it into his technical excellence. The unique thing about him to me has always been his great gift of creativity. People are seeing it in his short game."

i am with you on the mental aspect as well... he cracks under pressure... still 2 9.7 within a hour doesn't exactly qualify as rounds either... but we will not argue on that... the larger part is he is not mentally prepared to perform when the pressure to win is paramount...

So true Bricky. Powell needs a pschyatrist more than anything else. My wife also said that he needs to wear a jock strap because something weighing him down.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It's all mental dummies. Di man ran 9.90 easily in the semi. I could tell him woulda panic in the race. Just look at the pre-race footage. Man all have him shirt ova him face. And a collect air inna him cheek.

Agree and his game plan FAILED!!!

Didn't he run 2 9.70s back to back once in some meet nobody saw?

His big race performances have absolutely NOTHING to do with his physical preparation. 100% mental.
                            He wanted a blistering start to have the lead and that never happened, he then gave up (awfull to have to write that) when you see someone 10 meters ahead of you at the 60 meter mark. At that point he was just about 2ndish with the Trini, then mentallymelted (not spaced on purpose).

He did not learn from his mistakes and that is saddening and damning, anyWHOOOO I AM ECSTATIC FOR BOLT!!!! he made us proud and CARICOM did well, the reverse of 76 Hasley, Quarrie.

The GREATEST RACE and event at the Olympics to shater a record and toying with himself and the other runners. That was extremely BOLD for BOLT to do that, how does one know someone isnt closing in on the far side.

Youthful EXUBERANCE
                            http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif