Who is your favorite to win the men's 100m Gold medal?

• Who is your favorite to win the men's 100m Gold medal?

Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
    Asafa Powell (Jamaica)
    Tyson Gay (USA)
    Derrick Atkins (Bahamas)
    Darrel Brown (Trinidad and Tobago)
    Walter Dix (USA)
    Jaysuma Saidy Ndure (Norway)
    Richard Thompson (Trinidad and Tobago)
    Asafa Powell (Jamaica)
    60.00%
    Tyson Gay (USA)
    0.00%
    Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
    40.00%
    Derrick Atkins (Bahamas)
    0.00%
    0.00%
    Walter Dix (USA)
    0.00%
    0.00%
    0.00%

The poll is expired.

"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Men's 100-meter Gold Medal

Tilla: I'm not trying to hijack your topic, boss, but below you'll find why I am not overly anxious to make predictions on the 100-meter race coming up next week! I certainly feel more comfortable making predictions in the 200-meter and 400-meter, as early mistakes can be corrected in those longer races.

However, I will cast my vote now. In the meantime, I am not going to rule out any of the following nine guys:

2008 Best Performances!

9.72 - Usain Bolt (JAM)
    9.77 - Tyson Gay (USA)
    9.82 - Asafa Powell (JAM)
    9.89 - Darvis Patton (USA)
    9.93 - Richard Thompson (TRI)
    9.96 – Walter Dix (USA)
    9.97 - Marc Burns (TRI)
    10.00 - Churandy Martina (AHO)
    10.01 - Jaysumi Saidy Ndure (NOR)

The following are also serious contenders:
    10.00 - Michael Frater (JAM)
    10.02 – Darrel Brown (TRI)
    10.02 - Derrick Atkins (BAH)
    10.04 – Francis Obikwelu

I think the finish will look like this:

1) Bolt
      2) Powell
      3) Gay
      4) Burns
      5) Atkins
      6) Frater
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Farmah, a Caribbean Sweep?!

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
        I think the finish will look like this:

1) Bolt
        2) Powell
        3) Gay
        4) Burns
        5) Atkins
        6) Frater
        (Instead of starting a new thread, I should simply have made my 100-meter post here. Anyway, there's nothing I can do about that now.)

Now, Farmah, I see that you are an idealist!

Trust me, the top six finishers will not be as idealistic as you present it above! Do you realize that what you have done is given the Caribbean the top five finishes (with Gay being the only interruption)?! Despite the Caribbean's strength in 2008, I just don't see this happening (although, like you, I'm merely stating an opinion here)!

I'm not prepared to rule out the Norwegian Jaysumi Saidy Ndure, and what about the American Walter Dix? Also, I suspect that the Netherlands Antilles' Churandy Martina and the Trini Richard Thompson are probably being overlooked somewhat? In fact, Richard Thompson appears to be more consistent than Marc Burns (I'm open to correction here).

Francis Obikwelu, although he's coming to the end of his career, is a fully experienced guy at this level of competition, including the running of the rounds. Frater is my boy, but I don't see him reaching the finals over Darvis Patton, Richard Thompson, or Jaysumi Saidy Ndure!

This is not an easy call to make, so I'll just sit still in my extreme nervousness and watch events next week! But, if I had a wish, Farmah, it would be that you are correct in your predictions!!!

U figet Nesta Carter bredrin.

him come from portmore too?

lol, good one.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                U figet Nesta Carter bredrin.
                Not really, Lionpaw. In my list, I was just focusing on the guys who would represent Jamaica (and the other countries, such as Trinidad) in the 100-meter race. As you know, Nesta did not run in the finals of the 100-meter race at the Jamaica Olympic qualifiers, and so for my list I was just concentrating on the top three finishers (Powell, Bolt and Frater).

My opinion, by the way, is that Nesta Carter should be the one to run the curve on our 4x100-meter relay team.

Lightning.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                    Not really, Lionpaw. In my list, I was just focusing on the guys who would represent Jamaica (and the other countries, such as Trinidad) in the 100-meter race. As you know, Nesta did not run in the finals of the 100-meter race at the Jamaica Olympic qualifiers, and so for my list I was just concentrating on the top three finishers (Powell, Bolt and Frater).

My opinion, by the way, is that Nesta Carter should be the one to run the curve on our 4x100-meter relay team.
                    Lol, my bad. mi figet him neva run. but is a shame really cause him faster dan shorty poop-stick.

In 1976 the Caribbean swept from the 100 thru to the 800m. Don't make light of our possibilities!

Thanks, Tilla!

Thanks for placing my post here, where I should have placed it in the first place (LOL). It was only after I submitted the post yesterday that I realized that it would have been better placed here, where it logically belongs, rather than used to start a completely new thread.

Thanks once again.

I concur.

Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
                            Asafa Powell (Jamaica)
                            Tyson Gay (USA)
                            Derrick Atkins (Bahamas)
                            Walter Dix (USA)
                            If you factor in the wind then Powell is still the world fastest man. Now with Powell and Bolt in the same race they will have the same wind and Powell will win unless he gets a bad start.

I am going to switch my vote to Powell for the 100m with Bolt 2nd.

We have to watch the Trinis in the race too. Who can remember Hasely Crawford who won the 100M at the Montreal Olympics. It was a complete surprise as no one gave him a chance. The same could happen that while we are watching the favorites, they run a hell of a race to win the damn thing.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran