Hot off the press..Bolt on the double!

• Hot off the press..Bolt on the double!

Bolt plots Beijing sprint double

Bolt will bid to emulate Carl Lewis' 1984 sprint double in Los Angeles

Jamaican 100m world record holder Usain Bolt will run in both the 100m and 200m at the Beijing Olympics.
    It sets up an intriguing showdown with Bolt's compatriot and former 100m world record holder Asafa Powell, along with American world champion Tyson Gay.
    Bolt, 21, took the 100m record from Powell when he ran a stunning 9.72 seconds in New York on 31 May.
    But Powell, 25, returned from injury to defeat Bolt last month in Stockholm in their final meeting before the Games.
    Bolt had always said he wanted to run both sprint races at the Olympics but his coach Glen Mills had been hesitant to allow the world 200m silver medallist to double up with the short sprint in the Chinese capital.
    606: DEBATE

If the race was 80 or 90m I'd bet on Powell every time, but in 100m I'd bet on Bolt to hunt him down

Elpenor (U3101245)

But Mills has now confirmed: "He will run both."
    Bolt underlined his Olympic 200m credentials with a stunning victory in at last month's London Grand Prix at Crystal Palace. Powell clocked 9.94 seconds ahead of Trinidad's Marc Burns to win the 100m at the same meeting. Afterwards, Bolt said: "Looking to Beijing, I think I have a good chance in the 200m and 100m - I'd love to do both but it's up to my coach."

While it is bound to somehow affect Usain's performance in the 200-meter race, I am happy that Glen Mills agreed (under immense worldwide pressure, I suspect) to let his star athlete run in both the 100 and 200-meter races. This is a great development!

An ideal result, for me, would be Usain winning the gold in the 200-meter race, and Asafa winning the gold and Usain the silver in the 100-meter race! I would be celebrating straight until the next Olympic Games in 2012, believe me!!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
      While it is bound to somehow affect Usain's performance in the 200-meter race, I am happy that Glen Mills agreed (under immense worldwide pressure, I suspect) to let his star athlete run in both the 100 and 200-meter races. This is a great development!

An ideal result, for me, would be Usain winning the gold in the 200-meter race, and Asafa winning the gold and Usain the silver in the 100-meter race! I would be celebrating straight until the next Olympic Games in 2012, believe me!!
      agreed to all!

Hopefully the coaches have put a lot of effort in preparing them mentally for the Olympics. No more disappointments!

As mi say, Mills wanted his 15 minutes of fame.

World wide pressure, yuh mean sponsorship pressure ? We talk as amatuers when we speak about T&F and Jamaica , we have yet to reach the american level in terms of marketing and sponsorship no doubt its going to tear the JAAA/JOA apart , they havent a clue of what is yet to come or is on them already.

MILLS SHOULD NOT BE TRAINING ASAFA ! its a conflict of interest.I dont care if it is relays , situps or pushups.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Historian a retort below In terms of pressure.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.