• Jamaica in Table Tennis World Class

Desmond Douglas

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search
    Desmond Douglas MBE (born Jamaica, 1955) is a British table tennis player. He was an attacking, left handed, player notable for his scissor jump smash. He was famous for his use of pips-out block on the backhand side, mixing pace with powerful topspin from his forehand side.
    Douglas was 14 times English Table Tennis champion who peaked at equal World No.7 and European No.3.
    He is still actively involved in table tennis, coaching throughout the country including training some of the top young British prospects at the Youth Development Squad . He also works at Sutton Coldfield College coaching some of the West Midlands brightest table tennis prospects.
    He lives in Walsall , West Midlands .
    Desmond Douglas

The most successful post-war British table tennis champion
    Douglas lifted the title 11 times during the seventies and eighties, and in a sport dominated by the Chinese, once ranked as high as seventh in the world. Now in his mid forties, Douglas still ranked eighth in England in 2001.

Video ..link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8__p0lxezs

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Bringing back nuff memories brethrin, i used to go to the tournaments at the arena back in the day and saw DD I believe they used to call him "Blackflash" in his prime a wicked attacking player, I also remember a great defensive player who won the touranment I believe a few times Surbek from Yugoslavia as far as I can remember, who was an unbeliveable defensive player, the man all a bring back smash from what seemed like 30 ft from the table.

Yeah those were the days man, that was a lot of fun!!

Wicked player that.

I got to see the great Jan Ove Waldner play once. Everybody else running around the place (European or Chinese) and the man just cool placing the ball.

I don't think JA table tennis has had any really good players since the era of Hyatt, Hilton and Bailey, ************on etc.

I look on the news now and is old man like Bailey, Moo Young and Dibbs winning the tournaments and some other old man who was mediocre players back in their young years.

Yes, Stonigut! I might have been there in the Arena with you. There was also a flashy French player who brought the house down with his skills. Wha him name again?

Jacques Secretin! That was his name.

Check this link to see what I am talking about. He raised the Arena's roof!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxNsG...eature=related

Yes, you never know how these things go. It is funny what you remember and what you don't, as i saw the article on douglas my mind jumped to Surbeck immediately, i was very impressed with his defensive returns, it definitely stuck in my mind, btw if you remember dat do you remember Buzz Bundy and the car wrecks, stunts and motorcycle stunts etc.

I cannot remember the Frenchman at all.

Yes, I remember Buzz.

How yuh nuh memba Secretin? (Pronounced Secretahn, of course.) Check youTube and see the library of unbelievable skills he had. If you think Surbek had defensive returns, you needed to see Secretin!

I also remember Insook Bushan. (You know how hard I tried to remember that name a few weeks ago, but ever since you mentioned Surbek, it's all coming back to me.) Insook played for the USA. She had no attacking skills whatsoever, but would "hush" the hell out of her opponents smashes until they made a mistake.

aaahh, the good old days.

Yes that name ring a bell now, but it kinda a funny how you remember Insook as I was trying to rack my brain to pull up more information before my last post and all I could remember was a chinese looking kind of woman that was it, but now you mention the name it really fits.

jean-pierre secretin?

Jacques, I believe.

Gamma, you merging his name with the French great who came after him. Jean-Phillipe Gatien. A left hander who was quick like lightning.

Weh me Rabalac bredrin dem deh? During my years at the great school, table tennis was so popular that a nuff fight used to bruk over games. We used to play on the teachers' desks and also across the corridors. The game eventually evolved to "money-TT". We used a 10 cent coin as the ball and our bare hands as the racket/paddle. We became so skilled at the game that boys used to "serve" the coin so that it would roll along the edge of the length of the table then swerve. Aaahhh bwoy, those were the days!!! The game was eventually banned, but that made the obsession even sweeter.

Mexxx how about those Crabbit Soccer days in Long Island?
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Fuss mi a hear dis.. !

LOL !!

Money football mi did unnastan... money table-tennis.. well dat is pure idleness..

Me too what year was that?!

early to mid 80's
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015