t&f meet for athletes from u9 - u15.....ja was IMPRESSIVE!!!! all di likkle 9 y.o. dem a show exceptional form, drive and determination.....is more than just west african genes.....plus dem FIERCELY proud of running in dem national colours....
just came back from a CUT
You guys didnt do track in prep school , sports day ? I remember when I ran a race , I was no more than 5 , I ran through that finish line , didnt stop , they had to run after me , I didnt know if I came 1st or last , all I can remember was people saying that "bway did a bubble dung the track"
Its the systems , the best in the world , what I see is we have finally figured out a transitional system where migration doesnt have to be an option and the youths from high school can develop at home .It will be interesting to see where Blake ,Mckenzie and Lee will be in 3 years .
I believe that Blake and Mckenzie are now injured lets see if our transitional system is ready for the challenge.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
First time I'm coming online since the weekend, and I am furious about the US allegations that we are drug cheats. Now that THEY have been found out to be cheats, and the powers have shifted to its rightfull place, they are trying to tarnish our acheivements. We have been running second and third to them and the East Germans for years and have gone about our ways quietly. Our sprint dominance is nothing new.
I was never particularly good at sports during my high school years. When I worked at one of the big banks in Jamaica a few years ago, there was the annual sports day which brought all the branches islandwide together. I remember rallying my branch and starting a training program. We trained every evening at the sports club. It was a joy and very motivating to see my co-workers (especially the older women) coming to training every evening. Needless to say, us guys formed a 4 x 100m relay team and practised our baton changes religiously. Come sports day, with me running the third leg, we took home the gold. That was my proudest moment in my sporting life. I also got bronze in the 1500m. That day I ran in the 200m, 800m and the 1500m (talk about youthfull days).
The point that I am making to any Americans that is reading this, is that sports play a very important part in every Jamaican's life and track and field is right below football as our favourite sports. There is some form of structured sporting league in Jamaica at every age. We start from 5 years old to however old you feel you can compete (Masters League). We also have it as part of the job...Business House League (whichever sports).
I found this forum out of boredom when I migrated to the US a few years ago. I missed playing some "ball" after work or "licking" some dominos. That is just part of our culture. So don't come with your bull**************** about performance enhancement drugs. This only "drugs" we really know about is the good sensimilla.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015