Flare up in China: Francis versus JAAA

• Flare up in China: Francis versus JAAA

I trust Bruce and Francis 100%. The JAAA should have cut the MVP some more slack and extend the deadline. Furthermore it is disrespectfull for the JAAA to restrict Francis from the village.

I am not a coach and I do know which is the better relay training tactics but my guess is that Francis know what he is doing.

Beijing 'bangarang' - Athletes return to relay practice after stand-off
    published: Wednesday | August 6, 2008

( L - R ) Francis, Watts
    Calm has returned to Jamaica's Olympic camp in Tianjin, China, with members of the MVP Track and Field Club turning out for relay practice Tuesday morning.
    On Monday night (Jamaica time) when [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]news[/COLOR][/COLOR] broke of a disagreement between MVP athletes and management, it seemed Jamaica's [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]medal[/COLOR][/COLOR] hopes at the Olympics in Beijing might have received a significant blow.
    According to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]radio[/COLOR][/COLOR] reports and sports website Sportingeagle.com, led by former world-record holder Asafa Powell, several members of the squad had refused to turn out for relay practice.
    Favoured to win
    Jamaica is favoured to win the men's and women's sprint relays but, according to reports out of Beijing, Powell, Michael Frater and Shelly-Ann Fraser were signatories to a letter stating that they had been instructed not to participate in relay practice unless that practice involved them standing, walking or jogging while making baton passes.
    Team manager Ludlow Watts reportedly made the announcement on Monday.
    "The athletes on the relay squads were invited to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]training[/COLOR][/COLOR] and all turned up, except for the MVP athletes," he said.
    Instructed not to attend
    Watts said he met the athletes and they had agreed to attend practice but, by midday Monday, they said they had been instructed by their coach, Stephen Francis, not to attend. This was requested in [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]writing[/COLOR][/COLOR], Watts said, and later that evening they were presented with a letter signed by the athletes suggesting that relay practice was not convenient for them.
    However, last night Watts told The Gleaner: "They (MVP athletes) turned up on Tuesday morning and participated at the required pace."
    The problem is believed to have stemmed from the fact that the MVP athletes claim they were forced to attend a mandatory camp set up by the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA). The club's manager, Bruce James, and head coach, Francis, had lashed out at the JAAA for its refusal to extend a set deadline of August 3 for members of the Jamaica team to assemble.
    This news comes on the heels of comments made this week by Don Anderson, head of the Jamaican delegation in Beijing, that Francis had returned his accreditation to the members of the Jamaican team's management. He had reportedly been handed his accreditation by the Jamaican ambassador on his arrival in China, but returned it afterwards.
    No access
    The accreditation, Anderson told the hosts of a sports-talk radio show, gave Francis access to his athletes at the training facility, but not to the athletes' village.
    Francis had earlier blasted Jamaican officials, claiming he was not allowed to oversee his athletes before the start of the track events which start a week after the opening ceremony this Friday. This is the second major blow-up between Jamaican officials and athletes at a major meet in the past decade. At the 2000 Games in Sydney, placard-bearing athletes protested the selection of veteran athlete Merlene Ottey to represent the country in the women's 100 metres at the expense of national champion Peta-Gaye Dowdie.

Originally posted by Time View Post
    I trust Bruce and Francis 100%. The JAAA should have cut the MVP some more slack and extend the deadline. Furthermore it is disrespectfull for the JAAA to restrict Francis from the village.

I am not a coach and I do know which is the better relay training tactics but my guess is that Francis know what he is doing.

( L - R ) Francis, Watts
    Calm has returned to Jamaica's Olympic camp in Tianjin, China, with members of the MVP Track and Field Club turning out for relay practice Tuesday morning.
    On Monday night (Jamaica time) when [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]news[/color][/color] broke of a disagreement between MVP athletes and management, it seemed Jamaica's [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]medal[/color][/color] hopes at the Olympics in Beijing might have received a significant blow.
    According to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]radio[/color][/color] reports and sports website Sportingeagle.com, led by former world-record holder Asafa Powell, several members of the squad had refused to turn out for relay practice.
    Favoured to win
    Jamaica is favoured to win the men's and women's sprint relays but, according to reports out of Beijing, Powell, Michael Frater and Shelly-Ann Fraser were signatories to a letter stating that they had been instructed not to participate in relay practice unless that practice involved them standing, walking or jogging while making baton passes.
    "The athletes on the relay squads were invited to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]training[/color][/color] and all turned up, except for the MVP athletes," he said.
    Instructed not to attend
    Watts said he met the athletes and they had agreed to attend practice but, by midday Monday, they said they had been instructed by their coach, Stephen Francis, not to attend. This was requested in [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]writing[/color][/color], Watts said, and later that evening they were presented with a letter signed by the athletes suggesting that relay practice was not convenient for them.
    However, last night Watts told The Gleaner: "They (MVP athletes) turned up on Tuesday morning and participated at the required pace."
    The problem is believed to have stemmed from the fact that the MVP athletes claim they were forced to attend a mandatory camp set up by the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA). The club's manager, Bruce James, and head coach, Francis, had lashed out at the JAAA for its refusal to extend a set deadline of August 3 for members of the Jamaica team to assemble.
    This news comes on the heels of comments made this week by Don Anderson, head of the Jamaican delegation in Beijing, that Francis had returned his accreditation to the members of the Jamaican team's management. He had reportedly been handed his accreditation by the Jamaican ambassador on his arrival in China, but returned it afterwards.
    No access
    The accreditation, Anderson told the hosts of a sports-talk radio show, gave Francis access to his athletes at the training facility, but not to the athletes' village.
    Francis had earlier blasted Jamaican officials, claiming he was not allowed to oversee his athletes before the start of the track events which start a week after the opening ceremony this Friday. This is the second major blow-up between Jamaican officials and athletes at a major meet in the past decade. At the 2000 Games in Sydney, placard-bearing athletes protested the selection of veteran athlete Merlene Ottey to represent the country in the women's 100 metres at the expense of national champion Peta-Gaye Dowdie.
    You are entitled to your opinion but.. why would you trust ANYONE 100%?? Is he a god? or maybe a (false) prophet? Because he is a successful coach?

The guy has some validity to his argument about access to his athletes.. which access he apparently had.... but returned his accreditation because of some dissatisfaction.

The guy is a loose cannon ... very headstrong, immature, disrespectful and arrogant.. he needs to learn diplomacy and people skills.

Is him one ?

SORRY..

... to neglect you.. the description also fits you like a glove... happy now?

so long as you realize where most of the other fingers on yuh hand are pointing

ok boss.. fair enough.

Karl needs to give Franno a lecture on TEAM.

My support for Asafa is waning fast. I am almost hoping that Bolt and Gay kick his ass!

Why use Franno's fat to fry Safa? that's quite a good quotation if i say so myself

I'd like to see Afaster win the 100m and Bolt win the 200m and get silver in the 100m.

The question I'd like to ask is what is the purpose of the JAAA/JOA camp? I made a guess in one of my posts a few days ago, but even my guess doesn't make much sense to me.

You are entitled to your opinion but.. why would you trust ANYONE 100%?? Is he a god? or maybe a (false) prophet? Because he is a successful coach?

The guy has some validity to his argument about access to his athletes.. which access he apparently had.... but returned his accreditation because of some dissatisfaction.

The guy is a loose cannon ... very headstrong, immature, disrespectful and arrogant.. he needs to learn diplomacy and people skills.
                    When I said that a trust Bruce and Francis 100% it was in reference the aims and objectives of the camp that they had planned before the JAAA decided to hold as camp as well. I believe thatwhile the JAA and all Jamaicans have the best interest of the country, I would rather put my trust in the MVP camp than the JAAA Camp.

Francis is not perfect and he has his faults. I have always said that Francis take orders from no one and he speaks his mind, those are his trademarks, those are some of his faults. Bruce is totally different from Francis. He is a master at compromse and a pleasure to work with on projects. Trust me, Bruce would not be this upset unless he believes that the JAAA made a blunder.

Finally, anyone who knows Francis should have known that we would not accept a pass that would bar him from the village. The person who made that decision knew very well that it was a way to annoy Francis to quit.

When I said that a trust Bruce and Francis 100% it was in reference the aims and objectives of the camp that they had planned before the JAAA decided to hold as camp as well. I believe thatwhile the JAA and all Jamaicans have the best interest of the country, I would rather put my trust in the MVP camp than the JAAA Camp.

Francis is not perfect and he has his faults. I have always said that Francis take orders from no one and he speaks his mind, those are his trademarks, those are some of his faults. Bruce is totally different from Francis. He is a master at compromse and a pleasure to work with on projects. Trust me, Bruce would not be this upset unless he believes that the JAAA made a blunder.

Finally, anyone who knows Francis should have known that we would not accept a pass that would bar him from the village. The person who made that decision knew very well that it was a way to annoy Francis to quit.
                      OK.. since Francis is such a diva I have a solution:

Bruce James should run the JAAA and/or all our athletes should join MVP... no more problem.

Jamaica have done so poorly in the past in relays etc. so the camp is important.

You also want to make sure all your runners are in the best frame of mind and physically fit to compete.

Imagine if it was John Doe or one a dem "bunch a high school coach" did a gwaan the way how Franno a gwaan, them ahtlete woulda gone back home long time.

( L - R ) Francis, Watts
                          On Monday night (Jamaica time) when [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]news[/color][/color] broke of a disagreement between MVP athletes and management, it seemed Jamaica's [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]medal[/color][/color] hopes at the Olympics in Beijing might have received a significant blow.
                          According to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]radio[/color][/color] reports and sports website Sportingeagle.com, led by former world-record holder Asafa Powell, several members of the squad had refused to turn out for relay practice.
                          Favoured to win
                          "The athletes on the relay squads were invited to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]training[/color][/color] and all turned up, except for the MVP athletes," he said.
                          Instructed not to attend
                          Watts said he met the athletes and they had agreed to attend practice but, by midday Monday, they said they had been instructed by their coach, Stephen Francis, not to attend. This was requested in [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]writing[/color][/color], Watts said, and later that evening they were presented with a letter signed by the athletes suggesting that relay practice was not convenient for them.
                          No access
                          Instructed by Francis!
                          There goes the nonsense that Francis was being denied contact with and or was unable to provide instructions his athletes!

Acting like a kid! The throwing of tantrums is poor behaviour!

Looks like everything nice now

Instructed by Francis!
                              There goes the nonsense that Francis was being denied contact with and or was unable to provide instructions his athletes!

The war is over, Lets hope everyone keep the peace. It is now time to win some races and fly the flag high.