Something special from Usain?

• Something special from Usain?

personally don't agree with this effort to impress at this critical time... run to win, to work on technical execution and also conscious of conserving for the big dance ... not to impress and to further risk injury

Wednesday, 16 July 2008
    Bolt's London promise: 'Something special' - IAAF World Athletics Tour

Usain Bolt en route to his dazzling 9.76 in Kingston (Getty Images)

London, UK - World 100m record holder Usain Bolt has promised “something very special” when he competes over his preferred distance, the 200m, at next weekend’s Aviva London Grand Prix - IAAF World Athletics Tour.
    Bolt who won the 200m at the Crystal Palace event last year and recently broke the 100m World record with a time of 9.72* seconds, will again run the longer sprint at the showpiece meeting.
    Last month he completed a sprint double at Jamaica's national championships to secure his place at this summer's Olympics, beating rival Asafa Powell in the 100m on Saturday then winning the 200m a day later. In Athens last Sunday, Bolt stormed to a 19.67 national record to become the fifth fastest in history over the half lap.
    Bolt said: “Despite the fact I have been mainly running 100m this season, I still see the 200m as my best event. I know I am capable of something very special over the longer distance. I can’t wait to get out there and show just what I can do over 200m at the Aviva London Grand Prix."
    “Crystal Palace is known as a quick track, there will be a truly world class field and there is always good support for the Jamaican athletes when we run in London. I can’t wait.”
    Bolt will join Powell at the London meeting in what is likely to be their last outing before Beijing.
    Powell will run in the 100m against America's Tyson Gay, the 100m world champion, making it a mouth watering two days of competition with the three fastest men in history on show.
    Taking place over two days for the first time in 23 years, the Aviva London Grand Prix will host a spectacular send off for our British athletes on Friday 25th July (17:45-20:30) and Saturday 26th July (13:30-17:30) as they finalise their Olympic preparations. Among the British athletes confirmed are Kelly Sotherton, Phillips Idowu, Nicola Sanders and Christine Ohuruogu.
    Andrew Wallace for the IAAF
    *World record subject to usual ratification procedures

unnu fi stop fret. Them have fi let it all out at least once before the olympics.

Test the rest of runners and get ready fi all the rounds.

As you said..save it for the big dance.

pr

unnu fi stop fret. Them have fi let it all out at least once before the olympics.

Test the rest of runners and get ready fi all the rounds.
        I'm just happy that you're not training him.

Who says he is not ??

Is 2 'Big' man mi si inna injury situation.. none of dem name Bolt..

I agree, Bolt should not risk injury at this time

personally don't agree with this effort to impress at this critical time... run to win, to work on technical execution and also conscious of conserving for the big dance ... not to impress and to further risk injury

Wednesday, 16 July 2008
            Bolt's London promise: 'Something special' - IAAF World Athletics Tour

Usain Bolt en route to his dazzling 9.76 in Kingston (Getty Images)

London, UK - World 100m record holder Usain Bolt has promised “something very special” when he competes over his preferred distance, the 200m, at next weekend’s Aviva London Grand Prix - IAAF World Athletics Tour.
            Bolt who won the 200m at the Crystal Palace event last year and recently broke the 100m World record with a time of 9.72* seconds, will again run the longer sprint at the showpiece meeting.
            Last month he completed a sprint double at Jamaica's national championships to secure his place at this summer's Olympics, beating rival Asafa Powell in the 100m on Saturday then winning the 200m a day later. In Athens last Sunday, Bolt stormed to a 19.67 national record to become the fifth fastest in history over the half lap.
            Bolt said: “Despite the fact I have been mainly running 100m this season, I still see the 200m as my best event. I know I am capable of something very special over the longer distance. I can’t wait to get out there and show just what I can do over 200m at the Aviva London Grand Prix."
            “Crystal Palace is known as a quick track, there will be a truly world class field and there is always good support for the Jamaican athletes when we run in London. I can’t wait.”
            Bolt will join Powell at the London meeting in what is likely to be their last outing before Beijing.
            Powell will run in the 100m against America's Tyson Gay, the 100m world champion, making it a mouth watering two days of competition with the three fastest men in history on show.
            Taking place over two days for the first time in 23 years, the Aviva London Grand Prix will host a spectacular send off for our British athletes on Friday 25th July (17:45-20:30) and Saturday 26th July (13:30-17:30) as they finalise their Olympic preparations. Among the British athletes confirmed are Kelly Sotherton, Phillips Idowu, Nicola Sanders and Christine Ohuruogu.
            Andrew Wallace for the IAAF
            *World record subject to usual ratification procedures
            ... Him needs to win big at the olympics...

how is he risking wining big at the olympics.

Asafa Powell in my opinion didn't do well in the olympics because he didn'r run under a lot of pressure situation before.

How can you perfect your race if you fail to practise in competition against opponents.

Nuff man a talk like Bolt only have fi show up a olympics fi win the gold.

A good thing his coach know better.

Bolt needs to just run to win in London - no need for promising something special, no need to try and lower his 200m PB then and there.

Mi paying mi money to see him run at the OLY - anything special that he wants to do, Beijing is the place to do it. No need to do it b4.

Furthermore, the best of the crop won't be in London, they'll be in Beijing.

Keep it Smart Bolt!!

how is he risking wining big at the olympics.

he is at greater risk of injury the harder he pushes himself... which he has to do to promise something special

Asafa Powell in my opinion didn't do well in the olympics because he didn'r run under a lot of pressure situation before.

no one is saying he should not run the event and run to win... that should be self evident

How can you perfect your race if you fail to practise in competition against opponents.

since we all say he should run... that's practice isn't it... or am I missing something?

Nuff man a talk like Bolt only have fi show up a olympics fi win the gold.

Haven't detected that sentiment in this thread... only concern for his health with the biggest moment of his life imminent.
                  Perhaps you're thinking of other parties.

A good thing his coach know better.
                  I would bet Mills would counsel the youngster to temper his emotion, run to win and work on the mechanics of his race... and forget about anything special... that's unnecessary, unwise and reckless.

This is a time to be guided by professionalism and not youthful exuberance.

I agree with both of you there. He need to relax and don't let the press give him too much of a mike. Bolt however must not shut it down and just go home and practise because he don't want to get injured as many suggesting.

He however need to at least start good and run a good 150 metre before the olympics.

I agree with both of you there. He need to relax and don't let the press give him too much of a mike. Bolt however must not shut it down and just go home and practise because he don't want to get injured as many suggesting.

He however need to at least start good and run a good 150 metre before the olympics.
                      agreed. that's a relief!

That's normally what he does to practice mechanics.. great start - power through the turn - leave the field for dead at 150m-170m - then coast home... perfect prescription.

too many people buy inna the hype, thinking Bolt win already.

Because you have the record means nothing in the olympics. If you notice how young blake has been beating Lee all along but Lee win the juniors.

I have often said I think Powell haven't raced enough on the European cuircut before last year and that is part of the reason he is not that mentally tough.

Nerves and condition have a lot to do with wining so Bolt was to put himself in various conditions and perform to be able to take it home. You have some tough contenders out there who only want to see one slip and yu gone.

That saying I think he is really talented and will be fine. If he runs in london and say one more major meet he will be fine.

I showed this post to a friend of mine who is a coach and he agrees with you 100%.

He also said that he would advise Bolt to go for the 200m record in London and go down in history as holding both records at the same time.

Well me a novice and I don't agree with your coach.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                              I showed this post to a friend of mine who is a coach and he agrees with you 100%.

He also said that he would advise Bolt to go for the 200m record in London and go down in history as holding both records at the same time.
                              what does he coach? volleyball?

Your friend is off the wall.