• J'can athlete tests positive

J'can athlete tests positive
    Fennell disappointed, says runner not among big names
    By Kayon Raynor Senior Observer reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, July 28, 2008

Twelve days before the start of the 29th Olympiad in Beijing, China, the Jamaica Olympic Association (JOA) has confirmed that a member of its team tested positive for a banned substance at the June 27-29 National Track and Field Championships.

"All I can tell you is yes, there was a positive one," JOA president Mike Fennell admitted to the Observer yesterday.

Fennell declined to name the athlete as he was yet to receive written confirmation he requested from the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), after a verbal confirmation. He said, however, that the athlete was not one of the country's big names.

Fennell said that confirmation from the Monaco-based IAAF, athletics' world governing body, was expected today, given the time difference between both jurisdictions.

According to the IAAF rule, once an athlete's 'A' sample is returned positive the national association is advised and the athlete has two weeks from that time to apply for his/her 'B' sample to be tested.

If that 'B' sample is returned positive, the athlete usually gets a two-year ban.

Yesterday, Fennell expressed disappointment that someone representing Jamaica went the route of cheating.

"I am extremely disappointed and not just (because of) our image, but given our objective and philosophy," (of competing clean) he said.

In recent months, fingers have been pointed at Jamaica, intimating that enough has not been done here to combat doping.

A July 8 BBC article quoted Dr Adrian Lorde, head of the Caribbean Regional Anti-Doping Organisation (RADO), voicing concerns about the number of testing done in Jamaica, which is not a member of RADO.

"I would like to think they do that testing there, but I really don't know. I don't know what level of certification their doping control officers have. We really don't know what is going on in Jamaica," Dr Lorde said.

"I am concerned they don't have the programme in place they should have based on the amount of success they have," he added. There has been talk about a national anti-doping organisation in Jamaica for many years, but it is not functioning yet, as far as we can tell. I don't have any worries there are athletes in Jamaica who are cheating, but you only know if it's tested."

However, Fennell, who recently indicated that 96 tests (six out of competition) have been carried out on Jamaican athletes locally since the start of the year, said the fact that a positive test has been returned indicates that our system is working.

Last month's positive test is the second such case to have been caught by Jamaican authorities in the last four years. Sprinter Steve Mullings, who won the 200 metres at the 2004 Olympic trials, was banned for two years after testing positive for testosterone.

Other Jamaicans to have tested positive for using banned substances include sprinters Merlene Ottey (Nandrolone), Dwayne Jarrett and shot putter Dorian Scott (Marijuana), and long/triple jumper Suzette Lee (Salbutamol - used for the treatment of asthma, chronic bronchitis and other breathing disorders).

Ottey escaped being banned as her 'B' sample returned negative; while Scott and Lee received public warnings.

I hope its not one of the big guns. We don't need that kind of publicity right now. I can hear the American commentators on NBC already.

a hope a one whe train overseas too.

An athlete who tests positive for a banned substance should receive a lifetime ban, and be permanently barred from competing in the Olympics. The Brits ban dopers from competing in the Olympics, but they are free to compete in the european championship after serving their sentence.

The two year ban penalty is a joke.

Fennell declined to name the athlete as he was yet to receive written confirmation he requested from the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), after a verbal confirmation. He said, however, that the athlete was not one of the country's big names.

Is di gun culture ting mek yuh nuh unnastan ?

I hope so too. No Jamaican who trains locally has ever tested positive, lets keep that up.

A two year ban to a professional athlete is a lot. Can you imagine if you were fired from your job and couldn't work for two years? Stop a minute and think before replying. It also depends on the drug, as some of those that are banned are found in over-the-counter medications. I know that I could not live their lives - constantly being on the lookout for everything that goes into my mouth. I couldn't go to a friend's house for a big eating for fear of someone trying to sabotage my career. Dorian Scott was found with ganja in his system. The man could have gone to watch a match inhaled some second-hand smoke from a chillum.....hey, I'm just saying.....
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Oops I missed that. Thanks.

when a person a tek steroids fi come 3rd and 4th......mi almost tempted fi seh 'low him (or her)..... outta pure sympathy...

yes two year ban is a lot plus remember a lot of meets will not want him to compete.

After finishing his time I can't see why the British is punishing Chambers if he is clean. In any other sports he would be back playing and that includes football.

No sah! If someone deliberately brakes the rules and takes EPO, HGH and steroids, they forfeit their right to compete. We are not taking about "so-called" mistakes like over the counter medication, but a deliberate attempt to beat the system.

Two years is a joke!

lifetime ban!

Well now I agree with you, because I believe you have to be taking those drugs over a period of time in order to see the effects.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

What about Marijuana ?

If marijuana is classified as a performance-enhancing drug, then yes, dat tuh!

World-record holder in the high jump, Javier Sotomayor, tested positive for cocaine once. I asked myself, how is this going to enhance his performance, but then I remembered. He is a high jumper!