Basically, Afaster still on top?

• Basically, Afaster still on top?

Fastest "basic" performances... adjusted for wind/altitude... from Track & Field news:

This from stat maven Chas. Shaffer, who keeps an ongoing compilation (a deeper version of which which will be posted to front page later today), noting that the "9.77" can be viewed as =13 performance ever, worth 9.85 w/ no wind:

Adj. Actual
    9.79 9.78 0.0Asafa Powell Rieti 9-Sep-2007 1GP
    9.80 9.79 +0.1Maurice Greene Athens 16-Jun-1999 1rAGP II WR
    9.80 9.72 +1.7Usain Bolt New York City 31-May-2008 1rAGP WR
    9.81 9.80 +0.2-----Greene Seville 22-Aug-1999 1WCh
    9.82 9.84 -0.5Tyson Gay Indianapolis 22-Jun-2007 1USATF
    9.82 9.85 -0.5-----Gay Osaka 26-Aug-2007 1WCh
    9.82 9.84 -0.3-----Powell Brussels 14-Sep-2007 1VD
    9.82 9.83 -0.3-----Powell Stuttgart 22-Sep-2007 1WAF
    9.83 9.82 -0.2-----Greene Edmonton 5-Aug-2001 1WCh
    9.83 9.77 +1.0-----Powell Zurich 18-Aug-2006 1rAWK =WR
    9.83 9.86 -0.5-----Powell Berlin 3-Sep-2006 1ISTAF
    9.83 9.74 +1.7-----Powell Rieti 9-Sep-2007 1h2GP WR
    9.85 9.86 -0.4Ato Boldon Athens 17-Jun-1998 1
    9.85 9.84 +0.2Bruny Surin Seville 22-Aug-1999 2WCh
    9.85 9.86 -0.2-----Greene Berlin 1-Sep-2000 1ISTAF
    9.85 9.87 -0.3-----Greene Sydney 23-Sep-2000 1OG
    9.85 9.77 +1.6-----Powell Athens 14-Jun-2005 1SGP WR
    9.85 9.77 +1.5-----Powell Gateshead 11-Jun-2006 1BrGP =WR
    9.85 9.76 +1.8-----Bolt Kingston 3-May-2008 1
    9.85 9.77 +1.6-----Gay Eugene 28-Jun-2008 1q1OT AR

The amazing thing about that Rieti run by Powell is he just ran a 9.74 (9.83 adj.) world record an hour earlier!

People have short memories ... With all the Bolt and now Tyson Gay hype... many are discounting Powell... once healthy he has as good a chance as any in my book.

I am in his corner for the gold! And yuh know me and my predictions arready!

I saw a headline that said "Bolt Leaves Powel In The Dust". I mean looking at the two I was more impressed with Powell.

In what way Bricktop?

Powell ran 9.90 running easy, Bolt ran 9.84 while eating dinner and drinking a beer. Powell was impressive, but Bolt was awesome.

Powell is not as far into his preparation though, so he could very well produce something extra special leading up to the games. That would not surprise me.

Asafa had not tapered training yet.

He had the luxury of being able to qualify while fully training loaded.

His peak is being meticulously tailored.

TG had to peak twice. Once for trials and again for Beijing Asafa will hit peak in 3 weeks and hold it for a month or 2. Plus he wont have to endure the ordeals of US trils which will mean TG wont be able to train for at least a week. By time London comes up in 3 weeks, he will be behind a fresher Asafa.

100 ?

Look like seh unnuh nevah si di 200 wheh him Jog di last 80 meters and do sub-20.

There is an opinion that he could have broken the record that night.

What about Bolt though, you think he may have peaked early, will double peak, or (gasp) has he not even peaked yet?

In my opinion though, once all are healthy and fully prepared I think the difference between the big three is close enough that the winner will be whoever executes best on the day.

Its always about who executes relatively best. If my talent level is 200 and yours is 100 and I put out 51% effort and you give 100%, who wins??

That is the point. Faster people have a built in advantage. If they execute perfectly, nothing you can do!

Mills just said that Bolt was TOO sharp now, so too weeks ago he backed of his training to repeak in August!

I repeat again, Asafa just starting his tapering.

One other thing, go back to the race videos and look at how Frater and Asafa's 2nd 50m mechanics have changed! No more pitta-patta from Frater, he has opened up his stride. Same holds true for Asafa as well, to a lesser extent. I now see what the recent "private" training sessions have been about. Lots of technical work.

Lots under the surface if you dig a little. We have only seen PRELUDE, REHERSAL. What a bangarang London will be!

it depends on who wins on the day...

Lol

Master of the obvious!

I enjoyed that.