Should qualifying for an Olympic event

• Should qualifying for an Olympic event

on your national team boil down to one trial?

Suppose Asafa or Bolt had tripped in either event they ran in?

Shouldn't a series or a minimum number of races leading up to trials also count in the decision?

I'm not a t&f guru, so please explain why qualifying is decided on one meet's result.

pr

We are more flexible. In the US, the results stand no matter what, or they live in the courts for the foreseeable future.

There was a time when we tried to enforce the "qualify or stay home" hard rule and it did not serve us well.

Now the rules have been relaxed, the first 2 places are guaranteed a spot once they have the required qualifying time and the third place is negotiable. This allows for unusual situations like a Bolt or Asafa getting disqualified, being sick, or something like that.

The problem with making it too loose is that in a case like this years womens 100m where the talent pool is so deep, it might be impossible to come to a consensus and we would spend months comparing times, wins, races, etc.

We should not even be considering doing anything for anybody following that 100m race for women. They have all had decent seasons, and no one should be denied just because VC is our darling.

I agree. Its not like VC had slipped in her blocks or anything like that. She ran one of her fastest times and came fourth.

I would posit that VC has had the best season of the 4.. nothing to do with being a darlin.

When it come down to it mi choose VC over flash in di pan everytime in dat lane.

That could start an argument as to why a Michael Frater should go over an Asafa, regardless of trials results.

????

If mi a pick my 3 fi Olympics.. VC pick fuss based on current form.

Average runner Frater won the world championship (Gatlin will be disqualified shortly) while world beater Asafa soft out all di big races. So, if is form wi dealing wid, wi know dat Asafa nuh have none when it matters. Not to mention di heap a injuries him always a get.

You would open up a big old can of worms with your method.

Yuh ah compare Asafa tuh an Olympic Gold Medal Champion ?

Is wha duh yuh ?

sigh

analogies give jamaicans much difficulty.

i was not comparing asafa to veronica. the comparison was in the argument put forw...why bother.

Di argument mi a put forward is when it come down tuh di big event.. mi pick VC FUSS.

Argument dun.

Would you pick Asafa first?

Or second, or third?

You are raising a hypothetical.. can you elaborate on the scenario ?