• Asafa Powell claims he has been weakened by drug tests

Asafa Powell claims he has been weakened by drug tests

Asafa Powell

Ashling O’Connor in Beijing

Asafa Powell has been more adamant than anyone about the need to drive doping from sprinting to restore public confidence in the Olympics blue riband event.

But the Jamaican runner has indicated that even he thinks the drugs testers are going too far in Beijing in their quest to produce an unequivocally clean men’s 100 metre champion.

More tests will be carried out at the Games than any previously and 1,500 of the 4,500 blood and urine samples have already been taken. To listen to Powell, it seems the needles have been pointed disproportionately at the stars of track and field.

“I accept how important it is but they’re really down on my case. I got pretty upset two days ago because since I have been here, they have tested me four times,” he said. “They’ve taken so much blood from us we’re going to be very weak before the final.” The 25-year-old is one member of a speedy triumvirate the world is waiting to watch run as fast as they can to the title of Olympic 100 metre champion on Saturday in the Bird’s Nest Stadium.

Britain's medal hopes soar and dive

Rebecca Adlington wins swimming gold but Tom Daley, the 14-year-old, falls out with his diving partnerMultimedia
    Related LinksIt is the most mouth-watering contest in years with Powell, Usain Bolt, his compatriot and new world record holder, and Tyson Gay, the world champion, all capable of crossing the line first.

Olympic chiefs desperately need it to be a fair race to help shake the doubts that have plagued the event since Ben Johnson was exposed as a cheat in Seoul 20 years ago. Powell makes it clear at every opportunity that he has no time for cheaters, who he has described in the past as robbers and criminals. Cheetahs, on the other hand, are a different matter altogether.

The laid-back Jamaican, who off the track gives little indication he ever does anything in haste, rather likes being compared with the world’s fastest animal. So much so that he has had the big cat’s spots incorporated into the design of his custom-made spikes.

If Powell, who has a tendency to underperform on the bigger stages despite breaking the world record five times, wins gold this weekend he will have the world at his feet. Until then, he will have to settle with having his world on his feet.

In between the “flywire cabling” that Nike’s footwear designer Sean McDowell claims gives the sprinter a second skin moulded to his size 10 ½ (left) and 11 (right) feet, Powell has given his shoes a sense of what is important to the man.

Two of the spots are dedicated to his two deceased brothers: Michael, who was shot in a taxi in New York and Vaughn, who died after he collapsed on a football field. If he wins, he will also be dedicating his medal to them.

Elsewhere on the glass reinforced nylon, decked out in the Jamaican national colours with a gold sole, he has incorporated a Ferrari - on the basis he generally likes things that go fast - a guitar - he plays bass - and Bob Marley - because he just had to have him on there.

He is hoping the cheetah analogy propels him to another world record but the gold medal is the main focus. “There are a number of things I want to accomplish and that includes getting back the title of fastest man in the world. But that’s the easy bit,” he said. “I have always had the goods to deliver but have had some problems delivering. It’s the one with the level head who will win the race. Anything is possible. You could run 10 flat and cross the finish line first. It doesn’t necessarily have to be a world record.”
    Last edited by Tilla; August 12, 2008, 08:25 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Wow that sounds like a lot of testing over a short period.

Hope them don't overdo it and mess up the performances.

Wow that sounds like a lot of testing over a short period.

Hope them don't overdo it and mess up the performances.
      It is definitely a lot of testing, but if I'm not mistaken, Asafa can simply refuse further blood tests until after the finals. I'm pretty certain that the blood tests that people like Asafa and Tyson Gay and Michael Phelps are doing is a voluntary one, and at the moment (he's already done several tests in just a few days), he can opt for urine samples instead until after the finals.

Also, if it seems likely to affect his performance, the coaches surely can have a say in this.

But it's definitely a lot of testing!

refuse it? how would that sould if leaked to the media?

Thinking about it now, I agree with you that refusing would be a very bad idea. In fact, we can just imagine the field day the media would have with Asafa!

Asafa should shut up and try to run faster than the rest of the field when the heats begin. He is sowing the seeds for an excuse if he loses in the final. He should only complain if he is being tested disproportionately...nobody nuh get tested more than Phelps and it nevah weaken him; he broke records every time him dive inna de pool. Phelps eat ongle biscuit and creme crackers, while Asafa eat Yam, Banana, and dumplin'. Who unnuh tink testing should weaken.

A mussi di injection im fraida
            Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
            Mitty

"A mussi di injection im fraida"

Well me fe one fraid a injections like puss.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

excuse start ahready....

Bolt gone clear...

How much blood do they need to run a test?

I just had some tests done recently and they took one test tube full..in my estimation just over an ounce and they were doing about 6 different tests... I tested positive for high cholesterol

Asafa was probably not too serious when he made that statement! However, he is now a celebrity of the highest order.... well, he's been for several years now..... and so he should probably be a bit more careful.

I'm not passing blame or saying that the above is what happened. I'm merely speculating here.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                      Asafa was probably not too serious when he made that statement! However, he is now a celebrity of the highest order.... well, he's been for several years now..... and so he should probably be a bit more careful.

I'm not passing blame or saying that the above is what happened. I'm merely speculating here.
                      DGlor saw the interview. Asafa chuckled when he made the statement. It was tongue in cheek...a dig at the annoying testing regime.

They could have taken all the samples at one time. Violation of athlete rights. Dem act like JAAA. LoL

DGlor saw the interview. Asafa chuckled when he made the statement. It was tongue in cheek...a dig at the annoying testing regime.

They could have taken all the samples at one time. Violation of athlete rights. Dem act like JAAA. LoL
                        I don't think they could have taken all the samples at the same time with this new form of testing they are doing. Its called longitudinal testing and is based on a series of tests over a short time period.

Then why did TG only get 1 test?

Also, the samples were taken by 3 different agencies, iaaf, wada and ioc!

Don't know the answer to why Gay only got 1 so far and Powell got 4 . Maybe they had enough of a baseline for Gay and the others already ( I don't know just speculating) , but some of the US athletes in the program were tested multiple times over a short period at the USA trials for the same reason. Thats probably why the IAAF are suprised that Powell didn't understand how often he would be tested. Still 4 seems like a lot over a few days, the IAAF official in the USAToday article even said he was probably exaggerating.

Here is an article where the decathlete Clay says he had 5 tests in 2 weeks and more scheduled soon after.

http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5...4iA11tnljKReVA