This is a glorious day indeed for jamaican sprinting we have never had three guys under 10.00 seconds flat at any time, phenomenal, congratulations Mr Carter!!!
Nesta carter 9.98 very impressive!
Not only is a gold medal in the relay a real possibility, bu
the world record in the 4x100 would be icing on the cake!
Bwoy that would be something extra-special if it were to happen."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Probably won't. We only practice baton changes the day of the relays, it seems. Meanwhile, countries like Poland, Japan and Brasil have been running teams in these meets, not to mention the USA. No wonder Poland, Japan and Brasil always have very good teams even as they struggle to get one athlete into the flat final.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostProbably won't. We only practice baton changes the day of the relays, it seems. Meanwhile, countries like Poland, Japan and Brasil have been running teams in these meets, not to mention the USA. No wonder Poland, Japan and Brasil always have very good teams even as they struggle to get one athlete into the flat final.
In fact, I'm going to stretch my neck out now and predict that poor baton passing is going to snatch the men's 4x100-meter relay gold from us in Beijing! The JAAA and the other shortsighted people already know what every school child alrady knows, and this is that footspeed alone cannot do it!! (Just look back at the most recent USA performance -- the 2004 Olympic in Athens. Britain, and not the USA won that 4x100-m gold medal. The secret was flawless baton passing!)
But yet we continue in the old tested and failed ways!! Sigh....
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostProbably won't. We only practice baton changes the day of the relays, it seems. Meanwhile, countries like Poland, Japan and Brasil have been running teams in these meets, not to mention the USA. No wonder Poland, Japan and Brasil always have very good teams even as they struggle to get one athlete into the flat final."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."