• Gay? Duck?...or plauying it safe?

Cautious Gay pulls out of London Grand Prix meet
    AP
    Thursday, July 24, 2008

LONDON (AP) - Sprinter Tyson Gay withdrew from the London Grand Prix yesterday, insisting the hamstring he injured at the US Olympic trials won't rule him out of next month's Beijing Games.

Gay was due to race against Jamaica's former world record-holder Asafa Powell in the 100 metres tomorrow, but said he wasn't taking any risks on the left leg.

"I was really looking forward to getting back on the track again, and training has been going well," said Gay, who was undergoing treatment in Germany.

"I held out hope to run in London, but progress has been steady and with the first round of the Olympic 100 metres just three weeks away, I don't want to risk doing anything to set things back."

Doctors yesterday assessed Monday's MRI, which showed a mild strain in the semi tendinosus muscle, and said it was healing well.

"The decision does not affect Gay's plans for Beijing, by which time he is expected to be fully recovered," Gay's agent Mark Wetmore said.

Gay had already qualified for the 100 when he sprained a muscle in the back of his left leg in the 200 at the trials, a tumble that forced him to be carted off the track and ended his chances of winning two individual gold medals in Beijing.

He will also race in the Olympic 400-metre relay.
    Last edited by Karl; July 25, 2008, 08:24 PM.

Or maybe working on securing some Jamaican stem cells?

Him better mek sure nuh mix dem up. Him might find himself a fight wid di starter fi him gun!

Heh heh, too funny!

Hey Doc, since I started taking this gene I feel like all informer fe DEAD!

I will prononce it. It nuh matter if him drug up, at this point I can't see him beating either Bolt or Powell

wha kinda by line dat?

Gay is playing possum, but him still going get beaten down like a dirty rug.

good one mosiah... anyhow, i think gay is playing it safe and rightfully so... the olympics is but 4 week away, why risk an injury before the games...

running against asafa or bolt at this point will be taxing... if a jamaican was in gay's place, we would not even consider that he would be ducking... we all would say he is being smart...

good move by tyson gay...

True. And like how him nuh fully recover from the injury, it woulden mek any sense.

Btw, Olys is 2 weeks away, not 4, and T&F starts in 3!