Let's put Jamaica first

Saturday, August 02, 2008

That Jamaica is well placed to enjoy its best medal haul ever at an Olympic Games is not in question.

Indeed, some analysts insist that the country has a great chance of securing five gold medals in Beijing, which would by far eclipse the two-Gold achievements of Helsinki in 1952 and Athens in 2004.

The optimism is based on the outstanding achievements of our sprinters over the past two to three years. Jamaica boasts the current world record holder over 100 metres, Mr Usain Bolt, and the immediate past world record holder over the same distance, Mr Asafa Powell. His 100-metre expectations apart, Mr Bolt is favoured to win gold in his pet event, the 200 metres. The presence of Messrs Powell and Bolt means that barring hiccups, slips and a dropped baton, Jamaica will be considered alongside the United States as the favoured team for Gold in the men's sprint relay.

Complete Story ...

How can you have your adversary coaching you before you both go to battle? Does Gay have any of his rivals coach coaching him before a majour meet , I dont think DIX coach or Spearmon or Carters coach would be given that oppourtunity ?

The JAAA/JOA lacks professionalism.
    Last edited by Karl; August 2, 2008, 10:59 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Glen Mills should not be allowed to coach Asafa .Its a clear conflict of professional interest.I challenge anyone to show me otherwise.

By the powers that be , if they did they wouldn’t be this turmoil.

How can you have your adversary prepare you to win against his steed, his team , his player, his athlete?

ITS NOT PROFESSIONAL.

Do we believe that Gay would have , Spearmon , Dix , or Crawford’s coach prepare him before the 100 or 200m or vice versa?

Throw in all the other crap in it , excluding the man from the village etc ?

You believe any other major track and field power is doing this crap?

Our problem is the JAAA/JOA are being forced to act professionally at a crucial time and they don’t have a clue , because it takes commonsense. Throw in the multi million dollar sponsorship that back , Asafa, Bolt and the ladies too VC/SAF etc and lining up to back the others they are lost.

Has this ever been done in the history of any sports are we that archaic , Show me where a rival allows his competitor to train/coach him before a major meeting with multi million dollar sponsorship involved.

Its a clear conflict of interest

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Glen Mills should not be allowed to coach Asafa .Its a clear conflict of professional interest.I challenge anyone to show me otherwise.

By the powers that be , if they did they wouldn’t be this turmoil.

How can you have your adversary prepare you to win against his steed, his team , his player, his athlete?

ITS NOT PROFESSIONAL.

Do we believe that Gay would have , Spearmon , Dix , or Crawford’s coach prepare him before the 100 or 200m or vice versa?

Throw in all the other crap in it , excluding the man from the village etc ?

You believe any other major track and field power is doing this crap?

Our problem is the JAAA/JOA are being forced to act professionally at a crucial time and they don’t have a clue , because it takes commonsense. Throw in the multi million dollar sponsorship that back , Asafa, Bolt and the ladies too VC/SAF etc and lining up to back the others they are lost.

Has this ever been done in the history of any sports are we that archaic , Show me where a rival allows his competitor to train/coach him before a major meeting with multi million dollar sponsorship involved.

Its a clear conflict of interest
        Prepare before the Olympics?
        Well who is preparing Asafa and the MVP athletes even as we speak?

Who was preparing Asafa and the MVP athletes all these years before these Olympics?

Do you think the athletes are now in tip-top condition...or do you expect them to be working on reaching that tip-top condition?

Mental preparation?
        At this stage if these professional athletes are not mentally prepared to "do their thing" they will never be for these Olympic races.

btw - You may have noticed that all the fuss has been created by Franno...who incidentally is the coach of some of our rivals. Did I hear you say,
        Show me where a rival allows a competitor to train/coach him before a major meet with multi million dollar sponsorship involved?
        Can I say...I am asking you...Talk sense man?!

Asafa, Bolt and Veronica and the rest of OUR athletes shall 'do their thing' and make us all proud! They all will make good money after these games...some making more than others!

Franno has just engaged in some serious self promotion... Is it of the good type? Regardless if it is or not, he has put himself and his athletes smack at the forefront of the consciousness of those who would be providing those endorsements and sponsorships and as he has vested interest in those MVP athletes he shall make what some would call "a bag"...as indeed he deserves!

Is it a conflict of interest ?

X, don't think that this is going to be a habit, but I agree with you 100%.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sorry i dont get you ..habit ?

X, don't think that this is going to be a habit, but I agree with you 100%.
                Let's take it one step further - 3 top 100M sprinters in each 100M event i.e 6 runners? Each with own "specialist coach"! - 6 sprint coaches?

3 more runners top 200M runners for each event...each with own coach? - Another 6 coaches?

...and so on?
                Sure it is possible some of the coaches will have more than one charge...but...???

mmmmm?
                We now become a world power to rival the US and Russia - our team is now 100 T&F athletes? How many coaches? How many top athletes should have thieir personal coach?

Sort-a luk lacka damn foolish 'way to go'! .
                ...but then maybe its only me ...that silly precedent being proposed and future fall-out makes sense to some! To me it just does not add up as sensible...
                ...but then...???

is it a conflict of interest ?

Football wise Arsenal vs Man U last day of the EPL , they both have to play each other , on this day the EPL decides that Fergie coaches Arsenal and Wegner is barred because of personal attacks at the EPL adm.

Is thier a conlict of interest ?

Cut the crap.Sub any sport , individual or team wise , its the same answer, Our system is archaic throw in multi million dollar sponsorship and its a cannon waiting to explode.

I forgive you Karl , I understand where you are coming from , I cannot forgive the JOA.JAAA though .

You are in the mindset of pre sponsorship , pre professionalism , you didnt realise that multi million dollar sponsorship is involved , you are still in the old boy network , fren fren win ball game mentally .

The americans have been doing what we now find ourselves arguing about for years , PROFESSIONALISM.

Its an amatuer organization , it boldy proclaims so ..JAAA

Nope, the program needs to work with teh coaches.

What if Mills was shut out from Bolt?

Madness!

The athletes must get access to their coaches. Last year, Paul Francis the other MVP coach was denied accreditation in Osaka. Frater and Sgherone paid their way there but were not allowed in the training area to train with their teammates and offer encouragement.

DQ is feuding with Franno. MVP had their plans set from Feb, and then DQ decided to makes conflicting plans. We are at war with each other.

What good can come of that?
                      You have it backwards.

Jamaica is always first.. not coaches no matter how good they are. The federation represents Jamaica.. and coaches must be willing to work with that body first and of course the federation must reciprocate.

Why is it that this prima donna is the only coach to diss the program? He disrespected the entire Olympic coaching staff!!
                      The guy even pulled his athletes out of the Jamaica Invitational to try to flop the event.
                      The federation has it faults but this guy needs to curb himself or be curbed... he is not bigger than Jamaica.

If the federation is no good... kick out the leadership.. but this is the world stage... we should have no tolerance for prima donnas... I don't.

Besides working on our baton changes, certain maintenance works, and building a team vibes, what else will the "national" coach be doing with these athletes? The elite athletes who have their own personal coaches should be given access to them. Someway somehow the authorities need to work out these issues for the benefit of the country.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The elite athletes who have their own personal coaches should be given access to them. Someway somehow the authorities need to work out these issues for the benefit of the country.
                          Cho Jangle, man...why the red herring? Why suggest the athletes annot or are being stopped from working with their coaches?

We all know the JAAAs are not preventing the athetes from "having access" to their coaches. It is not being done...and in today's world it could not be done!

btw - Have any of Franno's charges competed at a high level without him sitting there holding their hands?

Let me answer for you - a big fat YES!

You have it backwards.

Jamaica is always first.. not coaches no matter how good they are. The federation represents Jamaica.. and coaches must be willing to work with that body first and of course the federation must reciprocate.

Why is it that this prima donna is the only coach to diss the program? He disrespected the entire Olympic coaching staff!!
                            The guy even pulled his athletes out of the Jamaica Invitational to try to flop the event.
                            The federation has it faults but this guy needs to curb himself or be curbed... he is not bigger than Jamaica.

If the federation is no good... kick out the leadership.. but this is the world stage... we should have no tolerance for prima donnas... I don't.
                            YOU have it backwards. The Fed is there to administer and facilitate the coaches and athletes. Athletics is now a PROFESSIONAL endeavour and we still in the mateur mold.

Mills cant be coaching his rivals at the last minute. As X says, clear conflict of interest. Apart form Mills and a lesser extent Willo, the coaching staff is DEFICIENT at the professional senior level! FACT!

To put Jam first is to ensure max performance and holding a forced camp so soon in smog-filled Beijing is the definition of DUMB!

As to the Kgn Invit, I would have boycotted too. They pay the yankee athletes and expect the Jakan athletes to run for free. WTF??? Emancipate yourself from MENTAL SLAVERY... (not you actually, but the Kgn Invit organizers).

He certainly is!
                              ...just think on it and it is easy to see that the entire group of athletes could be "put off their game"!
                              On this - The man is crazy!
                              He cares not one fig for his own athletes (He knows his antics are a distraction to them!)...and not one fig for the rest of the athletes (He knows his actions are a distraction!) ...and not one fig for Jamaica (he knows his actions shall cost us!)

If he continues like this he should be just cut loose for the greater good of all!

Man is man, is man...is man! ...even the great he has done, can and shall be surpassed by other Jamaicans!

So it is for all of us!
                              Time!

This is not football. There is no team drills and strategies to work on, except for baton practice.

Track is not a team sport away from relays. Is like we love to fool ourselves.

All the big countries do that EACH and EVERY OLYMPICS! Some of their excellent athletes are ALWAYS at these GAMES...termed OLYMPIC GAMES...separated from their coaches!

No they dont!
                                Execpt for relay practice its not normal. None threatenes to boot athletes if they arrive late.

The dysfunctional Kenyan Fed is mandating it. No wonder their people are defecting in droves.

If this grandstanding occured in the US, the 8th circuit court would be in session now delivering an injunction.

Mark my words, if any craziness happen, lawsuits will be filed in Jamaica as well!!! DQ did in 1988, any one recall that?