H.L , H.L , H.L where are thee ?

• H.L , H.L , H.L where are thee ?

I see you dont have stomach for Jamaicas dominace in the T&F events , I havent see you made a post in the T&F sphere ! Is it that they are all home grown produced WC talent , WC beaters , WC champions ? Does it surprise you ? can I ask why ? Will you be watching the olympics ? specifically the mens & womens 100, 200 , 4 &100 ?

Correct me if I am wrong .WC = world class ,

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I see you dont have stomach for Jamaicas dominace in the T&F events , I havent see you made a post in the T&F sphere ! Is it that they are all home grown produced WC talent , WC beaters , WC champions ? Does it surprise you ? can I ask why ? Will you be watching the olympics ? specifically the mens & womens 100, 200 , 4 &100 ?

Correct me if I am wrong .WC = world class ,
    X, I strongly suspect that the answer is that HL has no interest whatsoever in track and field. Many people don't share the interest that you and I have in track and field. In fact, I know several patriotic and ultra-nationalistic Jamaicans who have only a mere passing interest in track and field.

Maybe you're just teasing HL (I suspect you are), but nevertheless I definitely would not pass any type of judgement on HL based solely on the absence of any post from him here.

Personally speaking, I post here on this section of the forum because track and field has always been my passion. I love track and field more than any other sport on the planet! On the other hand, while I follow soccer, you guys have a far superior knowledge in soccer (football) than I have, which is why I simply read the comments in the football section but decline to post comments.

I share , just as much passion for both sports, soccer &T&F and i have none for cricket but I am always interested to hear how far the W.I. have fallen and my ears are always open to hear of a win or just some cricket politics.

Not having a passion for a sport doesnt excuse one from having an opinion !My question was to query his assesment of our T&F system to produce , challenge at this moment in time and dominate the Americans & the rest of the world in specific track events , i.e the 100m , 200 & 4x100 in both men and women.

To me not having an opinion is inexcusable when the world is sitting at the edge of its chair to see likkle Jamaica explode out of the blocks at this years Olympics on par with the WC I might add.

Keep in mind this is a man whom has unabashedly stated nothing WC(world class) comes out of Jamaica, again I ask H.L where are thee?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

X, thanks for the opportunity for allowing me to post on this section of the forum. (i have never posted here before).

X, I hope you took the opportunity to look at the definition I posted on the term: KNOW.

I have an interest in most sports. Yes, I am aware of the WORLD CLASS record breaking times set by the Jamaicans. I am very much in the know.....! (Well, at least i TRY to be...)

I remember when Jamaica was known for sending boxers to the olympics. What has become of that?

Apart from T&F, what other events will Jamaica be involved?

I have also been watching the US Olympic qualifications for several of the events...

My interest in sports (and in this upcoming olympics) are in the following:

Boxing
        Track and Field
        aquatics
        Canoe/Kayaking
        Cycling
        Equestrian
        fencing
        Gymnastics
        Rowing
        Weightlifting
        Swimming
        Football
        basketball
        Womens vollyball.. (no interest in men vollyball) ..love Cuba!!!
        Triathlon
        ...to list a few.

I leave for Colorado on August 7th for a well deserved vacation with my "secretary". The games begin on the 8th. I was asked ... "does that mean you will be in front of the TV to watch all the games?"

"Not really I replied sheepishly............"

I share , just as much passion for both sports, soccer &T&F and i have none for cricket but I am always interested to hear how far the W.I. have fallen and my ears are always open to hear of a win or just some cricket politics.
          X, I understand exactly how you feel about cricket (LOL). For me, while I grew up playing cricket occasionally, I had reached the stage where if I never saw another crcket match in my life, I would have no regrets! I had reached the stage where I felt exactly like you do!

Simply put, test cricket had become so boring that many people, myself included, had gotten totally turned off!! In fact, an entire generation in Jamaica and most of the Caribbean (probably with Guyana being the sole exception) had gotten sick and tired of those lengthy, boring test matches!

Then came Sir Allen Stanford with his Stanford Twenty20 series, and suddenly cricket was exciting!! Under this new approach, cricket teams now have a mere 20 overs in which to make their statement!! If you saw the 2008 Stanford Twenty20 series, you would have to agree that cricket is now almost as exciting as basketball. Believe me, this is no exagerration! There was not a boring second, and there couldn't be, as a missed chance could mean the difference between a win and a loss! (Note that Jamaica beat Guyana in the semi-finals by a mere one run!!)

And for this all Caribbean cricket lovers and others have one man to thank: A visionary American billionaire (a Texan) who resides in Antigua, Allen Stanford!

Defenitely good what he is doing.

You havent answered the body of my post , does it surprise you that Jamaica has produced WC athlethes ?and if so why?

X, Jamaica has been producing world class athletes before you were born.

I am almost sure you have only heard of Donald Quarry(sp?) or even earlier Arthur Wint...?

And the present dominance of our athlethes any thoughts ?

Glad to hear you Big Up Jamaica , this is history (-

HL, as a boxing fan what do you think about mixed-martial arts/ultimate fighting? It seems to have become a lot more mainstream recently and actually is a "real" sport unlike wrestling.

I haven't watched it much yet but I have lost so much interest in boxing recently that I think I will make an effort to see what its really about.

What ever happened to the great boxing rivalries of the past? They seem so few and far between these days.

May the wind be in their backs!!

Lawd knows Jamaica needs much MORE positive WORLD CLASS news now-- more than ever.

Last word:

The folks that keep jamaica afloat--are the folks who work more and does less talkin'...

Be wary of the loud mouths who have to broadcast and defend their patriotism...'specially those who question the position of others.

chussss mi

Excellent observation Islandman!!!

I used to post about boxing from time to time.

T.K., X and Karl used to respond.

T.K. made the same observations and comment as you did. That mixed martial arts/ultimate fighting is carrying the swing....

Last saturday night i watched some ultimate fighting. I kinda enjoyed it...but it's nothing close to the sweet science.

This weekend on Boxing after dark on HBO the replay of the Miguel Coto fight from last week. (Don't post the result)...plus Zab Judah will be fighting his homeboy from Brooklyn LIVE!!!

all now HL nuh big up di athlete dem. and den a talk bout how people a question him patriotism.

Boxing is a barbaric sport that is dying faster than test cricket. Oh, how I long for the days when we will look back on that "sport" as we do the gladiators of Rome.

I am a boxing fan too. But in recent times I have not been following the sport as I used to. Zab Judah is a major disappointment based on his skill level. Now I wouldn't mind seeing him lose because of his past behaviour.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015