Conte complains to WADA over Jamaica

• Conte complains to WADA over Jamaica

Report: Balco founder voices concern to WADA over Jamaica sprint Posted on : 2008-07-19 | Author : DPA
    News Category : Sports

Hamburg - Balco founder Victor Conte approached the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) last December to express his concern over athletics success of Jamaica and other Caribbean countries, the Los Angeles Times reported on Saturday. The report on the paper's website said that Conte urged WADA "to investigate drug testing and supervision of athletes in Caribbean nations that lack an independent, state-run anti-doping body."The LA Times quoted Conte as saying this week: "To see the fastest people in the world coming from one island (Jamaica), I'm highly suspicious. I believe there's rampant use of performance-enhancing drugs in the Caribbean.""Conte said he met in December with then-WADA director Dick Pound and detailed allegations of illicit behavior. He declined to elaborate," the paper said. Pound left the job two weeks later and the LA Times said that WADA general director David Howman declined to say how Conte's information was used. Pound was quoted as saying on Friday that Conte's information "was good, and that we should follow up."Usain Bolt recently bettered the 100m world record to 9.72 seconds and is also the fastest active 200m runner. Fellow-Jamaican Asafa Powell was the former 100m record holder with 9.74 seconds. The sprinters have never failed a doping test and are tested regularly at the big races they compete in - including the upcoming Beijing Olympics. Jamaican legend Merlene Ottey, who now competes for Slovenia, tested positive for nandrolone in 1999 but was later cleared to run again. International Olympic Committee president Jacques Rogge told Deutsche Presse-Agentur

heheheheheheh........so be it.

Mr. Morrison need to show him the research recently conducted in Ja.

Some of the young youths running cannot even afford a decent pair of track shoes... how much does a course of steroids cost? which Dr. going to prescribe it? (I think Dr. Astaphan (Ben Johnson's dr.)from St. Kitts passed on) and administer it?

They should investigate and let the chips fall where they may. If we clean nothing to fear.

Yuhseeit! HL must laffing himself stupid! Stupider! This little pip-squeak country now has the technology (and cash!) to finance a high-tech drugs regimen, complete with masking solutions for our athletes.

Impossible!!

Did Conte think for a minute that when the cheat is cut down in his tracks (pun intended) then the runner-up would take its place? It only makes sense!!!

So I guess poor Dayron Robles, the 110m record holder who is about to embarrass Liu Xiang in his backyard, must also be on something. Well, I guess you can never know with those Cubans. They might be poor but they have some good, cheating doctors over there!

And why stop there... they should also investigate the East Africans... are they on EPO? East European weightlifters, Australian and American swimmers, Japanese gymnasts, Pakistani fast bowlers (ah tink dem do dat areddi) etc etc

to think that america could learn something from "dis likkle island"

Conti would be the last person some one should listen to

Conte remind me a Graham....idiots....Now the chicken come home...To Roost..a weh im cum from, now that America not Winning Jamaica have Drug athletes...well I guess no more Olympics...Because we will never see any clean athlete....Conte go weh and go ask the Olympic committee to check Michael Johnson even now and exhume u female FloJo and check har..
                Conte a Try to be relevant...after prison...No speaking engagement fi u..
                "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Sour grapes from sour Americans

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                  Report: Balco founder voices concern to WADA over Jamaica sprint Posted on : 2008-07-19 | Author : DPA
                  News Category : Sports

Hamburg - Balco founder Victor Conte approached the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) last December to express his concern over athletics success of Jamaica and other Caribbean countries, the Los Angeles Times reported on Saturday. The report on the paper's website said that Conte urged WADA "to investigate drug testing and supervision of athletes in Caribbean nations that lack an independent, state-run anti-doping body."The LA Times quoted Conte as saying this week: "To see the fastest people in the world coming from one island (Jamaica), I'm highly suspicious. I believe there's rampant use of performance-enhancing drugs in the Caribbean.""Conte said he met in December with then-WADA director Dick Pound and detailed allegations of illicit behavior. He declined to elaborate," the paper said. Pound left the job two weeks later and the LA Times said that WADA general director David Howman declined to say how Conte's information was used. Pound was quoted as saying on Friday that Conte's information "was good, and that we should follow up."Usain Bolt recently bettered the 100m world record to 9.72 seconds and is also the fastest active 200m runner. Fellow-Jamaican Asafa Powell was the former 100m record holder with 9.74 seconds. The sprinters have never failed a doping test and are tested regularly at the big races they compete in - including the upcoming Beijing Olympics. Jamaican legend Merlene Ottey, who now competes for Slovenia, tested positive for nandrolone in 1999 but was later cleared to run again. International Olympic Committee president Jacques Rogge told Deutsche Presse-Agentur
                  These people hate to lose and hate to be put to shame by any country or people... much less the likes of Jamaica or Jamaicans.

We should be wary of attempts by US or other sources to sabotage our athletes... which will not be necessarily confined to psychological attacks like this... but can include actual tampering with drug tests.

ben johnson just APPEAR before mi face iyah!!!!

yu nuh!

On steroids...but not the one 'found' in his urine?